We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful evening!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 699 Restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $14 - $29
Cuisines: Italian, Moroccan, Mediterranean, European, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Tannaught,Morocco
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful evening!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Since opening we have become regular customers of Pepe Nero where we had dinner several times, and we have always been extremely pleased with both the level of its excellent cuisine and the quality of the service, professional and friendly and with the prices very fair. Last week on the occasion of the celebration of a friend's birthday , they have outdone themselves .... The mechoiu lamb ... to die for ... To finish a delicious birthday cake complimentary offered by the Chef! A wonderful evening!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CHORS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,735 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Leeds
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A Victim of it's own Success”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

My wife and I saved this restaurant for our last night in Marrakech. We made a reservation the day before after finding the Pepe Nero by following their white on black restaurant signs from Jemaa el Fna. Arrived at 7.30pm and our initial impresssions were in line with the previous favourable Trip Advisor reviews. A beautiful amazing restaurant with wall to wall mosaic and a fountain with rose petals in the middle. Declining a starter, we were given a complimentary drink and entree as I ordered the fillet of beef (160 Dhr) with my wife, the chicken tortellini (130 Dhr). These main meals arrived at 8pm and were superb. The attentive waiter ensured our glasses were continually topped up. This was proving to be the perfect end to our holiday.
BUT THEN after we'd eaten, it all changed. The restaurant filled up with other diners and we wondered if those diners shown into the alcoves at the side of the restaurant were Pepe Nero hotel guests. It was clear that the few waiters on duty that night were now rushed off their feet. As a consequence, we were IGNORED. With empty plates and drink glasses in front of us, 30 minutes and more passed by without a glance from our previously attentive waiter. We decided now to decline a desert and ask for the bill. The waiter did not offer to tempt us with either the desert menu or further drinks. Expecting to receive the bill, two side plates were placed in front us without a word said. A further 10 minutes passed and a plate of complimentary sweet pastry saviories arrived. Nice touch but not expected and we'd had no drink to go with them. The bill eventually arrived and we left the restaurant feeling deflated and disappointed, wondering why it had gone all so wrong for us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ThePBTrainerLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“They have wine.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Marrakesh can be rather exhausting, especially in the Medina. This is a nice treat for the weary trekker. Extremely good service, liquor, beer, wine, English spoken, beatiful surroundings and a full menu without couscous or tagine. Actually, the very small Moroccan menu includes a few, as well as the divine pigeon pastilla, a royal dish of Morocco done here beautifully. If you came to Marrakesh and only ate here, you would be making a big mistake. However, it is a wonderful break.

    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank robsterino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A tricky one”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The food was excellent. We both chose from the Moroccan menu & had soup starter followed by the slow cooked lamb shoulder. Both tasted fantastic & were presented perfectly. The complimentary glass of prosecco, duck & potato appetizer, & sweet biscuits with our coffees, were all nice touches. All served by attentive waiting staff. The restaurant itself is set in a beautiful riad courtyard.
If this restaurant was in Paris or London I would be giving it a 5 rating, what makes it a tricky review for me is that I felt the restaurant lacked a Moroccan vibrancy. It seemed to be trying to create a Bogart/Casablanca atmosphere, right down to the 40's & 50's background music. There were no locals eating on the evening we were there, possibly deterred by the prices. Our meal, which also included one glass of beer & a bottle of water, came to 60 Euros.
As mentioned by previous reviewers Pepe Nero is tucked away down the back streets. That said, it is well signposted from Djemaa el-Fna once you find Rue des Banques. Although, I must admit we did feel a little intimidated walking through the narrow alleys in the dark after our meal.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CCJ1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stavanger, Norway
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice place - good service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The food tasted good and we enjoyed the pleasant service. A place to recommend. The prices was average and we experience value for money

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Smisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing