We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No pearl but OK” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Perle de Marrakech

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Riad La Perle de Marrakech to your Saves list
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Ihihane no6, Sidi Ben Slimane | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #680 of 1,136 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“No pearl but OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Located within the walled city, on the northern side. Its about a 15 minute walk to the main square, once you know the way!
The riad will arrange a taxi pickup from the airport for €40 (though when we left from another riad the charge was only €20). The pickup is handy because there is no car access to the riad - you'll have to walk the last five minutes, ending up down some narrow (two person wide) laneways that can appear dingy or medieval. The taxi driver will take you to the riad. If you decide to get to the riad by yourself, whatever you do, don't accept a local to guide you - they are not being friendly and will charge like a wounded bull.
Stayed 3 nights in their largest room (a family room), so that was more spacious than our companions who had a small room, which seemed to be what the other rooms were like. This is a small riad (maybe six rooms), run by the lady owner, who lives on site with her daughter (who we hardly saw). The bathroom is OK, clean, with an 'open' shower. Generally OK though one morning there was no hot water.
Breakfast is simple with freshly baked Moroccan bread (quite tasty), along continental lines.
One can sit in the courtyard, ground floor, or use a banana lounge on the upper level passage ways between the rooms.
Other guests were of mixed ages, from young to old (50+). The stairway to the rooms is narrow with tight corners. Travel light because you'll be carrying your own bag up and down the stairs!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    27
    6
    5
    7
See reviews for
13
41
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montgomery
Level Contributor
65 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2012

Hospitality 2nd to none in this small Riad; an oasis in the midst of medina madness. Great welcome. We stayed 5 nights and nothing was too much trouble. Our room was small but we were offered a larger room if we didn't mind the builders banging from the next door building. We opted for the smaller room with the call to prayer and the neighbours morning cockerel instead - but we had earplugs so slept through the lot. Late breakfast for us lazy bones was no problem and even in late January the sheltered roof was sunny for a lounge with a book or surfing the net on free wifi.

Room Tip: Our room was small but adequate - if the builders have finished maybe opt for a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

An absolutely brilliant budget hotel!

We decided to do a last minute city break to Marrakech in December for a friends birthday and chanced upon Riad La Perle de Marrakech. The fact that it was a little tricky to find at first added to the excitement of being in Marrakech and exploring the many roads and pathes of the old town.

Soulhia is an absolute gem, she was such a brilliant hostess, nothing was too much for her or the housekeeper and we truly felt as though we were at a home from home. Breakfast was lovely, our rooms were made up everyday and we had as much mint tea as we could handle.

The city itself is incredible, no doubt it is not for the faint hearted and a little french will go a long way but I would certainly recommend the place to anyone who loves culture and exploring new places.

Room Tip: The three bed is a little pricier but it's a great size, alternitavely do for the red room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BCN
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is ok for the price you are paying. The double room was basic, rather small, but clean.
What we didn't liked was the area. It was 20 minutes away from the tourist part of the Medina.
At night it was quite scary and pretty hard to find.
The hostess was really nice and served a good homemade breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Riad La Perle de Marrakech is an excellent place to stay when visiting Marrakech. It is situated in the medina, and gives a flavor of what it is like to live there. Most of the interesting places in Marrakech can be visited on foot from the rad, but be aware of the hectic traffic! However, very conveniently, there is a taxi stop (Bab Taghzoute) 150 meters from the riad. The owner of the riad is very helpful: on the day we left we had to get up at 5AM and not only had she organized a taxi to take us to the airport, she had also gotten up to provide us with coffee and a quick breakfast! That is what we call service!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

La Perle de Marrakesh is a real safe heaven in this frenetic city. Wonderfully decorated, super confortable, it captures beautifully the spirit of Morrocco, but has all the commodities of a Hotel, providing an interesting and peacefull environment. Perfect to relax after an intense day in the Medina. The best of all is still its owner. Souila is the friendliest person, helpful (which you'll certainly appreciate in Marrakesh), very easy to get along and reliable. With the precious assistance of Fatima, they honestly confect the best dishes we ate in our whole stay in Morrocco! Souila had a big role in our joyful vacations. Ruben and Fien

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My two girlfriends and I stayed here for a week at the end of August. It took about 20 hot, sweaty minutes to walk to the main square but although at times this was inconvenient, we felt we got to see the 'real Marrakech' on the walk. Besides, you can always take a taxi.

We had a triple ensuite room which was beautiful and clean with much-needed air con and plenty of hot water. Our beds were made every day and clean towels every other day. The plunge pool was brilliant in the scorching heat.
The owners of the riad were very friendly though we feel we would have struggled a little if I hadn't been able to speak French. However, the lady made sure we had everything we wanted and warned us of the dangers of being 3 young women in this city, as well as giving us a map, directions, and info on places to visit.
Breakfast was adequate- coffee, mint tea or orange juice, and crepes with jam and traditional bread, but we would have liked some fruit too. There was the option to eat in the riad for dinner but we were slightly disappointed so I wouldn't recommend this- you can find much cheaper, tastier food locally or in the square.

All in all, a lovely place to stay, I would thoroughly recommend it, and brilliant value for the price!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.6 mi away
La Maison Arabe
La Maison Arabe
#6 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 1,334 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#4 of 481 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 669 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Amssaffah
Riad Amssaffah
#397 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
Hotel Marrakech le Tichka
#350 of 481 in Marrakech
3.5 of 5 stars 510 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Mariana
Riad Mariana
#118 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
0.9 mi away
L'Heure d'Ete
L'Heure d'Ete
#125 of 481 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad La Perle de Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Perle de Marrakech

Address: Derb Ihihane no6, Sidi Ben Slimane | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #680 of 1,136 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Perle de Marrakech 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIAD LA PERLE DE MARRAKECH THE PEARL OF MARRAKECH RIAD BIENVENUE WELCOME Au cœur du centre historique et culturel de Marrakech (Mohamed Ben Slimane el-Jazouli était un grand mystique du XIV ème siècle et aujourd'hui un des sept saints patrons enterrés à Marrakech. Il a donné son nom à la fontaine ainsi qu'au quartier où elle est située.) à 10 minutes de la place Jemaâ-el-Fna, vous découvrirez le charme du Riad la perle de marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Riad La Perle de Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Perle de Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.