We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely recommended.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 533 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely recommended.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Decided we needed a break from tajines on our 6th day in Morocco, went on tripadvisor and found this place. This place is quite easy to get to if you follow the sign to the left of Cafe de France, even if it seems to lead you down a dodgy alley. We went on a Monday for lunch, and found out that the restaurant do not serve on Mondays, but the lovely people at the riad where the restaurant's located served us orange juice and told us to just enjoy the place for awhile. We decided to try out luck again the next day and this time we managed to dine at the restaurant! I ordered the seafood tagliatelle and it was delicious. It was 130 dirhams, drinks was 20 dh for a coke, which is pricey by moroccan standards but definitely worth it for the food and the atmosphere of the place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,784 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,163
    389
    144
    64
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good to avoid Marrakech”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

Found this restaurant trough Tripadvisor and we decided to try it. The italian food menu was excellent because i ont like italian food but i love the food fom this restaurant. My partner had the chicken Tajine and it was okay because we dont really like Tajin, if you just want to try Tajine, go to jamaa el fna where you can try Tajine with less pice. The ambiance is superb,, really good to have a romntic dinner.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, but let down by slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The food was actually quite good. We had the Harira Soup for first with bread. The soup was very large (good!) but a little watery for my taste (but I guess it is supposed to be like that). The bread was freshly made there and tasted very good. For mains we had the courgette ravioli which was made with fresh homemade pasta and a tajine. The pasta was very good but the tajine was average. Probably wouldn't have ordered the tajine with hindsight but as this was our first night in Morocco, we didn't know better...

Be aware that they open for food at 7.30pm which is a bit unusual...

The menu was only in French, so we had to get them to translate each dish line by line... it's not hugely difficult for them to print English ones (its already translated on their website!)

The cost is expensive in Moroccan terms, but reasonably priced for us as we're used to paying London restaurant prices.

So why am I giving this a 3* review? Well, once we had finished our food and we wanted the bill so we could leave quickly (as we had to leave our Riad at 7am the following morning for an excursion), they took 30-40 mins to bring our bill. We had to ask for it 5 times. If it weren't for this I'd be giving 4*.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A must do in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

Excellent excellent experience. Felt like we was royalty from start to finish. I guess prices are on the high side compared to other places but this is a really special experience. The restaurant looks like it might have been hard to find in time gone by the reviews left by others but it now has signs pointing the way. Very helpful. We had no problem at all finding it. Every one and everything was perfect.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KandyKorn143
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Amazing service. Incredible food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

This place is a bit hard to find, but worth it. Don;t be fooled by the kids who wait at the top of the street to "guide" you down the ally that can only lead to Pepe Nero. They will want money for following you and then claim that they showed you the way.
After you lose the kids, you enter a beautiful calm oasis of warm and friendly service and beautiful food. We opted for the Italian menu after having a lot of tagines over the previous days. The carpaccio was to die for, both salmon and beef and the steak was delicious. The gave us a GIANT cake to help us celebrate our anniversary. Now, this is not "authentic" in it's atmosphere or approach, but after feeling a bit like a prodded and poked camel for a few days it was nice to relax and be looked after.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.