We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At home in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tiflet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Tiflet
14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 1,040 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“At home in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

This Riad is conveniently located in a quiet, safe, little alley tucked away from the hustle and bustle but very close to all the action. We enjoyed coming back at leisure for a nap or to read a book on the terrace, hanging around as in our own house.

Marc, the owner, has created a relaxed homely atmosphere and makes you feel like a visiting friend. He even accommodated my special breakfast requirements, bought bus tickets for us, and patiently answered all our "where to" questions.
Such attentions made our stay truly special, thank you Marc!

Absolutely recommended for feline-loving independent travellers (cats are not allowed inside the house, but share the sunny terrace with regular two legged guests) looking for a friendly and authentic environment.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
95
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Somerset UK
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

So glad we chose Dar Tiflet to start our stay in Morocco. Loved everything about it from the yummy breakfasts to the cosy red room. However, the star of the Riad is Marc for whom nothing was too much trouble. Full of fascinating information and guidance. Highly recommended is the photography gallery which he showed us. We loved going to the Majorelle Gardens, where we met up with Suzie and Alice and ended up returning in a caleche!
The trip to the mountains was stunning and unforgetable.
Thank-you Marc and Rashid for the perfect stay (also to Patrice ,who we never met).
Trish

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

My two girlfriends and I spent 3 nights here in the middle of March. The Riad and our host Marc were charming and we had the most delightful stay. Marc could not have been more helpful,accompanying us around the souk and to the Majorell gardens and even driving us up to the mountains for only the cost of the petrol.We had a wonderful time in Morocco,and Riad Dar Tiflet and our lovely host Marc were the perfect start to our holiday

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

My 18 year old daughter & I stayed for 4 nights and had the most magical time. The Riad is traditional, homely, beautiful and clean. Marc is the most amazing host and simply couldn't do enough to help make our stay truly wonderful. We loved the fact that we were only a few minutes walk from the hustle and bustle of this incredible city and found everyone we met - without exception - to be charming, friendly and polite. As a mother and daughter travelling together we felt safe and welcomed everywhere we went. We'll definitely be coming back and are looking forward to seeing Marc, Rachid and the cats again soon! (I recommend that travellers such as Barb329 do their research first and then will hopefully appreciate the genuine authenticity of a place such as the beautiful Dar Tiflet!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Hello SuzieB7767 ! Thank you so much for writing this friendly review quickly back home ! We, especially Marc, are relieved and happy to see that our way of welcoming and managing our guesthouse is appropriated to travellers like you - and the recent bad review you mentioned, which made us lose 22 places in a single week, is forgotten now, that's life, we'll survive inch'allah ! we knew that the stay here was your gift to your daughter's 18th birthday, so we were quite anxious to keep the best impression and memories to you both. We wish you the best for 2013, and we will be very pleased to welcome you again to help you explore South of Morocco and deserts this time !
Kind regards from DarTiflet's team, Marc, Rachid, Patrice, 1 or 2(clean) cats around...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

Stay here when you go to Marrakech, you will not be sorry. Marc, Patrice and Rachid are perfect hosts. Their helpfulness, information, breakfasts and hospitality add even more to what is already an amazing and fabulous city. Our trip with Marc into the mountains far surpassed my expectations- do it if you have the time. Thank you for a great first taste of this magical place!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you ! Thank you ! Thank you ! Kim J, what else could we say ? Marc was so pleased reading your review, he knew you enjoyed the trip to Atlas mountains, but didn't know that much. We were lucky to welcome friendly, open-minded travellers like you, it was a big pleasure for us to have received you.

Best regards from Dar Tiflet's team, Marc, Rachid, Patrice, a cat here and there
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thessaloniki, Greece
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We have spent 5 nights in Riad Dar Tiflet, and it has been as if we were at home.
The room was very comfortable and the terrace (with different areas and wonderful views of the Medina) was delightful.
Also, the Riad is very close to the main square -Djemaa el Fna-, and the breakfast you can enjoy there couldn't be better. You have a kitchen at your disposal too.
But the very best of everything was the owner, Marc, who made our stay absolutely perfect, giving us advices about where to go and how to behave in Marrakech, guiding us through the city and giving us all the help we needed, and more.
If you are searching for a place to stay in Marrakech, you won't find anything better.
I recommend to contact the Riad to book a taxi to pick you up from the airport.
From Spain: THANK YOU VERY MUCH MARC!!! YOU ARE AWESOME!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

