We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Value & Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Almas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Almas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Cracow
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Great Value & Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Huge, air conditioned rooms very clean and comfortable. Breakfast adequate and great to have the pool, which while not huge is extremely clean and most welcome in the heat of the city. Great location adjacent to a Juice and Sandwich bar, with the most wonderful fresh fruit juice and fruit salad in one for less than £2. Adjacent to this a great fish restaurant which we were told is the best in Marrakech and where we enjoyed lobster cooked to perfection for £10.00. This area is frequented by the locals so the prices were brilliant but doubled in the next street.

Receptionist's were all very friendly and helpful and their English was also very good.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    92
    105
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
99
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Stayed here for four nights with y little girl. I was a little sceptical before i left the uk as I didnt quite believe it would be as good as it looked. This place cost me £35 per night and I'm still in shock it's exactly how it looks in the pictures and is clean presentable friendly and I am really going to miss it. It's nice to come back to a clean hotel after spending the day in heat and dust at the souks and the inner city. Would totally come back here just for the hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A really good hotel. Clean modern rooms, lovely rooftop pool - not the biggest but fine for what you need from a city hotel. Friendly staff, especially the lifeguard who did a great job of playing with and entertaining our kids!
Breakfast perfectly adequate though imagine if you're staying more than a few nights it could get a little tedious.
Well located as just a 20 minute walk or so down the main street to the Medina and a short taxi ride back if you're too tired to do the return walk.
Would definitely return if I wanted another short trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

i booked 2 nights in this hotel, thinking it is affordable and clean, from the pictures anyway:(

i couldnt stay there after checking in because personnal formalities...

back home after , they charged me 2 nights without staying, or even informing me that i will be charged!!

its scandelous and unprofessional, stealing peoples money with such a snicky way , what a shame!

as a moroccan myself, please dont stay there>

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent hotel for my second stay in Marrakech. Wanted a hotel with a pool, didn't want to be right in the hustle and bustle when staying in a Riad in the old quarters and did not want to be far away from all the action.

Hotel Almas ticked all the boxes.

Clean room, big bed, comfy, great shower, even a decent movie channel for late night movies before going sleep.

If you are into sunbathing the roof is excellent, also where the swimming pool is located.

Staff are friendly and even gave us late check for no extra cost.

Breakfast was fine. Mixture of cold options, plus pancakes and boiled eggs.

Great restaurant next door which was always full of locals and food was so cheap yet tasty, especially pizza. Also a popular fish place across the road, so you will not go hungry.

Superb location if you want to be walking distance from all the action in sqaure or a cheap taxi ride. Gueliz is more of a modern area, with excellent restaurants so if you want to stay amongst the history this is not the area for you. The hotel matches the area. Also close to the train and coach station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in April 2013 and were pleased with our choice. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, nice bathroom, huge double bed. The staff were very helpful, one staff member even walked us down to another hotel to change our sterling into local currency as they can only change euros. Breakfast was good, as long as you are not expecting full english, this is Morocco after all, there was enough to choose from. Also real fresh orange juice, not the powdered variety often on offer in many hotels. It is about a 20 minute walk to the Medina and there are lots of shops and eating places close by and a very pleasant park just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Almas Hotel. I am very well traveled and would normally stay in a 4* hotel so I was very pleased with this 3* hotel. Could not fault it - room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. Breakfast continental which was acceptable. Swimming pool small but adequate and again very clean.

Where the hotel is situated is ideal for restaurants and shops. Next door are some really good and cheap restaurants. There is a fish restaurant we had a lobster for £5.

It is a 20 minute walk to the old town but taxi's are very cheap shouldn't cost more than 20 dirhams

Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Budget Places, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Almas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.