We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food and great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 577 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $15 - $32
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Delicious food and great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Had a fantastic meal here, the staff are great and the little extras make the experience - free glass of champagne on arrival, chefs tasting dish and free cake for the birthday boy. The food was absolutely delicious. Book a table in the courtyard

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,979 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,287
    439
    155
    70
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
somewhere near Wales.
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, stunning setting.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We visited Pepe Nero on the last evening of our stay in Marrakech. We were a party of 10 and were seated in the courtyard area. From start to finish the servce was excellent - attentive, not intrusive. We ordered a variety of dishes from both the Italian and Moroccan menu. All arrived beautifully cooked and timely. My dish of slow roasted lamb with aubergine was full of flavour and nicely presented. The beef fillets were huge and all cooked as requested. The atmosphere was relaxing in the most beautiful riad setting. The restaurant is relatively easy to find (given the mazelike medina of Marrakech). The menu could be considered a little pricey for Marrakech, but overall we felt that at about 40 euro on average per person, with most having 3 courses, along with 3 bottles of wine between us, for the experience it was well worth it.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“One of the best restaurants!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Was our second time at this restaurant after more than one year and our dinner has been even more exquisite than the first time. The service was perfect and the food the culinary highlight of our trip. The tuna carpaccio that we had as starter, really delicious and the guinea fowl ravioli just fantastic! I confirm what I wrote that Pepe Nero is one of the best restaurants we have been to

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Good, rather than average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I rated this 3 stars, although it was better than average, though not as good as 4 stars.
The place is beautiful, especially in the courtyard.
Service was very good to start off, but tended to dwindle, as more tables were seated, despite waiters standing talking to each other.
Food was generally good, although the starters tended to be better than the main courses. Desserts were expensive.
The food was generally quite expensive, with starters and desserts at 90 dirhams.
The restaurant is hard to find, and there are several young men who offer to show you a short cut. However, we didn't take up their offer...

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“PepeNero did not totally convince me..”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Visited PepeNero after reading reviews on tripadvisor. It's well signed to get to from the square, about 10 minutes' walk. Beautiful location, in a quieter part of the medina and the setting is absolutely gorgoeus, although tables are too close to each other and The background music was a bit too loud and upbeat, which went against the setting. We booked the day before, and were one of the first customers in the restaurant. The food selection was good - You can choose between an italian and moroccan menu, and i had salmon fishcake and a fish soup for main. The salmon fishcake was fresh, very tasty and flavoursome, and a good size for a starter. The fish soup was also rich in taste however it left a little to be desired - as a main, it was a very small portion and there was only white fish in the spicy tomato broth. My partner had tuna carpaccio, which was divine and a scallop risotto - he was presented with a prawn risotto cause they didn't have scallops but it was good, albeit again, a little on the small side. We ended the meal with a chocolate mousse which we shared, creamy and rich and ended the dinner perfectly, although we waited over an hour for service between our mains and the dessert. Overall the meal was pleasant, service was quite slow (waiters were running around like mad, but they were very short on staff) but makes a refreshing change from eating in the more touristy places off the square. It is a little bit on the expensive side, the bill came to around £70 and we did not have any wine.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.