We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little Hidden Gem in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 602 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $14 - $30
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A little Hidden Gem in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Excellent service, food and prices. An exquisite Italian restaurant in a Rhiad, Difficult to find
but worth it. Restaurant sign on a door,at the end of a long passage, however when the door is open, you cannot see the sign. We took a taxi there, it is only 10mins walk from the main square.
The food is fantastic, homemade Italian food, nice atmosphere and only £20 for two for everything. Will go again if I go back to Marrakech.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,518
    542
    189
    86
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant set in a lovely riad!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

Had dinner here back in June. The restaurant is set in a beautiful riad and dinner is a bit more formal (in a good way, without being stuffy!) compared to some of the restaurants in Marrakech. It has a choice of two menus-Moroccan or Italian which is great if you have had too many tagines!. Location is near the main square but is quite hidden. However there was a door guy located about 15 meters from the main entrance of the restaurant that brought us there-not sure if he is there all the time...! One minor hiccup was at the end of the night when we were paying the bill, the waiter took away the bill and didn't return with the change. Just as a tip for the staff I think its better to return change so that the customers can provide a tip separately unless the customer is clear by saying keep the change. Just a minor hiccup which doesn't take away from the restaurant!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Our reservation was cancelled as closed during Ramadam”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

We booked for dinner weeks ago, but with 2 days notice our reservation was cancelled. We were told they were closed during Ramadam, Fair enough- but 1. Why did they take the reservation in the first place knowing when Ramadam is and 2. How come other diners have reviewed this restaurant in July when that's the month of Ramadam? Odd.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing place to eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This restaurant is located in a beautiful riad and produced the most excellent food.

We totally enjoyed both the dining experience and the food - well done!

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food in a beautiful riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

The restaurant is well signed from Djemaa el Fna and is about 10 mins' walk from there. It's a riad with a beautiful interior. The service was pleasant and efficient, and the food good and fairly priced. My husband was disappointed that they'd run out of Casablanca beer, otherwise we recommend Pepe Nero. I booked two days in advance for a Thurs night in mid May but it didn't seem necessary as it wasn't full.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.