We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Colourful roof garden with Berber tent.
Colourful roof garden with Berber tent.
Colourful roof garden with Berber tent.
Traditional decoration creates fantastic rooms.
Traditional arches to one of the sitting areas.
Plenty of room for private sunbathing
Open courtyard at the centre of the house
Marrakech
|
Rental Home – 
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
xbombasti...
Saint Thomas, Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Peace in the Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
3
people found this review helpful

This property was a haven of peace, about a three minute walk from the frenetic square. The rooftop terrace was wonderfully peaceful in the good weather, and has a lovely shelter for those who might not like as much sun. There's a potted orange tree doing well on the terrace, if so inclined you could likely pick fruit from it. Two turtles seem to live on the roof terrace, too. The property was very easy and fast to book, and the owner provided a wealth of information very speedily, which we received gratefully, as it was our first trip to Marrakech. The houseman arranged to pick us up at the airport and take us to the house, and was available to sort out details for us, and it is a brilliant area to explore (although exhausting on the touts-everywhere front). We sent several texts to the houseman on our last day, seeking assistance, but he did not respond. We only had one breakfast in our three day stay, and consisted of pastries and toast, tea, and a glass of fresh squeezed orange juice. Just the one glass, mind you - we asked for a second and were declined. While I think everything you need is in the place, it can be a challenge to find - we only located bath towels on the second day, near the door to the roof, and bathing with the benefit of a hand towel was a challenge. The plunge pool seems not to be used, and is not heated - likely it is brilliant when it is 40C out, but we did not use. Bathrooms galore if you travel with a larger party, and hot water aplenty. The property is clean and welcoming, and the location is fantastic.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
3 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 4 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Lounge was very very dark - not enough lighting.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 1, 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review for us, I'm really pleased you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the fantastic location of Dar Soulahfa. Marrakech can indeed be a bit of a culture shock so it's great to have such central accommodation in which to retreat when you need some time to relax.
The breakfast which is included in the price of the rental is purchased fresh each morning with just enough juice being squeezed for that meal, however the staff are always happy to purchase items on behalf of our guests and there is a separate fridge for guests to store their own drinks and snacks.
Bath towels are usually left on each bed, my sincere apologies if this didn't happen, I can assure any future guests that a request made to the staff would have seen a ready supply, it must have been an oversight on this occasion. The towels left at the door to the roof terrace are intended for use on the sunbeds and when using the pool.
During the summer months the little plunge pool is a wonderful way of keeping cool, it's almost essential, obviously in the cooler winter months it is used very rarely though it is always keep full and clean just in case!
I and the staff at Dar Soulahfa are always keen that our guests should enjoy their time at the house and are committed to doing all we can to see this happens.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
MEC1013
North Shields, United Kingdom
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely Riad, Great Location, Fabulous Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
4
people found this review helpful

Lovely Riad in the perfect location not far from the central square and souks. Firstly, the enquiry and booking were completely hassle free. Stuart the owner replied to any queries immediately (even when the poor man was stuck abroad with bad weather!) so greatly appreciated and outstanding customer service from his behalf! On our arrival, we were met at the airport by Soulamaine, the houseman, who by all accounts is an absolute peach - nothing was too much bother for him and he was helpful in every way possible with any questions or queries we had. The Riad is lovely, clean and very comfortable, the only thing I would say to those visiting in the winter months is to be prepared for the huge drops in temperatures at night as it can be really chilly. Heaters were provided which were a big help to take the chill off. The roof terrace is great (complete with two tortoises) and a great place to kick back and relax when the need is there. Atika and Khadji (cook and cleaner) are just lovely, lovely people. In fact if I could have brought Atika home, I would have because her cooking is to die for. We ate in the Riad every night and were never disappointed, only sorry that I don't have the skill for cooking tagines as she does! Marrakech itself is great, so much happening, to do and see - I'm sure we could have squashed a lot more in on our 4 day stay but were happy wandering around the souks, haggling for the best price and people watching in the square. Way too much to see with snake charmers and monkeys, henna'd ladies and several acts going on at once. Be careful about taking photo's though as they do expect to be paid, but everyone was pleasant even if we refused to pay. All the shop keepers we came across were happy, friendly and drove a hard bargain - but persevere, hold your nerve and you'll be fine and happy with the price you get hopefully! We are a group of 6 Mams who go away every year and it was perfect for us - lovely to catch up and can do as much or as little as you want. Might be worth a second visit to see all the bits we didn't quite get round too seeing! Go for it, book it, it will be well worth it!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Susan E
Colwyn Bay, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Cosy and conveniently located.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

