We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic Riad not 4 star” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Perle de Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad La Perle de Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Ihihane no6, Sidi Ben Slimane | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #601 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Swansea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Basic Riad not 4 star”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked this via hot wire website. It was described as a 4 star property by the Hotwire.com site which was very misleading. They give examples of the very good chain of hotels and boutique hotels. Because it is a hot deal the name will be revealed only after booking and hence it was our mistake that we booked this thinking it will be a 4 star hotel and ended up with a basic Riad.
We read trip advisor reviews which were 4 star quality and thought should be ok. But we were very disappointed. We were given the biggest room in this 5 room Riad on second floor, we did pay extra for the room. We were the only guests that day. Our daughter could not play on the floor as it was very dirty with lots of hair stuck to the carpets. Despite the heating the room was freezing. Next thing was no hot water. First day was Luke warm and then next morning no hot water. I spoke to the lady who runs this Riad, all she said was not hot water? Then after 2 hrs still no sign of hot water nor any alternate arrangements made for us. Although she knew we had a 11 month baby and it was a very cold day. Then after another hour we went and asked again then she said she has called someone to repair. We waited all day and by 4 we could no longer bear. We had wasted one full day on our 5 days trip just waiting for hot water in this so called 4 star property so booked into Adam Park Hotel and moved out of this horrible place. When we went to tell her we r leaving, she said there is hot water now which was still not there! Our holiday was a lot better after moving to the hotel.
Next was food. On day 1 lunch was cooked as we requested and I must admit it was good. Then next morning complimentary breakfast was very basic. We were served just 2 different breads one each, juice and coffee. I had to go and request for more bread.
The hotel description said complimentary toiletries, again that was some liquid soap in a dispenser.
Very few positives--location walkable distance from the square but not very close, one can easily get lost. The owner came across as very friendly but was not very helpful. The Riad taxi driver was very helpful, he showed us the way to medina but he could not speak English.
All in all it was just a basic B & B in Moroccan style decor and no way near 4 star and we must
say we were taken for a ride by the Hotwire website and our money wasted!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

65 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    26
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I stayed here for 9 nights and had an absolutely wonderful times. Nothing was too much trouble for the owner and we found breakfast to be all that we wanted (fresh bread and crepes and fruit on occasion). We ate in the Riad once and it was honestly the nicest food we had whilst in Marrakech.

On the subject of location which I know some others have mentioned - It is tricky to find but go to Marrakech and almost everything is tricky to find! Once you've done the walk once or twice you'll have no trouble finding your way back.

I think we were in the smallest room in the Riad and it is honestly very small with enough space to walk down the side of the bed to get in but the owner did offer to move us to a larger room when one became available. We turned down the offer as the room was all we required and we'd travelled fairly light.

Overall I couldn't have asked for a nicer, small, friendly riad to stay in on my first visit to Marrakech. Absolutely love.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

First up a sign outside the Riad would be good - there is not even a written or painted message - this does not help in relocating it after going out or to know you are at the right place in the first instance. Leaves you open to the 'boys' who want to help you find it and then expect exorbitant fees for the task - something most people are only to happy to offer travellers in their country for free! TIP: Learnt to ask a woman - she doesn't charge :)
Otherwise location was good just be aware it is Bab Tharzouk you need to say find it not Ben Slieman as the owner instructed/told me.

The riad is in dire need of some general TLC - whilst nothing was completely dreadful - doors in rooms were not aligned and hence very hard to open or close. Window shutters had a similar problem. Outside environ needed some care - small things can make all the difference to the appearance. Like pool should be clean even if not used. Shower leaked and not really great to use.
NOTE: Had to ask for Hot water as apparently they run on solar - when that doesn't work they need to switch it over to electric. So our first morning was with cold showers!
There are no toiletries supplied other than a bar of soap - not even a spare toilet roll :( - good thing we came prepared.
Breakfast was adequate - but not what I would call full ... no fruit or yoghurt only 1 muffin and 1 Moroccan pancake, no cheese or olives or savoury just strawberry & Apricot jam! We had to ask for fresh 'hot' tea as what was offered was undrinkable - even for Morocco.
Bedding was fine and linen ok.
Pick-up service was offered and accepted but I felt the charges (without notice) were somewhat excessive. The driver was really great, (only reason why we rate service 4) we really appreciated his care and attention and thanks again to him for that.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great place near to the central square. Clean, good breakfast and the owner is really focused in helping the guests. It's the most cost-benefit in Marroco that we found. it's not expensive, and has a good service. important: looking for some place in Marrakesh in a nightmare because the medina in confused and no one will know how to help you, so, ask for a map with the Riad Location before to go to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Located within the walled city, on the northern side. Its about a 15 minute walk to the main square, once you know the way!
The riad will arrange a taxi pickup from the airport for €40 (though when we left from another riad the charge was only €20). The pickup is handy because there is no car access to the riad - you'll have to walk the last five minutes, ending up down some narrow (two person wide) laneways that can appear dingy or medieval. The taxi driver will take you to the riad. If you decide to get to the riad by yourself, whatever you do, don't accept a local to guide you - they are not being friendly and will charge like a wounded bull.
Stayed 3 nights in their largest room (a family room), so that was more spacious than our companions who had a small room, which seemed to be what the other rooms were like. This is a small riad (maybe six rooms), run by the lady owner, who lives on site with her daughter (who we hardly saw). The bathroom is OK, clean, with an 'open' shower. Generally OK though one morning there was no hot water.
Breakfast is simple with freshly baked Moroccan bread (quite tasty), along continental lines.
One can sit in the courtyard, ground floor, or use a banana lounge on the upper level passage ways between the rooms.
Other guests were of mixed ages, from young to old (50+). The stairway to the rooms is narrow with tight corners. Travel light because you'll be carrying your own bag up and down the stairs!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hospitality 2nd to none in this small Riad; an oasis in the midst of medina madness. Great welcome. We stayed 5 nights and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was small but we were offered a larger room if we didn't mind the builders banging from the next door building. We opted for the smaller room with the call to prayer and the neighbours morning cockerel instead - but we had earplugs so slept through the lot. Late breakfast for us lazy bones was no problem and even in late January the sheltered roof was sunny for a lounge with a book or surfing the net on free wifi.

Room Tip: Our room was small but adequate - if the builders have finished maybe opt for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Perle de Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Perle de Marrakech

Address: Derb Ihihane no6, Sidi Ben Slimane | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #601 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Perle de Marrakech 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIAD LA PERLE DE MARRAKECH THE PEARL OF MARRAKECH RIAD BIENVENUE WELCOME Au cœur du centre historique et culturel de Marrakech (Mohamed Ben Slimane el-Jazouli était un grand mystique du XIV ème siècle et aujourd'hui un des sept saints patrons enterrés à Marrakech. Il a donné son nom à la fontaine ainsi qu'au quartier où elle est située.) à 10 minutes de la place Jemaâ-el-Fna, vous découvrirez le charme du Riad la perle de marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Agoda, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad La Perle de Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Perle de Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.