We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almas

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Almas to your Saves list
Hotel Almas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #230 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Hotel Almas is clean and comfortable. Staff very friendly. Good breakfast and dinner. I had a very relaxing stay there. Perfect location, close to main attractions of Marrakech. Only one minus - very noisy at night time. But still - highly recomended.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    166
    34
    5
    8
See reviews for
61
141
32
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

4 of us just returned from 5 nights at this fab hotel. Staff extremely helpful, friendly and obliging. The hotel clean, room clean, breakfast plentiful. Breakfast consisted of same things each morning, pastries, rolls, cheese, salami, olives, jam, honey, cereal, yoghurt, porridge, boiled eggs, Moroccan pancake, dates, prunes, orange segments, tea, coffee, orange juice. Staff were very quick to refill anything that was finishing. Sockets are 2 pin so you need to bring adaptors. Wifi in rooms, but found it a bit intermittent, sometimes taking 15 mins to get internet back. Shampoo, bath gel and soap in bathroom but you might want to bring your own, No hairdyer in room but Reception can loan you one but they only have the one. We brought our own iron so not sure if they provide one. Loads of local Restaurants around with KFC and McDonalds, pizza hut within walking distance. Train Station close too and about 20 mins walk to Jemaa El Fna square. We went by taxi to Ourika (mountains), a very beautiful peaceful place. A meal by the flowing river is a must and go further into the mountains to the waterfalls if you can but you need to take your trainers with you! Try to see a traditional Berber house, how Argan oil is made while you're there. You need to haggle for eveything, icluding taxis, so you need to have an idea of what you should be paying. Also went by taxi to Casablanca but you can go by train too which is more reasonable if there are 2 of you, taxi cheaper if more of you so can split the cost. Highly recommend the open top Tour Bus, hop on hop off so you can visit all the Tourist attractions along the way. Horse carriage ride was great too. Remember to keep 11 Dhirams pppn to pay for tax when settling final bill at hotel. We found it a fabulous hotel, fabulously located and would definitely recommend this! You need to have an open and accepting mind, bartering is must but that is part of the fun! Locals are very friendly, not aggressive. Go with the flow and you'll have a fab time! Would definitely recommend this Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Cannot believe this hotel is 3*!! It deserves more stars! Would recommend this hotel to everyone. Me and my friends stayed here for 7 nights in a triple room. The hotel was spotless. The staff spoke little English despite that they were very friendly and well coming. Going to morocco from England the only problem we had was the sockets. The sockets are different to the sockets from England but the hotel gave us 1 adaptor so we were able to charge out phones etc but one adaptor wasn't enough for us. Also we had taken our hair straighteners and hair dryers from England, they were very high voltage I'm assuming so every time we plugged them in we would hear electric crackling noise from the sockets. Lots of restaurants on the streets. Would advice people not to go out at night, especially if you're girls, being smacked on my bum the first day we arrived wasn't very pleasant for me. In general, the hotels very good! And be careful of taxes, just as we were about to check out, we were told we had to pay 11 MAD per person per night, which is equivalent to £1, but since it was our last day me and my friends decided to spend all our money so we had no money to pay for the taxes but luckily they had a chip and pin card machine. Highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and stayed in hotel almas for 5 nights. From the moment we stepped in, we felt so welcome.

I dont understand why this hotel is a 3* hotel as id be more than happy to stay its a 4* if not 5*!

The lobby was beautiful and very clean. Check in was very quick and were shown to our room on the top floor. Room was spotless! Crisp white bedding, clean carpet and spotless bathroom with free toiletries.

Heating and air com worked well. Our kids loved the hotel, just as much as we did.

20 min walk to the square. We walked some days and got on the horse and carriage the other days. Horse abd carriage should onlu cost about 40 dirhams.

Breakfast was good, with lots of variety to choose from. My children loved the yogurts and chocolate croissants. The spiral pastry was delicious!

lovey clean pool, which was cleaned every morning. Good view of the atlas mountains from the roof top.

Initially our plan was to stay in almas hotel for 2 nights then in a riad near the sqaure. After our 2 nights, we stayed in a lovely riad but after getting lost twice finding our way back from the sqaure to the riad, we thought this wasnt for us and moved back to almas hotel for the rest of our nights and it felt like home.

We really miss hotel almas and if we visit marrakech again, we will deffinitely stay in this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean, good, modern hotel, just 20 minutes walk from the Jemaa el fna. Good selection of the food for the breakfast. The staff is friendly and speak good english. The big plus was the heater in the room- during February might be a bit cold. Near by the hotel is a lovely restaurant Bagatelle which we can highly recommend or within 5 minutes walk we can find McDonald's :). Overall, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a half board basis for a week in January. Overall a very good stay.Located in a side street about 1-1.5 miles from Djemma El Fna square, a good 25-30 minutes walk which is good for burning off the calories after breakfast every morning.
Booked a double room as a couple but given a twin room otherwise everything is ok. A/C or heating is individually controlled but on a timer system set by hotel.The room is of adequate size, bathroom with walk in shower, mini fridge, lcd tv with 1 english movie channel only thing missing is tea making facility.
As previously mentioned, booked on half board basis but regretted that decision. Dinner on first night was buffet style which was as expected but on 2nd and 3rd night, you get a menu with a choice of 2 starters and 2 main course and when they arrive its was like kids portion. We gave up and started dinning outside during our remaining stay. The breakfast was of continental style and its the same choices every morning( choices of pastries,cheese,cold meat,boiled eggs, moroccan pancakes, freshly squeezed orange juice,tea and coffee on tap).
Overall I've given 3 out of 5 rating cos of the food,if that was sorted I would definitely give it a 5 but I would still recommend this hotel as all you really want is a place to relax after a tiring day out.Another advantage is the free wifi throughout the hotel as everyone will have a gadget of some sort on social networking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

my boyfriend and i staid a couple of days in Marrakesh. We really enjoyed our stay in the Almas Hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms were always clean and the breakfast was good (continental breakfast and some marocain specialities). Another adventage was the heater in the room. In winter the nights can be quite chilly, so some people who staid in Riads told us they were a little cold in the night.
The pool on the roof is very clean, but definitely to cold to swim during winter. But the view is great and we spent a couple of hours on the terrace just having a sun bath and relaxing.
The hotel is located in the new town. There are some cheap little restaurants around were you can have fresh fish or seafood. The famous Plaza el Fna isn't too far away. We always walked there, which was about 20 minutes by foot.
Our room was located to the side of the street. I have to admit that it was a little noisy in the night. It didn't bother us too much because we both sleep very deep and well almost everywhere :) but somebody who is a little more sensitive should maybe organize him/herself a room located to the other side, where it is much more quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Diwane Hotel
Diwane Hotel
#270 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 756 reviews
0.4 mi away
Red Hotel Marrakech
Red Hotel Marrakech
#282 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 312 reviews
0.2 mi away
Les Trois Palmiers
Les Trois Palmiers
#310 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Tempoo Hotel
Tempoo Hotel
#244 of 481 in Marrakech
4.0 of 5 stars 62 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Islane
Hotel Islane
#203 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 154 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#350 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #230 of 481 Hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Almas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.