We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tiflet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Tiflet
Save
You added Riad Dar Tiflet to your Saves list
14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #71 of 1,079 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Utrecht
Top Contributor
216 reviews 216 reviews
106 hotel reviews
Reviews in 114 cities Reviews in 114 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Coming to Dar Tiflet feels like visiting friends. After calling in the morning that we will arrive, a taxi was arranged to pick us up from the airport. As the taxi can not go into the medina, Patrice was waiting for us where the taxi dropped us off to show us the rest of they way. It is a short walk and away from the noice, but with a roof terrace that had a great view of the city. Patrice is a treasure trove of information. He speaks (at least) French, English and German and went out of his way to help us. We had a comfortable room, with our own (not attached) bathroom. Besides the room, there is a shared sitting room (with laptop and WiFi) and several places on the room in the sun and in the shade. Breakfast was good as well. When we return to Marrakech,here is where we will go.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Geerlings ! Thank you so much for the nice and enthousiastic review you wrote about your stay in Dar Tiflet - and we hope to see you longer next time, we'll talk in the same patchwork of mixed-languages than this year, that's fine !
Kind regards from DarTiflet's team, Marc, Patrice and Rachid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
95
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

A great find, minutes from the main square in the heart of the medina but tucked away down an alley so away from the hustle and bustle. Marco was a fantastic host, showing us the way to the square on our first night, taking us around the Medina to museums so we could get our bearings and even taking us on a private trip out to the mountains! The riad itself is charming but simple, beds are comfy, showers are good and the roof terrace is spacious. For the price, I'm not sure you could get much better!

Room Tip: The yellow room has twin beds but also windows out on to the street, nice for a bit of natural light...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello Holly ! Thank you for this friendly and precise description of the services of Dar Tiflet ! I hope our potential customers will read a review like yours before booking, to understand better what we offer and what is our specific way of life here ! Marc especially is very happy of your review, he always thinks that his english is tooo poor ! So french !
We wish you the best - kind regards from Dar Tiflet's team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

Patrice! That is the name you need to know in Marrakech. We loved the location and the price of this charming riad, but what really makes it is the owner, Patrice, who shows you the ropes of the city, and takes you around on a perfect tour to get you oriented from the first second you arrive. The riad itself is perfect, with an enchanting roof garden perfect for the gazing around in every direction, and seeing the wonderful city. Plus, it's right in the medina. It feels like a home away from home, and Patrice is really like family.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Kerry ! Patrice blushed by reading your friendly review ! Thank you so much for having described your stay in Marrakesh, and we wish to see you again in the following months, and since we're family, Patrice wants to tell you that he's coming to visit you soon - for one or 2 months inch'allah ! Kind regards from dar Tiflet's team, Marc, Patrice and Rachid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aachen
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

We say in that riad with a couple and two single persons for one week dec/jan 2013. We have a lot of funf in the sun, but not in the shadow. The riad was very nice in the center od medina / marrakech. It is a save area, our girls are not realy afraid to walk alone through the city.

Patrice become to a friend in that time. He and the other people who help him, support us all over the days much more we expect. Not only in the house he was our guide.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We choose Dar Tiflet because of the great reviews and it certainly lived up to expectations.

We spent a few days in Casablanca before getting the train to Marrakesh. We'd booked a pick up from the station but our plans had changed but it was no problem for Patrice. When we arrived, we had a lovely air conditioned car to take us to the edge of the Medina where Patrice was waiting to pick us up. We check in (we booked a cheaper room but as it was free, Patrice gave us the en suite room for the first few days) and Patrice gave us all the information we needed to get around, he then very kindly gave us a tour and told us of the good places to eat (beware of places that haven't been recommended). The next day, he took us out again which was great as we discovered places that we just wouldn't have found on our own. If you don't know where your going it can be very easy to get lost. So stay at Dar Tiflet or get a good recommendation for a guide.

Dar Tiflet itself is very nice, the rooms are traditional and comfortable the roof top terrace is big and inviting. The breakfasts are really good to get you started for the day. All in all, Dar Tiflet and Patrice really made our trip. We will definitely be going back and recommend that anyone stay.

Room Tip: The yellow room is lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, England
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you're looking for a base from which to explore Marrakech at a reasonable price and with the most helpful of landlords then you would be hard pressed to find anywhere better than the Riad Dar Tiflet. The rooms are individually decorated in traditional Moroccan style and, although basic compared to European hotel standards, are perfectly adequate. The rooftop terraces are a wonderful place to partake of breakfast and to relax in the evening after tackling the souks.Patrice and Marc will do whatever they can to make your stay a pleasure and are a font of useful local information. We would recommend trips to the Jardin Majorelle and it's Berber Museum as well as the Ensemble Artisanal for hassle free shopping for all the handicrafts available locally.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Hello there ! Thank you so much for writing this helpful review and giving your tips for the next travellers ! You came in the "low season" and as we said to each other, you're right,; in this case, the official handcrafts' shop (ensemble artisanal) is a comfortable solution for easy and comfortable shopping, if you're strtessed by the souks ! I remember you found treasures there ! And we give the restaurant you recommended us close to Jardin Majorelle to our new guests, it seems to be a very good adress ! Thanks for all and for you open minded way of discovering Marrakech, hope to welcome you back ! Very kind regards from Dar Tiflet's team, Patrice, Marc, Rachid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

We were told by another couple this riad was decent, so we thought we would try our luck (the current one we had wasn't good). We arrived at the riad without a booking, hoping there would be a free room, but unfortunatly it was full! The people running the place kindly let us use the internet and a map to try find somewhere else to stay. My tip, book in advance, there is a reason why it was full!!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Tiflet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tiflet

Address: 14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #71 of 1,079 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Tiflet is a smart authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina. We chose to let the house as it was decorated by the former berberian families, with a lot of old ceramics on the walls (zelliges) and furniture hand-made in medina. All commodities are at international standards, 5 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms, with WIFI connection... Our terrace is much appreciated by his panoramic view and his 3 independant parts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tiflet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.