Great atmosphere, well managed, excellent staff. We ate in every night as the ladies' cooking was so good! Lovely weather (sunny, with cool nights) and we really enjoyed our week.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness
4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location/sun terrace/home cooked food/reliable staff
Liked least: Riad not very sound-proofed, so felt like everything you said or did could be overheard!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
kenapple
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013 for a stay in January 2013
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed here in January with our three children aged 5, 7 and 8. Initially we were going to stay outside the Medina but are glad we changed our minds! Dar Soulahfa is a beautiful Riad with immaculate attention to detail. In a fantastic quiet location and yet only about 8 minutes easy walk to the main square.It is perfect for either a group of friends or family with children as you have the Riad to yourselves so don't have to worry too much if the children are noisy (unlike other Riads) We ate in one evening and the food was delicious. Having an open fire and heaters in the bedrooms certainly made a difference with the chilly evenings. By day the weather was gorgeous. We spent one whole day reading on the large roof terrace whilst the children pottered around and played with the two tortoises there. The staff were also lovely and great with the children. In all We can't recommend Dar Soulahfa highly enough and we will certainly return next time we visit Marrakech.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
0504sharo...
nottingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Cant imagine I will ever get over this beautiful house........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment we walked down the maze of alleys where children played football happily with their deflated football, I knew this would be right for us. Its the real Morocco. The beautiful solid wooden door impressed and once open we stepped in we entered another world.......a simply breathtaking house which took me days to take in.........because every nook is beautifully designed and perfectly furnished.....There just isnt the space here to describe, but seriously I spent days just walking around admiring this house. I really felt that I could stay there forever - I simply fell in love with this place.......and I really cant imagine I will ever get over having to leave it ........]
Now on to the staff........again real people - so very accommodating - cooking, cleaning and the man who is referred to as the "house man" was so very very polite and humble and all were unassuming - AND TOTALLY TRUSTWORTHY,,,,,,,they were all such genuine people......I actually enjoyed their company - loved having them around - All in all perfection...... absolute perfection. And thank you Mr Knock (the owner) for having the dream, the vision and the impeccable taste that resulted in this masterpiece - I doff my cap to you Sir.....

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: the entire house
Liked least: not applicable
Traveling group: Family with Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
unclebofz...
Braunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great house in a great location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011 for a stay in October 2011
5
people found this review helpful

A lovely house with excellent friendly staff. Beautifully restored riad with total privacy centrally located, yet in a quiet backstreet near all the sights. We took 3 kids (9,6 and 2 years) and my 83 year old mother in law. After the madness of the souks and negotiating donkeys and motorbikes it was great to step into this tranquil oasis and relax. We had dinner on 2 days and lunch on another 2 days cooked by Atiqa and Khadija, all of which were superb quality, genuinely authentic and generous portions. Fouad organized our taxis and excursions, which given our party saved me negotiating everything with kids in tow. If you are on a budget be careful about his (or anyone else's) recommendations for where to eat / buy souvenirs, as they are likely to be towards the higher end of the scale. The staff live off-site, so you have the place to yourself, except obviously if you are having meals prepared. Recommended.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
4 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
4 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The privacy and the quiet yet central location.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$173
/
Night
Week
Instant Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Stuart K
Speaks English, French
Listed since : Mar 2007
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 3 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing