We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch of class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 550 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A touch of class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Looking for an evening restaurant that's offer finer dining, well Pepe Nero is the one to visit. Easy to find within the medina as well signposted, your have a lovely time here. Serves both Italian and Morrocan food. It's popular, so you'll need to book.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,876 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,221
    415
    146
    68
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best restaurant in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

It was a little difficult to find - looked like you were following signs to head down a dark alley! But once you did it was massively worth it. The staff were the friendliest people we came across, and the food was wonderful - especially the sea bass. They gave a free glass of champers too! Lovely place, couldn't recommend it more.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A very welcome change from Tangines. Value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

After several nights in Marrakech we gave up on original Moroccan food and found Pepe Nero via trip advisor. Wow!

The service was impeccable and the food very good. You do not feel like you are a tourist being milked for all you have. The decor is a bit kitch but the total experience is one that will make your night in Marrakech.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cameron, Montana
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“One of our best dinners in Morocco.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Excellent dinner and service! We had a wonderful evening here. The service was very friendly and our server was knowledgeable about the menu. We all ordered off the Italian menu because it looked so good. We loved the entire meal and the desserts were outstanding. The chef came out and talked to us. He is half Italian and half Moroccan and studied Italian cooking in Italy. It really was outstanding. Would definitely go back. The atmosphere is also wonderful with the pool, flowers and nice music.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The homemade pasta was out of this world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our dinner. Very good welcome with a cup of champagne and we got very nice table in the courtyard with the fountains filled of roses, personalized attention. At the beginning, the restaurant was somewhat empty, but it filled up pretty soon and I can see why. We appreciated the gorgeous ambiance, but even more so the food, in particular the homemade pasta which was out of this world. Difficult to say what we liked more: ravioli with guinea fawl or fantastic green tagliatelle with 4 cheeses. The Moroccan red wine we were suggested was great too and the desserts were simply divine. A real gem!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.