A huge disappointment which got our holiday off to an awful start. We were put in a different building as the riad was undergoing repairs, but we were not told of this until our arrival despite having been in touch by email so that warning us in advance would have been easy. The room featured a 2 square metre damp patch with mould and was as cold as a tomb, which dark terracotta walls and very low lighting did nothing to dispel. The proprietor and his manager tried to make up for this with copious amounts of guidance and information, including an almost unreadable map taken from Google maps which was needed because the hotel was so hard to find, hidden down a labyrinth of alleys which reeked of cat urine. Absolutely not recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, February 23, 2013
Dar Barb329, despite 192 positive or laudatory reviews on this website above yours, and thirty other similar on other sites, we knew that we would face a negative review one day, because the choice of a riad in the medinahas to be thought, and no one can be always at his best. You've spent holidays described as "horrible", the term is hard as possible, we are sorry that Marrakech and our guesthouse were so unpleasant to live, if only you had expressed it instead of telling us that everything was fine- though a bit cold ! Some rare other guests, evidently inadapted to our environment before you, had the same phenomenon of rejection but they said it and we helped them find housing appropriate to their standards of level. We remember very well your stay, had felt a slight disappointment, but we could not help you if you were not expressing your strong disappointment. Having waited a month to write an “horrible” review from home is quite rude. What a trauma you must have to live, we sincerely apologize.

. Riads are old traditional houses, this is what makes their charm, and all share a difficult maintenance: it is sometimes necessary to close 3 or 4 days in the year. That’s what we did with Dar Tiflet though you booked there, but in this case, we offer our customers a higher category, Dar Thyca, which has very satisfied reviews as well, all guests before you and after, considered it as luxuous and comfortable. Walls of traditional tadelakt, that you call "clay" (mud?) are for example one of the criteria expected in luxury guest houses in the medina, your criticism to these walls for their unusual aspect for you resumes the idea that staying in a riad was not a good idea .
. your room, the largest (20m2) with sofa, heating and attached bathroom, were offered the same price as the one you had booked, though it was the very discounted room of Dar tiflet with separate bathroom and 12m2. You saved 15€ per day, but your trauma is so huge that you may not remember this fact. It is neither wet nor similar to a tomb, it is on the first floor, close to the light of the terrace, decorated in a beautiful red color, skated by time (time, not mold) with a wide window opening to the patio. You can not change the nature of riads in January, patio even protected with a large cover, remains cold, that is why we have heaters in the rooms + reverse aircon.
. you did not like the streets of the medina you found dirty and smelly. You are right, neighborhood has a bad habit of letting cats live outdoors, and, indeed, the medina of Marrakech does not look like the streets of Weymouth. It may come at this level with time? We may also ask the authorities to kill cats of the neighbors for the pleasure of the tourists?
. we are very surprised by the criticism of the quality of the map we give to all our customers, 100% have previously explained on the contrary that it is easy and that we give clear explanations (the map is an extract of a very accurate British traveller’s guide, not a fade copy of googlemap, and your street was from Jamaa el Fna at "1 street ahead, then first left, then first right", within 5 mn by walk). Similarly, your sanction to the whole stay, including bedding and cleanliness is very severe, the low value for money quite amusing given the general price you paid (35 € per night breakfast and taxes included). This shows a big misunderstanding on your initial choice.

We assume our policy to live in an authentic medina, with its constraints, with low price in return, remaining vigilant about services at an international quality of standard. We are sorry to say that we wont" change.

Also, to avoid you to spend new awful holidays in an environment you reject forcefully, we strongly advise you not to stop your decision on the only basis of price: first read the description of the place! You would have realized that you were not in a resort in the international city or in the Palmeraie. The medina may be more appropriated for characters like “explorers” in search of authenticity and difference. We recommend you destinations fitting more to your taste, with a low rate, the global tourism industry provides it in abundance, like resorts in Balearic Islands, Dominican Republic or Benidorm. And please forget Venezia, it's old too, and dark, and full of cats in narrow streets. Not at all romantic in fact.

We wish you an excellent year 2013 and wish you to recover quickly from the trauma that the medina of Marrakech made you live.
Kind regards from the team of Dar Tiflet.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Tiflet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tiflet

Address: 14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,040 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Tiflet is a smart authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina. We chose to let the house as it was decorated by the former berberian families, with a lot of old ceramics on the walls (zelliges) and furniture hand-made in medina. All commodities are at international standards, 5 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms, with WIFI connection... Our terrace is much appreciated by his panoramic view and his 3 independant parts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tiflet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Tiflet to your Saves list