We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Cleethorpes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is one of the best dinners I have ever had - it was not only the food but the ambience, atmosphere and service. All impeccable. The waiters are extremely attentive without being intrusive and the food is beautiful. As for the restaurant itself, romantic is not the word. It is simply breath-taking. We had 2 courses and a coffee and this took 3 hours! Having said that, we enjoyed a complimentary prosecco on arrival and also a mouche bouche of chicken pate. Time just flew and we didn't want to leave. This place is a gem.

Do not forget to book, it is not the kind of place you can just walk in to and expect to get a table. Closed on Mondays.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,287
    439
    155
    70
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Charming restaurant with exceptional service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We read the reviews for Pepe Nero and set out to find out for ourselves if it lived up to the hype. We arrived in a beautiful Riad a few blocks off of the busy road and covered market. We had no reservation but were shown a table next to their gorgeous pool to enjoy a bottle of reasonably priced wine. Once a table was ready we were shown into the beautiful courtyard. They have two menus...an Italian menu and a Morrocan menu. We ate off of the morrocan menu and loved our lamb shoulder and morrocan soups. We saw many of the other items on tables around us and I would have been happy with every single dish I saw. Beautiful and incredible value for the food and experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Everything is beyond expectations!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Be original after so many enthusiastic reviews is difficult. The evening spent in this ristorante was the most beautiful moment of our holiday in Marrakech: Everything is beyond expectations. In a beautiful riad with splendid decorations, fountains full of roses soft lighting, nice background music... a magical atmosphere, with impeccable service of young smiling waiters, is served both Italian and Moroccan cuisine, really of high level for taste, freshness and presentation.
Great tagliatelle, exquisite pastilla, and delicious cassata!
Last; but not for importance, a very reasonable bill.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Superb fusion”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Ambience is top, very nice riad, make sure you reserve a table in the patio. Food is excellent from A-Z, well done, good ingredience quality, nicely seasoned. The service is attentive and does a good job. Absolutely worth it.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointing - only a good execution of simple food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Limited options for vegetarians and must book well in advance. We were expecting an authentic Moroccan/Mediterranean dining experience yet found actually the dated decor and overly eager staff to be a bit overpowering. Food was relish, but waiting an hour between each courses builds an expectation that could not be lived up to. Hard to find, ask someone (we came through the kitchen as a local boy showed us the way!)

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.