We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best restaurant for me in Africa (not been to many)!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Best restaurant for me in Africa (not been to many)!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Went on the strength of Tripadvisor reviews that ranked Pepe Nero #3 in the city and for me this would be my #1. Total class in a gorgeous setting. Despite not haviing a booking we were met on the lane there by the maitr'd who guessed we were looking for it (it's somewhat isolated). Had the choice of the courtyard or dining room-chose the former. As a welcome we were brough a glass of complementary Prosecco while we considered the menus-one Moroccan and one Italian. We both had the Moroccan-harissa soup (bit bland) and lamb shoulder (exquisit flavours!) for me. Service was excellent and presentation beautiful. Would recommend going back (one nearby diner booked in for the following night).

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,153
    386
    144
    64
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dusseldorf
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

Set in an oasis amongst the caos of downtown Marrakech is the beautiful restaurant Pepe Nero. Service, Food and Prosecco were excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Hyperbole well deserved!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

We had dinner two nights during our stay in Marrakech: Both nights we were completely satisfied: The restaurant is wonderful, the service attentive and friendly and the food, we tried dishes from both menus the Italian and the Moroccan, all really excellent. Good wines list, Moroccan and Italian, and fair prices considering the level of the restaurant, so the
hyperbole is well deserved.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning setting for ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Think some people might be getting carried away with the stunning setting. This riad is beautiful, like a 1001 Nights. Take that away and the food is good, relatively imaginative cusine. The pasta sauces are nothing mind boggling for a European palate (bolognese, four cheese, basil and tomato) - wines here are the same as at other high end riads but double the price (the Ferme Rouge here is 300 dhm, at Riad Farnatchi it is 150 dhm). Staff super efficient throughout until we asked for the bill at which stagw we waited almost 35 minutes. The doormab to guide you to djmaa el fna is not there out of some random act of kindness by the restaurant. He directly asked us for a tip before he started walking even though this is one of the better signposted restaurants in town and we told him we could find our way. All in all go for the view and the decor, the food is a detail amd there's better out there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tucked away courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away down an alley - we were given excellent directions (arrived by taxi) and a member of the team was waiting ready by the roadside to greet us and bring us to the restaurant.

We were welcomed to our table in the courtyard, next to the rose-filled fountain, with a glass of prosecco.

There are two menus to choose from - one Italian, one Moroccan. The tuna carpaccio starter was particularly good - as was the chicken tagine.

Service was attentive, discreet, and responsive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.