We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Riad, amazing food!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 700 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing Riad, amazing food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Never stayed here overnight but had an amazing dinner on recommendation from Christophe frome the Riad Andalla in November 2011. We were personally escorted from one to the other Riads and after dinner the owner and chef cook, who was a wonderful host, showed us all through the Riad (it used to be his parents home) - even through the kitchen area!

Try it, you'll absolutely love it!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank EABerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,730 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cessy, France
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent food in a lovely Riad”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Excellent fusion of traditional Moroccan an Italian food. Great service. Good value. Try to get a table in the main courtyard. We could not despite booking ahead 2 days.

Helpful?
Thank colin_long
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Hard to Find”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Positives: This restaurant was such a nice break from having Tajine. It was beautiful and the food was good. This is the type of place we go often, expensive dishes (for Marrakech) with small portions. We expected the prices, but I saw many young couples a bit dismayed. I thought the wine prices were very reasonable.

The biggest negative to this restaurant is finding it. We decided to walk to it the day before our reservation and could not find it without a guide. (We tipped our guide 20 MAD though he ask for much more.) We got a nice brochure from the restaurant but ended up needed a guide the next night too. It if off a couple dark alleys with not activity so even if you are heading in the right direction it feels wrong. Luckily our guides lead us correctly both times. If you are staying out of the Medina and catch a taxi, they can take you quite close.

The bathroom is very dirty. Only one toilet stall for the females with no soap or towels. Try not to use it if possible.

Make reservations

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank 0TravelTime0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Magnificent setting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

Fabulous setting - beautiful. Make sure you book a table! Lasagne was the best I've tasted. Chocolate pudding scrummy! Not too expensive highly recommend d!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good, Not Great”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were very excited to try Pepe Nero after a week of traditional Moroccan food - we were very much looking forward to some Italian. We went in expecting solid but not amazing Italian - we understood we were in Marrakesh so weren't expecting the best Italian food we'd ever had. Sadly, it was just not very good. Average is the best word for the food. The service and ambiance were great though, hence my husband and I decided good not great was the overall experience. We had so many fantastic meals while in Marrakesh though, we just wouldn't recommend anyone wasting their time and money on 'good' when there is so much 'terrific' to be eaten.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank admiralwilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing