We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

We visited this after reading the reviews. First the bad bit, as reported it is difficult to find and involves going through some streets you probably wouldn't visit! Having said this taxi's do not cost much so this is probably a better option. A big burly guy met us at teh little alley and escorted us to the restaurant. The place itself if stunning inside and the food and service was as good as any top class restuarant. We even received a free glass of prosecco with our meal. Best restaurant we visited in Marrakech.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,771 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,153
    386
    144
    64
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dsm
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Beautiful restaurant...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

We didnt book bt luckily got the table though we were quite early before the opening hrs but the staff happily let us in. Good ambience n very clean environment. As we r pure veg, we had ordered pasta n was really tasty...got a glass of champagne on offer with morrocan sweet dishes...thnx. good service n quick too - well done n very friendly approach by management staff. Though expensive bt worth it.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Decided we needed a break from tajines on our 6th day in Morocco, went on tripadvisor and found this place. This place is quite easy to get to if you follow the sign to the left of Cafe de France, even if it seems to lead you down a dodgy alley. We went on a Monday for lunch, and found out that the restaurant do not serve on Mondays, but the lovely people at the riad where the restaurant's located served us orange juice and told us to just enjoy the place for awhile. We decided to try out luck again the next day and this time we managed to dine at the restaurant! I ordered the seafood tagliatelle and it was delicious. It was 130 dirhams, drinks was 20 dh for a coke, which is pricey by moroccan standards but definitely worth it for the food and the atmosphere of the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Good to avoid Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Found this restaurant trough Tripadvisor and we decided to try it. The italian food menu was excellent because i ont like italian food but i love the food fom this restaurant. My partner had the chicken Tajine and it was okay because we dont really like Tajin, if you just want to try Tajine, go to jamaa el fna where you can try Tajine with less pice. The ambiance is superb,, really good to have a romntic dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Good food, but let down by slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The food was actually quite good. We had the Harira Soup for first with bread. The soup was very large (good!) but a little watery for my taste (but I guess it is supposed to be like that). The bread was freshly made there and tasted very good. For mains we had the courgette ravioli which was made with fresh homemade pasta and a tajine. The pasta was very good but the tajine was average. Probably wouldn't have ordered the tajine with hindsight but as this was our first night in Morocco, we didn't know better...

Be aware that they open for food at 7.30pm which is a bit unusual...

The menu was only in French, so we had to get them to translate each dish line by line... it's not hugely difficult for them to print English ones (its already translated on their website!)

The cost is expensive in Moroccan terms, but reasonably priced for us as we're used to paying London restaurant prices.

So why am I giving this a 3* review? Well, once we had finished our food and we wanted the bill so we could leave quickly (as we had to leave our Riad at 7am the following morning for an excursion), they took 30-40 mins to bring our bill. We had to ask for it 5 times. If it weren't for this I'd be giving 4*.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.