We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning setting for ok food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 536 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $34
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Stunning setting for ok food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

Think some people might be getting carried away with the stunning setting. This riad is beautiful, like a 1001 Nights. Take that away and the food is good, relatively imaginative cusine. The pasta sauces are nothing mind boggling for a European palate (bolognese, four cheese, basil and tomato) - wines here are the same as at other high end riads but double the price (the Ferme Rouge here is 300 dhm, at Riad Farnatchi it is 150 dhm). Staff super efficient throughout until we asked for the bill at which stagw we waited almost 35 minutes. The doormab to guide you to djmaa el fna is not there out of some random act of kindness by the restaurant. He directly asked us for a tip before he started walking even though this is one of the better signposted restaurants in town and we told him we could find our way. All in all go for the view and the decor, the food is a detail amd there's better out there.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,796 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,169
    394
    144
    64
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Tucked away courtyard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

This restaurant is tucked away down an alley - we were given excellent directions (arrived by taxi) and a member of the team was waiting ready by the roadside to greet us and bring us to the restaurant.

We were welcomed to our table in the courtyard, next to the rose-filled fountain, with a glass of prosecco.

There are two menus to choose from - one Italian, one Moroccan. The tuna carpaccio starter was particularly good - as was the chicken tagine.

Service was attentive, discreet, and responsive.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“just as described”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Ended up going here off the cuff for partners birthday after reading about it on trip advisor. It took a while to find but we were soon escorted to the restaurant by a suited doorman. We didn't have a booking but they were able to accommodate us without any fuss and being a Friday night we were surprised. We were welcomed with a complimentary glass of prosecco whilst looking at the menu. The waiters were very polite and there were 2 allocated to our area which was made up of 4 tables. The food was lovely (we went Italian) it was well presented and tasted as good as it looked. We never had an empty glass as the waiters constantly topped up the wine and water glasses. However I think the nicest part of the meal was the location. You couldn't imagine the beauty and serenity of the place from outside especially after making your way through the hustle and bustle of the souks. After our meal we were escorted back to the main square which was what we requested but we do know that other couples were ordered taxis to collect them from the restaurant. We would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone visiting Marrakech. The only thing I would disagree with on trip advisor is the average price, we had a 3 course Italian meal, bottle of wine at £20 and coffee and the total bill came in at £90 but we are not griping at the price as we have paid more for substantially lower quality food and surroundings in the uk.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Instow, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good, but not great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Really lovely welcome with a complementary glass of prosecco. A slightly bland moroccan soup and a poor salad were partially redeemed by delicious slow cooked lamb. But this could have been so much better with the addition of something green to counter the richness of he meat. Good price and fabulous wine, so a mixed result.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

My wife and I decided to dine at this restaurant due to the overwhelming positive reviews we have read on Tripadvisor and I was happy to experience the same excellent service and food that everyone is writing about!

The restaurant is slightly out of the way and you find yourself wondering whether the street signs are a joke but you will eventually find it.

The first time I went there was on a Monday night and after arriving I was informed the restaurant was closed every Mondays but the Doorman was kind enough to offer us a drink and organize for someone to take us to another restaurant which was of similar standards.

When we did dine at Pepenero I was thoroughly impressed with the experience. The restaurant is beautiful. The decor is really nice and the atmosphere is really relaxing. The food was magnificent. Whilst the restaurant maybe slightly pricier then other available restaurants in Marrakesh, it is certainly worth the price. I will not write too much about the food as the other reviews have written enough but all I will say is I wanted to go again the next day!

The service was immaculate. A waiter attended to all our needs and ensured we always had a glass full of drink at all times.

Due to the time when I was departing the restaurant, the staff arranged for a Doorman to escort us to our Riad which was a really nice gesture and went to show just how much the Restaurant cared for their customers.

When in Marrakesh, you HAVE to experience Pepenero.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.