We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #28 of 616 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Eat here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Eat here food and service and ambience perfect! Even catered for a fussy vegan! The staff even gave us a big serving of their bread to take away!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,433
    509
    177
    78
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“High quality fayre and value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We dined at this restaurant three nights and can not find fault.
The staff are extremely polite and efficient.

The food is very good quality and of a high standard.
The theme is Italian with Moroccan recipes also.
Italian wines are available but we had a Moroccan Terre Rouges which was delicious and at 300 dirhams, very good value for a restaurant of this standing.

The courtyard is lovely and candlelit but on our third night we asked to be seated inside the restaurant as its much brighter and I wanted to see the lovely food we were served.
This restaurant is within the Riad Al Moussika and a short walk from Jamaa El Fna square.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Beautiful, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

I was trying to find somewhere good to eat that didnt just have good food and so chose Pepenero.
We did find it very hard, (down alleyways), to find so i would recommend a guide. Beware asking a local though as they tried to charge us a fortune.

Inside is amazing. You could eat 'outside', which wasnt really outside, it was the centre of the riad, or inside which looked very cosy.

The waiters were fantastic, polite and attentive, our wine glasses were never empty, and they even offered to show us the way back free of charge.

The food was italian and i have nothing bad to say about it. It was delicious and beautifully presented.

We didnt make a reservation but every other table was reserved so definitely book first.

It was quite expensive, about £10 for a main course and £20 for a bottle of wine. The two of us had 3 courses plus the tasters at the start and end for roughly £50/£60.

It was definitely worth the hassle to find, although there are signs, 1 next to cafe du france, but we missed them.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“good food, good value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My experience was a nice dinner; kind of romantic atmosphere, fast and kind service fast, good food (shoulder of lamb recommended). They offered us an "amuse-bouche" and glasses of sparkling wine. In the end they, again, offered morrocan patisserie. Overall, a good choice. Don't expect french cuisine standards, but enjoy the food. In my opinion, worthy. Costed something like 55-60 Euros for 2 persons.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Top Contributor
226 reviews 226 reviews
175 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
142 helpful votes 142 helpful votes
“Watch out for the fountain!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

Offering both Moroccan & Italian menus, this restaurant strives to be a high end option in Marrakech. And it offers a nice break from the tagine overload. It is quite good but still not ready for a Michelin star. We both had the filet which was perfectly cooked.

My title tips the hat to the waiter that stepped into the fountain as he went by with a dish for another table. To his credit, he did not spill it, despite his wet foot . . .

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.