We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic hotel, enjoyed every minute of our stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Almas

Save Saved
You added Hotel Almas to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Almas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #207 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic hotel, enjoyed every minute of our stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

We are a family of 5 and stayed in hotel almas for 5 nights. From the moment we stepped in, we felt so welcome.

I dont understand why this hotel is a 3* hotel as id be more than happy to stay its a 4* if not 5*!

The lobby was beautiful and very clean. Check in was very quick and were shown to our room on the top floor. Room was spotless! Crisp white bedding, clean carpet and spotless bathroom with free toiletries.

Heating and air com worked well. Our kids loved the hotel, just as much as we did.

20 min walk to the square. We walked some days and got on the horse and carriage the other days. Horse abd carriage should onlu cost about 40 dirhams.

Breakfast was good, with lots of variety to choose from. My children loved the yogurts and chocolate croissants. The spiral pastry was delicious!

lovey clean pool, which was cleaned every morning. Good view of the atlas mountains from the roof top.

Initially our plan was to stay in almas hotel for 2 nights then in a riad near the sqaure. After our 2 nights, we stayed in a lovely riad but after getting lost twice finding our way back from the sqaure to the riad, we thought this wasnt for us and moved back to almas hotel for the rest of our nights and it felt like home.

We really miss hotel almas and if we visit marrakech again, we will deffinitely stay in this beautiful hotel!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    90
    105
    23
    3
    3
See reviews for
36
98
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Clean, good, modern hotel, just 20 minutes walk from the Jemaa el fna. Good selection of the food for the breakfast. The staff is friendly and speak good english. The big plus was the heater in the room- during February might be a bit cold. Near by the hotel is a lovely restaurant Bagatelle which we can highly recommend or within 5 minutes walk we can find McDonald's :). Overall, we had a nice stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed in this hotel on a half board basis for a week in January. Overall a very good stay.Located in a side street about 1-1.5 miles from Djemma El Fna square, a good 25-30 minutes walk which is good for burning off the calories after breakfast every morning.
Booked a double room as a couple but given a twin room otherwise everything is ok. A/C or heating is individually controlled but on a timer system set by hotel.The room is of adequate size, bathroom with walk in shower, mini fridge, lcd tv with 1 english movie channel only thing missing is tea making facility.
As previously mentioned, booked on half board basis but regretted that decision. Dinner on first night was buffet style which was as expected but on 2nd and 3rd night, you get a menu with a choice of 2 starters and 2 main course and when they arrive its was like kids portion. We gave up and started dinning outside during our remaining stay. The breakfast was of continental style and its the same choices every morning( choices of pastries,cheese,cold meat,boiled eggs, moroccan pancakes, freshly squeezed orange juice,tea and coffee on tap).
Overall I've given 3 out of 5 rating cos of the food,if that was sorted I would definitely give it a 5 but I would still recommend this hotel as all you really want is a place to relax after a tiring day out.Another advantage is the free wifi throughout the hotel as everyone will have a gadget of some sort on social networking.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

my boyfriend and i staid a couple of days in Marrakesh. We really enjoyed our stay in the Almas Hotel. The staff was friendly, the rooms were always clean and the breakfast was good (continental breakfast and some marocain specialities). Another adventage was the heater in the room. In winter the nights can be quite chilly, so some people who staid in Riads told us they were a little cold in the night.
The pool on the roof is very clean, but definitely to cold to swim during winter. But the view is great and we spent a couple of hours on the terrace just having a sun bath and relaxing.
The hotel is located in the new town. There are some cheap little restaurants around were you can have fresh fish or seafood. The famous Plaza el Fna isn't too far away. We always walked there, which was about 20 minutes by foot.
Our room was located to the side of the street. I have to admit that it was a little noisy in the night. It didn't bother us too much because we both sleep very deep and well almost everywhere :) but somebody who is a little more sensitive should maybe organize him/herself a room located to the other side, where it is much more quiet.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in January which is long enough for Marrakech in my opinion.

Hotel is about 20 min walk from the main square and 10min from railway station. Turn left out of the hotel door and walk to the end of the street , then left again and you cannot miss the railway station. The bus station is 2min further along the road on left side of the railway station entrance.
The railway station entrance is a huge arch and is quite magnificent. There is a large open square in front and you cannot miss it.

