We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
liverpool
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Stunning!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

The restaurant was wonderful! We booked a few months before our visit but popped in on the day to amend the time and they were more than accommodating. We had a table for three in the main space with the fountain which was breathtaking. We were greeted with glasses of Champagne and an amuse bouche of chicken parfait with lemon which was delicious. I had the king prawn with mushroom starter which was very good and my friend had the Salmon carpaccio which was easily the biggest plate of salmon I've ever seen - It could have fed two!

My fillet of beef was divine and my friends had lasagne and shoulder of lamb - all were excellent. We didn't have room for dessert but the staff brought us trays of moroccan pastries which were lovely. Delightful evening with impeccable service. Would struggle to find fault!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,154
    386
    144
    64
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Had a wonderful meal at pepe nero. Expensive compared to other marrakesh restaurants but well worth it. Staff were excellent and surroundings beautiful

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Tricky to find, as all places in the old town seem to be. Beautiful and impressive interior. Lovely food. It was our anniversary so the gave us a cake at the end, which was a nice touch. Entertainment provided by watching blokes accidently go in the ladies loo and seeing a women walk into a the shallow pool in the centre of the room!
Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“If you get Bored of Moroccan Food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

And you will, no doubt, there are only so many tagines one man can eat after all, then this is the place for you by some margin and deserves a visit.

The Italian menu (they also offer the trad Moroccan fare) contained some imaginative and very well executed treats, that were a real surprise. The location is so well sign-posted even the most directionless cretin could find it and once you are there, it is a delightful restaurant with a wonderful pool area and a real attention to detail that rewards the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on tripadvisor reviews. After days of eating into the food stalls, we were ready to try something a little more upscale. Restaurant was very easy to find, there are many signs to navigate with from the center of the stalls. We walked in and were greeted with prosecco, which was very delightful. Service was very attentive, however staff were periodically running around frantically and a little anxiety riddled. You can tell they really try though and it shows. The food was delicious! The Risotto was excellent. Highly recommend this place, you won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.