We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful restaurant, good food and exceptional service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Geneva, Switzerland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant, good food and exceptional service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013

We visited the restaurant to see the beautiful restoration and also to have a nice meal on our last night in Morocco. We were not disappointed, the restaurant is indeed beautiful and well restored. The food is good but not exceptional; the service is very exceptional indeed - the waiters wowed us and we hope to return, if only to meet the nice service staff. The Italian dishes were very nice but the Moroccan dishes were quite ordinary. Highly recommended if you are looking to eat good Italian food in a beautiful place in Marrakech. A bit pricey but offers very nice ambiance and reasonable value for the money.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,153
    386
    144
    64
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Excellent service and nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

The service is excellent they have eye for detail.

The price/quality for the food is good.
But the food could be a bit approved.

We had a really nice evening.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Brilliant night!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2013

We have visited Marrakech 3 times for short breaks and have eaten here each time. It is very nice ambience good food and good service. Yes it is like most places in Marrakech down a windy lane but worth finding and it is signposted. We had a lovely meal served by a charming waiter who was polite but fun. A thoroughly good night.

We had been left 5 minutes walking our way back to the main square when a breathless person tapped me on my shoulder handing me my purse with cash and my bankcard in! The lovely waiter had gone to great effort to find us saving me much stress. Nice side of human nature! Thank you Pepe Nero and staff

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Great room ..... average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Finding Pepe Nero is a bit of an adventure as it is deep in the Medina of Marrakech; though, upon entering you are immediately enveloped into a richly decorated riad. One has high expectations. Alas, the service is very haphazard and the meal very average despite the higher than average prices. Such a pity really ........

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altinkum, Turkey
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“You'd find it hard to beat this place in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

As with just about everywhere in this city extremely hard to locate, taxi is a must. The decor, the service and the food was excellent. As you might expect you do pay a small premium for this, but only small and well worth it. Excellent setting for a quiet romantic meal with good attentive service. Only thing I didn't like was the guy who escorted us to our taxi afterwards wanted a separate tip from that that we had already left in the restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.