We took the bus from Marrakech to Agadir by Suprabus which takes about 3 hours with a 15 min break at a service station halfway. You need to book the tickets at least the day before and you get an allocated seat. When you arrive for the journey you will also need to pay a small fee of 6dh for your case to go in the luggage hold for which you get a receipt to stick on your case. Smaller bags you can take on the bus.

Hotel Almas is a nice modern hotel with excellent clean rooms,mini bar(empty) fridge,good powerful showers and wifi throughout. Breakfast was a cold buffet with the usual fare. Boiled eggs were the only hot item but it set us up for the day.

We tried the fish restaurent, 2 doors down,turn left out of the hotel entrance, which had a wide selection of fish on display to choose from. Very good food and budget prices but do expect the same level of refinement which may be more prevalent in the UK.

There are plenty of other Morrocan eateries around this hotel but if you wish to give the local food a miss, Macdonalds is literally about 250 yds if you turn right on exit from the hotel.(there is also another McDs adjacent to the railway station.

All the upmarket shops are in the locality 2 mins away, again if you turn right and head towards Macdonalds you will come across Zara, Mango etc.

The main square is an an amazing place by day and night and you can eat there at the many open stalls. We used the open top touristique bus which is ok for one circuit around the city but buses are not frequent and this service is overpriced and poor value.

Best part of trip was relaxing in the afternoon at the rooftop pool at the hotel which is quite a suntrap!

I

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Have just got back from a really superb 5 days in Marrakech which was not only complemented by the Hotel Almas but was completely enhanced by a really fantastic hotel, to start with the location was just what we wanted slightly out from the centre but an easy 20 minute walk to the main square.
We had a suite on the 5th floor and it was very spacious and extremely clean and well kept. The staff were all very helpful and even when i had a small accident with the shower door there main concern was for myself and not the door and the whole incident was delt with very professionally and efficiently.
Prehaps if i was being very picky then they need to put some more information about Marrskech and areas of interest in the room, having said that you only needed to ask and the information was there.
On a final note I would like to mention the market a few hundred yards from the hotel, we found this to be an ideal place for shopping and less daunting and frenetic than the main square, and a little gem of a restraunt two streets away from the hotel called the Rotisserie de la Paix which served very good food at very reasonable prices and the service was excellent, if you wanted lunch it was served in their courtyard garden which completley shut the outside world out and left you feeling very relaxed

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for 8 nights after deciding our pre-booked Riad wasn't for us. We arrived half an hour after booking online and despite being a few hours early for check in, the room was ready for us on arrival. The bed was massive, a little on the firm side (this seems to be the norm in Marrakech) but very comfortable nonetheless. The room was spacious and clean, with a good sized, powerful shower in the ensuite bathroom. Big TV with lots of channels, and I think 2 channels that were English language, one of which seemed to be a movie channel.

We spent quite a lot of time on the roof terrace which was lovely with a great view, beautiful to watch the sunset from. The pool was very very cold, even when it was quite warm outside (it got up to around 30 degrees Celsius at times) and it was a shame it wasn't heated as it was far too cold to get in, but maybe it's better in the summer. The terrace was a nice area to sunbathe on and get a bit of a tan, something which we couldn't do whilst out and about, as you need to cover up in public.

Breakfast was served between 6 (I think) and 11am so it was nice to be able to get up late and eat breakfast. We took it to our room a couple of times on a tray which wasn't a problem. Breakfast was quite basic but high quality, pain au chocolat, croissant, another sweet pastry, good bread, butter, jam, sliced cheeses and ham, olives, fruity yogurt, boiled eggs, porridge and pancakes, cereal and dried fruit, with strong coffee and fresh orange juice on tap.

The staff were very friendly and helpful, with the reception staff speaking good English (though it's always courteous to at least try and speak a bit of French!)

The area (Guilez) was nice with a lot of good restaurants and shops nearby, very different to the atmosphere in and around the medina, and a lot less hassle.

Overall this is a high quality hotel in a good area of Marrakech, and very good value for money (we paid 50 euros a night for the room and breakfast for 2).

We would definitely go back there if we ever return to Marrakech.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Almas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Almas

Address: 79, Avenue Moulay Rachid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #207 of 461 hotels in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Almas 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Budget Places, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Hotel Almas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Almas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.