We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 586 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $13 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, Vegetarian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Tricky to find, as all places in the old town seem to be. Beautiful and impressive interior. Lovely food. It was our anniversary so the gave us a cake at the end, which was a nice touch. Entertainment provided by watching blokes accidently go in the ladies loo and seeing a women walk into a the shallow pool in the centre of the room!
Highly recommended.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,456
    520
    181
    80
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“If you get Bored of Moroccan Food...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

And you will, no doubt, there are only so many tagines one man can eat after all, then this is the place for you by some margin and deserves a visit.

The Italian menu (they also offer the trad Moroccan fare) contained some imaginative and very well executed treats, that were a real surprise. The location is so well sign-posted even the most directionless cretin could find it and once you are there, it is a delightful restaurant with a wonderful pool area and a real attention to detail that rewards the trip.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on tripadvisor reviews. After days of eating into the food stalls, we were ready to try something a little more upscale. Restaurant was very easy to find, there are many signs to navigate with from the center of the stalls. We walked in and were greeted with prosecco, which was very delightful. Service was very attentive, however staff were periodically running around frantically and a little anxiety riddled. You can tell they really try though and it shows. The food was delicious! The Risotto was excellent. Highly recommend this place, you won't regret it!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great birthday meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We chose this restaurant based on the reviews on trip advisor and we were not disappointed! As a lot of he reviews state it is quite difficult to find and we definitely wouldnt stumble across it so follow the restaurants directions from their website. The free glass of pro secco on arrival is a nice touch and there was a great choice on the menu of both Moroccan and Italian and you could mix and match. The wine choice was also very good and if you compared the cost to an average meal in London it was very good value. We were given a great table in the middle by the fountain which added to the atmosphere. The service was also perfect and we didn't feel rushed at all. It was our favourite meal of the holiday!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good place, good food, good service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

Very good restaurant, excellent service. We were picked up at the main square so we did not get lost, and we were greeted with a glass of prosecco. Our table was in the beautiful courtyard, lovely atmosphere. Food was great, my husband said it was the best lamb he had in Morocco.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.