We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great, great, great riad!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jakoura

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Riad Jakoura to your Saves list
Riad Jakoura
No 130 Derb Zemmouri Rue Elgza | Bab Doukalla Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #496 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Zadar, Croatia
1 review
“great, great, great riad!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

In all the hustle and bustle of Marrakech, Riad Jakoura was a little peace of heaven. Situated 3 minutes from the entrance to the souks, and 15-20 minutes from Jemaa el Fna by easy walk.

The owner is VERY kind and helpful. Riad is beautifully decorated and very clean. At the top is cute terrace, in which we would chill in the evening after exhausting shopping day. Breakfast was delicious; crepes, bread, two sorts of jam, butter, coffee, milk and of course mint tea.

If you need anything, taxi, tour, or just an advice, the owner will take care of everything. We felt more than welcomed, thank you Riad Jakoura!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    11
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
16
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
birmingham
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

Location- 15 min walk from square, 2 mins from coach depot, 2 mins from bus stops, shops and dry cleaners near by so excellent

Hotel- clean, towels and toiletries provided, quiet and peaceful

Staff- very polite, owner is very very helpful, he showed us round, directed us watched to ensure we were heading in the right direction when we weren't he followed us on his bike and directed us
The maid was honest and helpful she made us omelettes fresh chapatti and we were served fresh filter coffee and Arabic tea every morning, orange juice and bread and preserve was available too.
I left items in my room and the maid left them for me to one side even though she did not know I would return to collect them. Without me asking she told me I had left my things.
I would recommend this to anyone and definitely stay here again.
:-)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Riad Jakoura was my little oasis in Marrakech... it's peace and tranquility is a god send after a Marrakech's mayhem. But what makes this place surpass other places I stayed at in Morocco, was it's kind and helpful manager Mohammed... what an absolute gem of a man. He deserves all the patronage he gets because of his integrity and the service he provides.

The place is a amazing value for money...... A request... from fellow travellers, please stop breaking the holder for the shower head in the single room... my only gripe - and it's not even with the Rhiad.

I did get lost a couple of times trying to get there.... but if you don't get lost in Marrakech... your internal compass must be brilliant. Once you get your bearing it's easy to find... going the long way helps... because there is not shortcut in Marrakech.

Enjoy!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Our stay was extraordinary! The staff/owners were fantastic to say the least. The location of the riad provided proximity to the souks, the market and the hustle that is the definition of Morocco. The mint tea was unreal! The design was uniquely Moroccan, the Terrace gorgeous, and the breakfast, tasty. Rooms were clean, and AC refreshing.

I would recommend this Riad to anyone wishing to enjoy there stay in Marrakech!

I would just recommend that the airport/bus station pickup is utilized as the riad can be hard to find in the Medina, as many of the streets are either unlabelled or in Arabic. The locals direction can cost as much as the pickup.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Moscow City, Russia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

Riad Jakoura was Very nice place to stay. Very pleasant and nice owner - no problems with checking-in and checking-out. Rooms are clean, breakfast in the morning was very tasty! Located 10 min walking from central square Jamaa el-Fna

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We had an amazing week at the raid. Mohammed the owner was extremely helpful along with his Scottish wife!!
We were blessed to have a traditional meal with the couple in the courtyard.
The location is 25 minutes away from the main le place and the souks, but we were given a handy map which was ok.
Rooms very clean. Hot water came eventually.
Great value and put us in a great mood to explore the city, and yes buy a carpet!!!
Tip: Pre book a taxi from the airport as to find the riad first time is extremely difficult
Try some of the roadside cafes by the riad. If you speak French you will eat like a king!!!

Room Tip: Do not take a room on the ground floor. Too much noise and smoke................ The terrace is gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately, google maps doesn't give an accurate walking route for Riad Jakoura and after pacing up and down Rue El Gza, we were extremely relieved to find the door to the riad after working out the directions provided in the email. The riad is lovely and cosy and has got a nice terrace for guests to enjoy. At 21euros, the price is very reasonable too, considering how we only booked it the night before! The owner let us choose between our own double and a triple which was vacant for the night. We picked the triple room and so essentially, we got an upgrade, which was really nice. It's a pity we only stayed a night and left early in next morning. Wish we got the chance to try the breakfast after reading about its rave reviews though!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Jakoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jakoura

Address: No 130 Derb Zemmouri Rue Elgza | Bab Doukalla Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #496 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This riad welcomes you to marrakech , where we want you to have a good time and feel at home with us,and experience the true life of the medina ( old city) and marrakech.This riad is one of the oldest houses in Marrakesh,it was built in the 17th century,it has the original doors and the walls are 60cms thick, we have a lovely roof terrace where you can go to relax if the hustle and bustle becomes to much for you. we are 10/15 min walk to jemmna el fna (famous square) and other historic attractions ,we are also 5 min walk to the local bus station and coach station, also we have 2 supermarkets a 5 min walk away .The famous majorelle jardin is only 5/8 mins away from us too.Excursions can be arranged from the riad and car rental can also be arranged for you. So come and have a stress free holiday with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Jakoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jakoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.