We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious and Delightful!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 507 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $17 - $36
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
San Lorenzo de El Escorial, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Delicious and Delightful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We read the reviews and were not at all disappointed in this beautiful restaurant. We found the wait staff to be friendly and fantastically efficient. Had a great Moroccan meal for a reasonable price in a lovely atmosphere.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,616 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    1,058
    341
    133
    62
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The restaurant was wonderful! We booked a few months before our visit but popped in on the day to amend the time and they were more than accommodating. We had a table for three in the main space with the fountain which was breathtaking. We were greeted with glasses of Champagne and an amuse bouche of chicken parfait with lemon which was delicious. I had the king prawn with mushroom starter which was very good and my friend had the Salmon carpaccio which was easily the biggest plate of salmon I've ever seen - It could have fed two!

My fillet of beef was divine and my friends had lasagne and shoulder of lamb - all were excellent. We didn't have room for dessert but the staff brought us trays of moroccan pastries which were lovely. Delightful evening with impeccable service. Would struggle to find fault!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had a wonderful meal at pepe nero. Expensive compared to other marrakesh restaurants but well worth it. Staff were excellent and surroundings beautiful

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Tricky to find, as all places in the old town seem to be. Beautiful and impressive interior. Lovely food. It was our anniversary so the gave us a cake at the end, which was a nice touch. Entertainment provided by watching blokes accidently go in the ladies loo and seeing a women walk into a the shallow pool in the centre of the room!
Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“If you get Bored of Moroccan Food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

And you will, no doubt, there are only so many tagines one man can eat after all, then this is the place for you by some margin and deserves a visit.

The Italian menu (they also offer the trad Moroccan fare) contained some imaginative and very well executed treats, that were a real surprise. The location is so well sign-posted even the most directionless cretin could find it and once you are there, it is a delightful restaurant with a wonderful pool area and a real attention to detail that rewards the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.