We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian I've ever had in Marrakech...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 533 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Best Italian I've ever had in Marrakech...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013 via mobile

... which, although on a list of one, shouldn't detract from how good this place is.

There is a choice between Moroccan and Italian food. We opted for Italian, just for variety, but that was excellent, just as the Moroccan food we saw coming out of the kitchen was.

Atmosphere is idyllic - try and get a seat in the courtyard if possible. The staff were great, with the maitre d walking us back to the main square after we had eaten (the restaurant is tucked away, even if well sign-posted, and you may be glad of a local guide if leaving late at night).

The only slight downside was that our waiter was slightly harried and the service appeared chaotic at times - but don't let that put you off, it was a busy night (with good reason!)!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,163
    389
    144
    64
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal in Marrakech!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Pepe Nero was exactly what we were looking for! After one night in Marrakech, we were already sick of Moroccan food and booked a table at the number one Italian restaurant, Pepe Nero. Most of the restaurants we had been to so far have been empty and we were glad to see that Pepe Nero was booked (mostly with tourists, but who cares, we are tourists!) We easily found Pepe Nero, walking from the Mellah, we just followed the road to the Jemaa el-Fnaa and then looked for the Pepe Nero signs. The restaurant is beautiful and we sat inside, facing the courtyard.

We were given a glass of Prosecco to start our meal. We had the Harira soup which was delicious, the tomato and basil fettuccine, and the four cheese pappardelle. All was delicious and we would definitely go back to Pepe Nero!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Follow the signs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We wanted to visit this restaurant after reading other reviews on Trip Advisor and on our map it looked to be very close to our riad. Luckily we saw a sign off the main square which we followed, and followed, and followed. Twice we were tempted to give up and try one or other of the many restaurants we were passing but eventually we were guided down an even narrower alley by the doorman.

Well it was worth the walk just for the atmosphere. Soft classical music, candlelight and fountains full of rose petals. The service was impeccable, the wine was good, but the food did not live up to our expectations (we chose from the Moroccan menu).

All in all we enjoyed our visit.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morpeth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Moroccan Home Cooking At It's Best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is an idyllic place, just when you think the guide (you will have to ask the way) is taking you down a back alley here comes this doorway at the end. Open the door and enter another world, this Riad is very romantic, with the swimming pool as you walk in the whole place is a nice retreat from the busy city. The service was great, the food excellent and the manager was very hospitable. He is a the owner and chef, a very proud man who only wants perfection. The lamb tagine was the best I have ever had, the lamb just fell apart. The trio of desserts to finish again cooked fresh that day a nice finish to a fantastic meal. Hats off to the chef/owner, London taught you well!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, nice food and very slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arranged through the restaurant to be met by one of the staff in the square who walked us around the back streets (never would have found it without him) the setting is gorgeous - lovely fountain in the middle - the service was soooooo slow - we waited ages to receive our drinks - I was close to walking out....... The food was nice - my fish was really lovely -everything else not bad. Mixed review really, think maybe more staff in busy periods and personally think the food can be improved.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.