We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Jakoura -- A real Marrakesh experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Jakoura

Save Saved
You added Riad Jakoura to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Jakoura
No 130 Derb Zemmouri Rue Elgza | Bab Doukalla Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #507 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Seattle
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Riad Jakoura -- A real Marrakesh experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Riad Jakoura was a real exciting find for us. It’s nestled into the historic district only a few minutes walk from the market but in a secluded off the main street location that affords privacy and a peaceful environment in which to enjoy the Riad and all of its personality and ambiance. Rooms are small but well done. A big hug and a warm welcome from the owner/operator Hamid sets the tone for your entire stay. He and his staff will attend to your every need – meals, sightseeing, transportation, day or overnight tours, shopping and much much more. The breakfasts are truly superb and the top level view deck is a real plus. For us, this is what the Marrakesh experience is all about.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    10
    3
    3
    0
See reviews for
2
15
9
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

We stayed for one week in december. Nice, clean room, with ac to warm it up during cold nights. Located in the medina, about 15 min walk to Jema El Fna, and 5 min to the central bus station. Great value for the money, continental breakfast, with coffee and ment tea included. Our host Mohamed was very helpful, and we wouldn't hesitate to stay at this riad again.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 3 nights and it was a good decision. The owner is great, friendly and helpful.

The rooms are a little small, but the beds were fine and I was comfortable at 6'2" in them! The Riad has a courtyard where the rooms face onto and a nice roof terrace to relax.

Breakfast was excellent and included in the room price.

It's location is ok, although tricky to find initially. If you take the number 19 bus from the airport and get dropped at the main bus station, you can ask for the Riad/road from there.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012 via mobile

Once we found the riad (down a side street next to a pharmacy), it was clean, friendly and convenient. Our host was very chilled out and helped us get our bearings and organise a trip to Essaouira. Our room was clean and functional and there is good wifi connection in the courtyard, although it was less reliable in our room. Breakfast is basic (bread, jam, coffee and tea) but we were able to ask for it to be taken early at short notice with no fuss. If you are looking for a good value, friendly and honest riad then this one is for you.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had an amazing time! was the first place we went to in Morocco and re visited at the end of our travels. Very kind, polite and helpful. Would recommend to anyone looking for cheap, clean accommodation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had a bad experience to arrive in this Riad because out taxi driver left us too much far but when we arrived we had just great time.

Thanks to Staff for great time and conversation about life and experiences on terrace.

Good location (10 mins to Jaama El-Fna Square), clean room.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Spacious and comfortable rooms, beautiful decor, and the most pleasant staff. The guys working were all very helpful and friendly. Hamid even taught me how to make Moroccan tea! Clean, comfortable and close to everything, I could not have hoped for a better experience. I feel as if I have a home in Marrakesh waiting for me whenever I go back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Jakoura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Jakoura

Address: No 130 Derb Zemmouri Rue Elgza | Bab Doukalla Marrakech, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #507 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This riad welcomes you to marrakech , where we want you to have a good time and feel at home with us,and experience the true life of the medina ( old city) and marrakech.This riad is one of the oldest houses in Marrakesh,it was built in the 17th century,it has the original doors and the walls are 60cms thick, we have a lovely roof terrace where you can go to relax if the hustle and bustle becomes to much for you. we are 10/15 min walk to jemmna el fna (famous square) and other historic attractions ,we are also 5 min walk to the local bus station and coach station, also we have 2 supermarkets a 5 min walk away .The famous majorelle jardin is only 5/8 mins away from us too.Excursions can be arranged from the riad and car rental can also be arranged for you. So come and have a stress free holiday with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Jakoura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Jakoura, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.