We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 539 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“loved this restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Decided to find the restaurant in the daylight on Friday as our reservation was for Sat 23rd Nov 2013. Good idea as it is difficult to find but well worth the trouble. We were given our lovely table by the fountain. Very romantic setting. The service and the food was excellent with nice little extras like a welcome drink served in a champagne flute and tasty amuse bouche.
Would highly recommend as this was one of our favourite restaurants in Marrakech

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,821 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,188
    400
    144
    64
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guildford
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A oasis in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Wonderful food. Wine if you want it (not always available in Marrakech restaurants. Nice atmosphere... and an escort back to our Riad.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chertsey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Closed on Monday! Heavily booked on Tues- but we squeaked in, thankfully.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

Yes this is indeed one of the better restaurants in Marrakesh. After a week it was a relief to eat something other than Moroccan and the Italian option was superb. The starter Eggplant Parmigiana with Tuna and Mozzarella was amazing, so packed with flavour. I had taglietelle bolognese for my main at it was good but needed parmisan. My wifes chicken & Pecorino was also very very good.

The extra touches of Proscetto (sp?) and hors d'oeuvres and general level of service warrant a clear 5 stars.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We did not have a booking but managed to have dinner here. We were all vegetarians in out party and we all thoroughly enjoyed the food.
It is signed from the main square but still difficult to find as it's tucked away in the alleys.
It was a little cold in the room we sat but they had heaters in some other rooms.
It was absolutely brilliant both food and service.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“so disappointing!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2013

We had high hopes for our dinner at Pepe Nero, but we were bitterly disappointed. My husband I and both opted for tagines (one chicken, one lamb) and they were not at all what we had hoped for. The chicken tagine had barely any sauce so was therefore very dry and the lamb tagine was the worst I have ever had! We hoped the dessert would rectify our disastrous main course, but that too was horrible! The service however was good and the manager was very sorry we had not enjoyed our meal - he offered us anything else from the menu instead ...but frankly we were ready to go home! The restaurant is tricky to find and a long walk from the main square - one we will not be doing again!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.