We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pearl indeed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad La Perle de Marrakech

Save Saved
You added Riad La Perle de Marrakech to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad La Perle de Marrakech
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Derb Ihihane no6, Sidi Ben Slimane | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #600 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A pearl indeed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2012

An absolutely brilliant budget hotel!

We decided to do a last minute city break to Marrakech in December for a friends birthday and chanced upon Riad La Perle de Marrakech. The fact that it was a little tricky to find at first added to the excitement of being in Marrakech and exploring the many roads and pathes of the old town.

Soulhia is an absolute gem, she was such a brilliant hostess, nothing was too much for her or the housekeeper and we truly felt as though we were at a home from home. Breakfast was lovely, our rooms were made up everyday and we had as much mint tea as we could handle.

The city itself is incredible, no doubt it is not for the faint hearted and a little french will go a long way but I would certainly recommend the place to anyone who loves culture and exploring new places.

Room Tip: The three bed is a little pricier but it's a great size, alternitavely do for the red room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    24
    23
    5
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
BCN
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

The hotel is ok for the price you are paying. The double room was basic, rather small, but clean.
What we didn't liked was the area. It was 20 minutes away from the tourist part of the Medina.
At night it was quite scary and pretty hard to find.
The hostess was really nice and served a good homemade breakfast.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

Riad La Perle de Marrakech is an excellent place to stay when visiting Marrakech. It is situated in the medina, and gives a flavor of what it is like to live there. Most of the interesting places in Marrakech can be visited on foot from the rad, but be aware of the hectic traffic! However, very conveniently, there is a taxi stop (Bab Taghzoute) 150 meters from the riad. The owner of the riad is very helpful: on the day we left we had to get up at 5AM and not only had she organized a taxi to take us to the airport, she had also gotten up to provide us with coffee and a quick breakfast! That is what we call service!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Lisboa, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2011

La Perle de Marrakesh is a real safe heaven in this frenetic city. Wonderfully decorated, super confortable, it captures beautifully the spirit of Morrocco, but has all the commodities of a Hotel, providing an interesting and peacefull environment. Perfect to relax after an intense day in the Medina. The best of all is still its owner. Souila is the friendliest person, helpful (which you'll certainly appreciate in Marrakesh), very easy to get along and reliable. With the precious assistance of Fatima, they honestly confect the best dishes we ate in our whole stay in Morrocco! Souila had a big role in our joyful vacations. Ruben and Fien

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My two girlfriends and I stayed here for a week at the end of August. It took about 20 hot, sweaty minutes to walk to the main square but although at times this was inconvenient, we felt we got to see the 'real Marrakech' on the walk. Besides, you can always take a taxi.

We had a triple ensuite room which was beautiful and clean with much-needed air con and plenty of hot water. Our beds were made every day and clean towels every other day. The plunge pool was brilliant in the scorching heat.
The owners of the riad were very friendly though we feel we would have struggled a little if I hadn't been able to speak French. However, the lady made sure we had everything we wanted and warned us of the dangers of being 3 young women in this city, as well as giving us a map, directions, and info on places to visit.
Breakfast was adequate- coffee, mint tea or orange juice, and crepes with jam and traditional bread, but we would have liked some fruit too. There was the option to eat in the riad for dinner but we were slightly disappointed so I wouldn't recommend this- you can find much cheaper, tastier food locally or in the square.

All in all, a lovely place to stay, I would thoroughly recommend it, and brilliant value for the price!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arnhem, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2011

We stayed with 3 persons in the top-room. Comfortable and cool with a small terrace. Nice view on the bath. The owner was very friendly and helpfull. The riad is situated in the heart of the north-medina. The rooms are very nice, but don't expect to much of the neighbourhood. This is Marrakesh, not Monaco. Expierence the Morocco way of life in the medina. In august it's hot, don't walk to much if your older. Take the small taxi. There are a lot. Pay 20 dirham to get to the center of the city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

very nice guesthouse. the owner is very friendly and the place is beautiful. we had a double room and stayed there for one week. it was really hot but we had a AC so it was no problem. and we had a little pool in the yard which was very good for cooling off. when we left for the mountains we could leave one of our bags there and when we got back, later than we expected we could stay there one more night without a problem. breakfast could change more though, but that is just a minor thing.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad La Perle de Marrakech? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad La Perle de Marrakech

Address: Derb Ihihane no6, Sidi Ben Slimane | Bab Taghzout, Marrakech 40 000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #600 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad La Perle de Marrakech 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
RIAD LA PERLE DE MARRAKECH THE PEARL OF MARRAKECH RIAD BIENVENUE WELCOME Au cœur du centre historique et culturel de Marrakech (Mohamed Ben Slimane el-Jazouli était un grand mystique du XIV ème siècle et aujourd'hui un des sept saints patrons enterrés à Marrakech. Il a donné son nom à la fontaine ainsi qu'au quartier où elle est située.) à 10 minutes de la place Jemaâ-el-Fna, vous découvrirez le charme du Riad la perle de marrakech. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Riad La Perle de Marrakech reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad La Perle de Marrakech, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.