We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Perle de Marrakech

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Perle de Marrakech to your Saves list
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Ihihane no6, Sidi Ben Slimane | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #688 of 1,125 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Sao Paulo
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great place near to the central square. Clean, good breakfast and the owner is really focused in helping the guests. It's the most cost-benefit in Marroco that we found. it's not expensive, and has a good service. important: looking for some place in Marrakesh in a nightmare because the medina in confused and no one will know how to help you, so, ask for a map with the Riad Location before to go to Marrakesh.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    26
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
40
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Located within the walled city, on the northern side. Its about a 15 minute walk to the main square, once you know the way!
The riad will arrange a taxi pickup from the airport for €40 (though when we left from another riad the charge was only €20). The pickup is handy because there is no car access to the riad - you'll have to walk the last five minutes, ending up down some narrow (two person wide) laneways that can appear dingy or medieval. The taxi driver will take you to the riad. If you decide to get to the riad by yourself, whatever you do, don't accept a local to guide you - they are not being friendly and will charge like a wounded bull.
Stayed 3 nights in their largest room (a family room), so that was more spacious than our companions who had a small room, which seemed to be what the other rooms were like. This is a small riad (maybe six rooms), run by the lady owner, who lives on site with her daughter (who we hardly saw). The bathroom is OK, clean, with an 'open' shower. Generally OK though one morning there was no hot water.
Breakfast is simple with freshly baked Moroccan bread (quite tasty), along continental lines.
One can sit in the courtyard, ground floor, or use a banana lounge on the upper level passage ways between the rooms.
Other guests were of mixed ages, from young to old (50+). The stairway to the rooms is narrow with tight corners. Travel light because you'll be carrying your own bag up and down the stairs!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hospitality 2nd to none in this small Riad; an oasis in the midst of medina madness. Great welcome. We stayed 5 nights and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was small but we were offered a larger room if we didn't mind the builders banging from the next door building. We opted for the smaller room with the call to prayer and the neighbours morning cockerel instead - but we had earplugs so slept through the lot. Late breakfast for us lazy bones was no problem and even in late January the sheltered roof was sunny for a lounge with a book or surfing the net on free wifi.

Room Tip: Our room was small but adequate - if the builders have finished maybe opt for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

An absolutely brilliant budget hotel!

We decided to do a last minute city break to Marrakech in December for a friends birthday and chanced upon Riad La Perle de Marrakech. The fact that it was a little tricky to find at first added to the excitement of being in Marrakech and exploring the many roads and pathes of the old town.

Soulhia is an absolute gem, she was such a brilliant hostess, nothing was too much for her or the housekeeper and we truly felt as though we were at a home from home. Breakfast was lovely, our rooms were made up everyday and we had as much mint tea as we could handle.

The city itself is incredible, no doubt it is not for the faint hearted and a little french will go a long way but I would certainly recommend the place to anyone who loves culture and exploring new places.

Room Tip: The three bed is a little pricier but it's a great size, alternitavely do for the red room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is ok for the price you are paying. The double room was basic, rather small, but clean.
What we didn't liked was the area. It was 20 minutes away from the tourist part of the Medina.
At night it was quite scary and pretty hard to find.
The hostess was really nice and served a good homemade breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Riad La Perle de Marrakech is an excellent place to stay when visiting Marrakech. It is situated in the medina, and gives a flavor of what it is like to live there. Most of the interesting places in Marrakech can be visited on foot from the rad, but be aware of the hectic traffic! However, very conveniently, there is a taxi stop (Bab Taghzoute) 150 meters from the riad. The owner of the riad is very helpful: on the day we left we had to get up at 5AM and not only had she organized a taxi to take us to the airport, she had also gotten up to provide us with coffee and a quick breakfast! That is what we call service!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

La Perle de Marrakesh is a real safe heaven in this frenetic city. Wonderfully decorated, super confortable, it captures beautifully the spirit of Morrocco, but has all the commodities of a Hotel, providing an interesting and peacefull environment. Perfect to relax after an intense day in the Medina. The best of all is still its owner. Souila is the friendliest person, helpful (which you'll certainly appreciate in Marrakesh), very easy to get along and reliable. With the precious assistance of Fatima, they honestly confect the best dishes we ate in our whole stay in Morrocco! Souila had a big role in our joyful vacations. Ruben and Fien

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Riad La Perle de Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Perle de Marrakech

Address: Derb Ihihane no6, Sidi Ben Slimane | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #688 of 1,125 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Perle de Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIAD LA PERLE DE MARRAKECH THE PEARL OF MARRAKECH RIAD BIENVENUE WELCOME Au cœur du centre historique et culturel de Marrakech (Mohamed Ben Slimane el-Jazouli était un grand mystique du XIV ème siècle et aujourd'hui un des sept saints patrons enterrés à Marrakech. Il a donné son nom à la fontaine ainsi qu'au quartier où elle est située.) à 10 minutes de la place Jemaâ-el-Fna, vous découvrirez le charme du Riad la perle de marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad La Perle de Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Perle de Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.