We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, convenient hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Hotel Almas to your Saves list
Hotel Almas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #204 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Hereford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great, convenient hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

A really good hotel. Clean modern rooms, lovely rooftop pool - not the biggest but fine for what you need from a city hotel. Friendly staff, especially the lifeguard who did a great job of playing with and entertaining our kids!
Breakfast perfectly adequate though imagine if you're staying more than a few nights it could get a little tedious.
Well located as just a 20 minute walk or so down the main street to the Medina and a short taxi ride back if you're too tired to do the return walk.
Would definitely return if I wanted another short trip to Marrakech.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    118
    24
    3
    3
See reviews for
43
104
18
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

i booked 2 nights in this hotel, thinking it is affordable and clean, from the pictures anyway:(

i couldnt stay there after checking in because personnal formalities...

back home after , they charged me 2 nights without staying, or even informing me that i will be charged!!

its scandelous and unprofessional, stealing peoples money with such a snicky way , what a shame!

as a moroccan myself, please dont stay there>

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Excellent hotel for my second stay in Marrakech. Wanted a hotel with a pool, didn't want to be right in the hustle and bustle when staying in a Riad in the old quarters and did not want to be far away from all the action.

Hotel Almas ticked all the boxes.

Clean room, big bed, comfy, great shower, even a decent movie channel for late night movies before going sleep.

If you are into sunbathing the roof is excellent, also where the swimming pool is located.

Staff are friendly and even gave us late check for no extra cost.

Breakfast was fine. Mixture of cold options, plus pancakes and boiled eggs.

Great restaurant next door which was always full of locals and food was so cheap yet tasty, especially pizza. Also a popular fish place across the road, so you will not go hungry.

Superb location if you want to be walking distance from all the action in sqaure or a cheap taxi ride. Gueliz is more of a modern area, with excellent restaurants so if you want to stay amongst the history this is not the area for you. The hotel matches the area. Also close to the train and coach station.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 3 nights in April 2013 and were pleased with our choice. The rooms were spacious and comfortable, nice bathroom, huge double bed. The staff were very helpful, one staff member even walked us down to another hotel to change our sterling into local currency as they can only change euros. Breakfast was good, as long as you are not expecting full english, this is Morocco after all, there was enough to choose from. Also real fresh orange juice, not the powdered variety often on offer in many hotels. It is about a 20 minute walk to the Medina and there are lots of shops and eating places close by and a very pleasant park just around the corner.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Have recently returned from a 4 night stay at the Almas Hotel. I am very well traveled and would normally stay in a 4* hotel so I was very pleased with this 3* hotel. Could not fault it - room and bathroom were very clean and spacious. Breakfast continental which was acceptable. Swimming pool small but adequate and again very clean.

Where the hotel is situated is ideal for restaurants and shops. Next door are some really good and cheap restaurants. There is a fish restaurant we had a lobster for £5.

It is a 20 minute walk to the old town but taxi's are very cheap shouldn't cost more than 20 dirhams

Would certainly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
racine,wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

The room was very clean, spacious and comfortable. Breakfast decent enough. Located in an area that is full of reasonable priced eateries for the local. Delicious, if you are brave enough to try them out. Take a note that There is a 2.4euro per person charge.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Having booked a double room for 3 nights, we were delighted to have been allocated a small suite, which was spacious, clean and well equipped. The hotel staff were friendly, helpful and spoke reasonable English, although it is very useful to have some knowledge of French if visiting Morocco. The hotel kindly looked after our luggage for 3 days whilst we were on a tour, we then subsequently stayed at the hotel for a further 2 nights, this time is a spacious double room. The room although not quite as well equipped as the suite (no hair dryer) was perfectly adequate. There was an extensive buffet breakfast laid out each morning, however the evening meals offered less choice. As mentioned in previous reviews Internet access was limited, we found we only had access in the evenings, but this did not pose a problem for us.
In summary we can't believe Hotel Almas is only 3*, it offers great value for money!

Room Tip: Room 204 a very nice double suite. Would avoid rooms on 1st floor as the restaurant terrace opens ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #204 of 460 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Number of rooms: 71
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Almas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.