We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stick to the Italian Menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 556 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $15 - $33
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Stick to the Italian Menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Beautiful setting - request a table in the courtyard
Quite good value for the ambience and level of service.
Those who had the Italian menu found the dishes a lot tastier, unfortunately the Morrocan menu was a little bland.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,896 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,233
    422
    147
    68
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Beauty of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

The most fantastic meal and setting of our holiday. Amazing staff, really tasty food and value for money. If only the rest of the city was like this !!!!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wow , what a wonderful meal.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

After reading the other reviews on Pepe Nero's we decided we wanted to try it for ourselves. So glad we did. The food was exceptional as was our service. The restaurant is beautiful as well. If you are in Marrakech I highly recommend stopping in for lunch or supper , I can't imagine you will be disappointed.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great start to my Marrakesh Trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I was only in marrakesh for 3 nights so planned to go here for dinner on the day I jump off the plane. I made a reservation for 9pm. but thanks to those lovely people at Ryan Air (the '"on-time'" Airline), my flight was delayed by over 2 hours lol, so we missed our reservation. the waiters at the place kept going on about reservation, one said theres no tables and you have to wait. other man came and said, come in, don't need reservation lol. very good food overall. we ordered a chicken tagine, i took the roasted shoulder of lamb. total bill cost 350 dirhams (£26)including bottle of water. they did throw in extras like breads, a soup in a cup as starter, and lots of sweets at the end at no extra charge :) excellent service, unlimited bread lol and we never had to fill our own glasses with water. they offer to call taxis for customers but we didnt bother as its only 10-15 min walk to our hotel.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MoakesieMoo
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Tranquil surroundings, perfect hideaway restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

This restaurant was so elegant, loved the surroundings and the service was great. It was hard to find, luckily they have put up signs to direct you from the big square which without there is no way we would of found it! Food was great, I had moroccan salad followed by shoulder of lamb which was great, friend had tagging which was missing flavour but she said it was nice. Again service great and quick. Very attentive waiters, we had a lovely time here.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.