We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enchanting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pepe Nero

Pepe Nero
17, derb Cherkaoui, | Rue Douar Graoua, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
+212 5243-89067
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 529 restaurants in Marrakech
Price range: $16 - $35
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean, Moroccan, Vegetarian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: PEPE NERO Restaurant Marrakech : A place of flavours on motion where the senses are constantly coddled Khalid and his team represent the same soul of a single ingredient: Excellence. This where I devote myself body and soul to my passion: cooking We strive to always be precise in our gestures, attentive to the oven, skilled with knives, a sharpened sense of smell, an eye to the market, intransigent with the quality of ingredients and demanding in the kitchen.The battle I fight every day with my team is the oldest in the world:That between the hand and fire.We created the sort of restaurant we would like to find ourselves..Pepe Nero was born to engage and satisfy our passion : Taste, without any constraints or formalisms, with simplicity.But not only. We believe that there has been a generational change in customers who are rather apprehensive of locations that are over formal.With this new role we want to clear away taboos and bring haute cuisine into step with the times.
leicestershire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“enchanting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

What a great restaurant. Visted on the 30.11.12 and had a great meal. Finding the restaurant was abit of a chore. The taxi driver dropped us off a good 5 min walk from the restaurant and due to the lack of signage we begrudgingly had to follow the boys (that the taxi driver had hailed) and pay them for their help. Once inside the maitre d gave us a warm welcome and led us too our table. Although the food is itailian everything else about pepe nero is morrocan. The staff were warm and attentive and we were offered a free presecco and amuse bouche. Lovely filet steak and shoulder of lamb followed by the lemon cheese cake. Once we have finished and were ready to leave, Abdil dressed in traditional dress and a fez lead us back to the main square and safely into a taxi. Would def go back but must book as very busy

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    1,154
    386
    144
    64
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Night Out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

I had read the reivews on this so emailed them to book a meal on my friends birthday, it was a beautiful location, the staff really friendly and the food was great. As I had mentioned it was her birthday they had arranged a birthday cake which was gourgeous. The night was brilliant and very reasonable priced. If I go back to Marrakech, then I would deffinately go back.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We had dinner here and the service and food was fantastic. It was a nice change of food from local food. Beautiful building and nicely decorated.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

What a find!! During our stay in Marrakech we ate twice at Pepe Nero as it was so good. Both times we ate different dishes from the menu and everything was delicious. The Moroccan food was light and delicate, and the desserts from the Italian side were so good the plates were virtually licked clean...!!
On arrival we were given a glass of cava as we choose our food, which was a really relaxing way to start the evening.
The staff were incredibly friendly and the service was great. Also the atmosphere with the beautiful tiles and waterfalls filled with flowers, make for a really romantic evening. Highly recommend!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Simply the best!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

Simply the best restaurant in Marrakech. The food is outstanding, the setting great and the service fantastic. My girlfriend and I went there on the 29th November. It is signposted from the main square so easy to find, or if you phone they will send someone to collect you and take you to the restaurant.

Not expensive either for this level of food. Not only did they give us a free starter of duck but they also offered us a free glass of champagne! Really nice atmosphere, the staff were perfect. Not in your face but as soon as you wanted anything they were all over it. We saw them taking photos for other diners.

Great value, fantastic food, brilliant service and a lovely atmosphere!

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pepe Nero also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region

Been to Pepe Nero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pepe Nero, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.