We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 699 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian, Gluten Free
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great restaurant!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

The restaurant was down a bunch of dark(ish) alleys but the signage was great to find the restaurant (which is usually lacking in Marrakech) the location is beautiful. Romantic beyond belief. A stunning pool at the entrance, they sat us next to a gorgeous fountain. Free champagne/OJ and chicken Amouse Bouche'!!! The service was great. Moroccan wines were surprisingly good! Service was surprisingly fast! A small gnat flew into my wine-and the waiter immediately noticed-and remedied the situation. Now THAT is service. I had the Sea Bass, my boyfriend had the Lamb. Both dishes were fabulous. I would highly recommend this place.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank trollydolly77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Shukran.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Loved the food, but more amazing was the setting and ambiance.

The restaurant is perfectly sign posted

Hidden the hustle and bustle of the night time souks was Pepe Nero, beautifully lit and designed like a mini garden. Luckily enough the tranquil setting was matched by the maxing Moroccon food.

Having the lamb ttagline, I could say nothing to criticise it.

Why 4* you may be asking?
Upon exit back to the main square our group began to be pestered by some young adults telling is to take a side path back to the main square due to reasons associated to the mosque.
At night I did not feel safe in the area, however on the plus side the restaurant hires an individual to walk you back to the main square. A tip is asked for, but after a very expensive four courses meal in Medina, little change was spared.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank BOWAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not as amazing as we thought but great service from waiter”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

We came here after seeing the reviews on trip advisor. Kind man looks out to guide you there (although he walked us back at recommendation of the restaurant which they said was included and he still asked for a tip). Food was quite nice. The lasagne was good but the crusted lamb didnt have much crust and was very gamey compared to uk meat. Beautiful location but not as amazing as everyone made out.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellinggirlyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must for any trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

This is one of the best restaurants I have ever visited. We visited this on our last day in Marrakech and it was the perfect way to say goodbye to the city. We'd had our fill of amazing tagines over the previous days so we thought we'd try out the Italian menu (there is a Moroccan themed menu as well). The king prawn starter was devine, and our pasta dishes were unparalleled- i can rate the Guinea Fowl ravioli. After a few days in the Medina the chilled white wine from a great list was certainly welcome. The staff were conscientious without being overbearing, the decor was stunning and great value at £70 for two including wine.

In a way I was glad that we went on our last night or we'd have been here every night (especially as it's one of the few signposted restaurants in Marrakech!)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JoeLawson1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not really worth the journey”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013 via mobile

A lovely place but not worth the money or journey to find it. It is easy to find cheaper, tastier food without taking the making the long jouney here. Set at the back of the Medina expect to have to walk a little further or spend a little more in a taxi. Sells both Moroccan and Italian dishes with excellent service. Sadly the food just didn't live up to expectation.

Helpful?
Thank Daznsarahr
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing