We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 602 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
wales
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We went here after reading reviews on trip advisor. It was amazing, The place is beautiful and relaxing . You are greeted with a glass of prosecco when you arrive . The food was top class home made italian favourites. The staff provided an excellant service they were very friendly and could not do enough for us. I have to say this place is really good value for money. We had starters , mains a great bottle of wine and breads and it was just over £50.00.

One tip lots of locals will try and guide you here and then demand money when you arrive either say no or when booking ask for a member of the restaurant to come and meet you.

Make sure you book there was not one free table the night we went

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,372 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,520
    542
    189
    86
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was down a bunch of dark(ish) alleys but the signage was great to find the restaurant (which is usually lacking in Marrakech) the location is beautiful. Romantic beyond belief. A stunning pool at the entrance, they sat us next to a gorgeous fountain. Free champagne/OJ and chicken Amouse Bouche'!!! The service was great. Moroccan wines were surprisingly good! Service was surprisingly fast! A small gnat flew into my wine-and the waiter immediately noticed-and remedied the situation. Now THAT is service. I had the Sea Bass, my boyfriend had the Lamb. Both dishes were fabulous. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Shukran.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Loved the food, but more amazing was the setting and ambiance.

The restaurant is perfectly sign posted

Hidden the hustle and bustle of the night time souks was Pepe Nero, beautifully lit and designed like a mini garden. Luckily enough the tranquil setting was matched by the maxing Moroccon food.

Having the lamb ttagline, I could say nothing to criticise it.

Why 4* you may be asking?
Upon exit back to the main square our group began to be pestered by some young adults telling is to take a side path back to the main square due to reasons associated to the mosque.
At night I did not feel safe in the area, however on the plus side the restaurant hires an individual to walk you back to the main square. A tip is asked for, but after a very expensive four courses meal in Medina, little change was spared.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as amazing as we thought but great service from waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We came here after seeing the reviews on trip advisor. Kind man looks out to guide you there (although he walked us back at recommendation of the restaurant which they said was included and he still asked for a tip). Food was quite nice. The lasagne was good but the crusted lamb didnt have much crust and was very gamey compared to uk meat. Beautiful location but not as amazing as everyone made out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must for any trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants I have ever visited. We visited this on our last day in Marrakech and it was the perfect way to say goodbye to the city. We'd had our fill of amazing tagines over the previous days so we thought we'd try out the Italian menu (there is a Moroccan themed menu as well). The king prawn starter was devine, and our pasta dishes were unparalleled- i can rate the Guinea Fowl ravioli. After a few days in the Medina the chilled white wine from a great list was certainly welcome. The staff were conscientious without being overbearing, the decor was stunning and great value at £70 for two including wine.

In a way I was glad that we went on our last night or we'd have been here every night (especially as it's one of the few signposted restaurants in Marrakech!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.