We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Italian food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Great Italian food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

We generally only like to eat the cuisine of the country/region we are visiting but since we were in Morocco for an extended period of time we decided to mix it up one night. For our one non-Moroccan meal of our trip, we decided to eat here based on tripadvisor reviews and we were very pleased with this decision.

While it was quite an adventure finding our way here, as a few times we didn’t know if we were still on the right path, we were happy once we arrived. The food is the highlight here, as the service was a bit slow in parts. The tagliatelle with four cheese and the ravioli with chicken and pecorino were both outstanding. The crème brulee was also very delicious.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,765 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,150
    384
    144
    63
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Warm and exotic atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have read the reviews before going there and it is true the restaurant is very busy, we had to book a table two days in advance. The setting is very warm and exotic and the food good. Everything was excellent, but after reading the posts, I was expecting to find more original ideas in the Moroccan menu.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavern, Norway
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“A nice restaurant with beautiful tiles.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

This is again a restaurant hard to find in Marrakesh. Look out for some signs which points you in the right direction. The restaurant is located in a beautiful old estate. I was the sole visitor when I arrived. I was treated very well by the staff. They started up the water fountain and the music for me. I ordered the sea bass which was excellent. The also served some nice local wines. The prices were also pleasant. Next time in Marrakesh I will go back to this place. I attach some photos which illustrates the nice setting.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Very very good !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Visited with friends for a 50th birthday party,service was excellent,food was excellent and ambience was also superb.Would recommend to anybody.....really great night !

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant cooking, fabulous venue, more enjoyable than Gordon Ramsay's in London”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

This gem of a restaurant may take some finding (although well signposted) but the effort is amply rewarded. The venue is sublime - an old riyad coutyard with fountain and pool - the cooking is perfection, and the whole dining experience is more enjoyable than that offered by Gordon Ramsay's in London. The service is excellent (but never over-attentive), the welcome warm, and the whole experience relaxed and thoroughly enjoyable. In terms of value it may be expensive by Marrakech standards, but costs a quarter of what it would in London.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.