We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gourmet restaurant in the middle of Medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #24 of 594 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $28
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Gourmet restaurant in the middle of Medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Between the dust and dirty city of Medina, there is this beautiful restaurant. Great service, nice atmosphere, excellent dishes.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,342 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,501
    537
    187
    82
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Splendido!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

Our last night in Marrakech & we wanted somewhere special & everything that we heard & had read about needed to be put to the test, it is very hard to find, check out the route in daylight if you're walking or be prepared to think the taxi driver has kidnapped you to get you there, but believe me, it's worth it.
Amuse bouche, excellent service, brilliant bread, salmon carpaccio big enough to share, an amazing steak, followed by the BEST & lightest tarte de pomme I have ever tasted, with bourbon ice cream,
It was A-May-Zing, they have a reasonable selection of wines& all for 760MAD
Then they escort you back to either the square or your Riad, the waiter was asked if it was busy that night as he turned over our table, he said it was busy every night, you need to book, all tables taken & several turned over
Worth the visit IMHO

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A must do restaurant! Really enjoyable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Email restaurant before you leave to make a reservation. I purposely booked it for our first night incase we wanted to go again... which we did - Jeremy M we were the 2100hrs table on Tuesday! Also by booking it inadvance it took the stress away trying to find somewhere to eat on your first night, where you can get an alcoholic drink! Not possible on the square. (We were staying in the Medina, not New Town where its alot easier).

Its a lovely romantic setting. Food was excellent and the wine was the best we had in Marrakech. Whoever said this is expensive should try Le Salama !! (but thats another review their cheapest wine 285dir, pepe nero 200dir)! Excellent service, nice little extras 2 glasses of buckfizz, a tasty amuse bouche.

Its easy to find (as detailed before) if you are in the square facing cafe de France, take the pathway to the left go straight and follow the signs, about halfway down you take a left few minutes walk along then you come to a small open area and again there is a sign and usually someone is stood there who works for the restaurant who will walk you down the alley to the door at the end. (signs are over the archways).

Dont hesitate, just book it, you wont regret it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helmond, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very good restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We we there at 9 November 2013 for my birthday. We arrived an hour earlier before the dinner started, but we were allowed to get inside and have got water, wine and starter (starter was a compliment from restaurant).

Amazingly beautiful place. It is like a palace inside.

It's Italian kitchen, so don't expect to find in menu kitchen of Morocco, but it is very good Italian kitchen, we enjoyed every dish.

Waiters are very helping, nice and quick. We didn't wait too much for the next dish, but it was enough pause in-between to enjoy our time there..

I would definitely advice this restaurant to all people visiting Marrakech if they want to eat in special place :)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cobham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“You'd better book ahead!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We hadn't made a reservation as it was a Tuesday evening in late November and it didn't seem necessary! We were wrong - and were delighted that the Maitre d'hotel let us (2) have a table on the basis that we'd gave it back if he needed it for the party due at 21.00! We were delighted to hear later that the reservation was found another table when they turned up! Great food and attentive service which, for Marrakech, was a pleasant change. The wine may have helped! Lovely setting and a tour of the associated riad by our very friendly waiter was a bonus. If you're in Marrakech and need a meal find Pepe Nero but make a booking before you go.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.