We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never stayed anywhere better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tiflet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Tiflet
Save
You added Riad Dar Tiflet to your Saves list
14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #70 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Never stayed anywhere better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

In all my travelling I have never stayed anywhere this special. Nothing is too big or small for Marc and Patrice, and they really do have your best interests at heart. We travelled around Morocco in a rented car and they sorted out the rental for us, as well as checking in every now and then to make sure we were well and safe and meeting us to both pick up and drop off the car. I cannot speak highly of them enough - I really think Dar tiflet is a special place and to stay somewhere else would be an error. By staying at Dar Tiflet you have invaluable support in Morocco, which I found made our trip more successful than it would have been without them.
They were so helpful that when we worried about our luggage weight restrictions they brought around a set of scales so we could make sure we were within our limits. I don't know what I would have done without them. The reviews don't lie! Thank you Marc and Patrice (from the cougar xxx)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, August 25, 2012
Hello dear yasminspooner, we blushed reading this amazing review! Thank you so much for all the moments we spend together, and your last minutes on the weight scales with half of the souqs as "souvenirs" was such an exciting theater stage ! We also will remember for a very long time your love for cats and kitties, it's hard to save them all you know... Have a wonderful time back in your country, see you soon inch'allah.. Greetings from DarTiflet Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
95
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I stayed at Dar Thyca but also toured Dar Tiflet during my time in Marrakech; both properties are comfortable, clean, safe and charming. Dar Tiflet has more authentic Moroccan character (many beautiful tiles); Dar Thyca is larger and a little more deluxe. Either way you will be happy with your accommodation. Patrice and Marc could not be friendlier. A taxi was arranged to pick me up at the airport, and when I arrived at Dar Thyca, Marc's tour of the medina was incredibly useful -- tips like "turn right at the tree" and "walk toward the iron roof" ensured that I could find my way around with confidence. Both riads are located in the heart of the medina, just a few streets from Jemaa el-Fna.

I speak some French (very bad French; sorry, Marc and Patrice!) but English was also fine with my hosts. I was a solo traveler and had privacy whenever I wanted, but also felt that someone was looking out for me. Each day, breakfast was fresh and delicious, and if Marc was not showing me some new part of the city, he was drawing maps for me so that I would never be lost. If not for his help, I might easily have found Marrakech overwhelming; thanks to him, I had a wonderful time in a vibrant, lively city. I would stay at Dar Thyca (or Dar Tiflet) again, and hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bruxelles
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

Stayed here 3 nights in May 2012. Could not have asked for more. 5 min walk from place Jamal el fnaa. Lovely, abundant homecooked breakfast served on roof terrace. Big room with private bathroom (we stayed in the red room), nicely furnished and decorated. Very hard beds, though. The riad is really charming and quiet, hidden at the end of a tiny pedestrian street (derb). Very reasonably priced too!!!

Mark and Patrice are adorable hosts who go out their way to help and - time permitting - will literaly show you around to make sure you do not get lost in the Medina. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms (eg: rainbow) are fresher in the summer (but noisier if riad is full).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Hello ! Thank you very much for your kind review, we noticed that you were seduced by the way we manage our guesthouse, and we thank you for the pics ! We made some changes in July (new terraces, a new room with ensuite bathroom) and...begin to renovel the matresses ! Dar Tiflet tries to increase its comfort regularly while keeping a low-cost policy, we hope to see you again and prove it ! Ciao from all darTiflet team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb, Croatia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Although we haven't stayed anywhere else in Marrakech, next time we come we'll stay at Riad Dar Tiflet again! :D

It is a calm oasis in the busy medina - and the combination of those two made our trip to Marrakech unforgetable!

That, and our wonderful host Patrice who really made us feel like at home or like visiting an old friend. He took us to the souks, teached us how to bargin, showed us many crafts, told us where to eat and drink, offered to make hammam reservations for us.

The riad itself is more than beautiful: we listened to some oriental music, had breakfast on the roof-tarace. There are some books and maps you can borrow, board games you can play, movies to watch if you like.

Our room (the Red room) was big enough, bathroom was great. Everything is very clean and decorated with much care.

Marrakech has really been something special for us, and we will be comming back again to it and to Riad Dar Tifflet!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
We remember you ! Especially I (Patrice), it was a great pleasure to take time with you and see you becoming independant and accustomed to the moroccan way of life in 1 or 2 days ! You are great travellers, you even found the riad on your own (well, after 1 hour stress and with the help of a young hustler) and explored our excentric city with a lot of curiosity and kindness towards its people. I wait for you and next time I hope you'll discover Atlas mountains and deserts ! Best regards ! Dar Tiflet Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Messina, Italy
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

If you ever go to Marrakesh, I implore you please please stay at Riad dar Tiflet. You will definately not be dissapointed. Not only was the Riad very well priced, the services of Patrice as your own professional guide, friend and host make this Riad simply a must for travellers. As a group of one male and 3 young females from Australia, we were very unprepared and unfamiliar with the differences of a large, bustling muslim city. Patrice (who is French yet speaks perfect fluent English) made us feel so comfortable and relaxed from the moment he collected us. He took the afternoon to show us around the city and reccommended us some of the places we should/shouldn't visit. Without his help we would have been completely overwhelmed by the city. On a separate day I expressed interest at visiting some of the museums of the city without the others, and Patrice again gave up his time to personally escort me to the attractions.

We had already made plans to visit Essaouira and the Sahara and so our stay at Dar tiflet consisted of a few intermittent days scattered across 2 weeks. Patrice was more than obliging in allowing us to do this, and allowing us to keep our larger bags at the Riad while we travelled around the country. He seemed genuinely interested is our plans and experiences, and gave us valuable advice for not only marrakesh but all others destinations around Morocco.

The Riad itself was stunningly authentic, with ensuite bathrooms and air conditioning. The breakfast was delicious on the large upstairs terrace which offered both shaded areas and sunbaking lounges. Patrice and his associate live around 100 metres away, so most likely you will have the riad to yourself, to enjoy its free wifi and cooking fascilities if you wish. Its location is fantastic and very easy to locate, although Patrice will personally give you a map and foolproof directions in case you ever get lost.

Riad Dar Tiflet for us was so much more than a great priced room at a fantastic location - it was a real travel experience thanks to the genuine warmth, friendship and hospitality of Patrice, where nothing was to much to ask. None of us have ever encountered such a fantastic host. Thankyou so much Patrice!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, July 18, 2012
Hello dear Aussies ! thanks a lot for writing so quickly such a friendly and complete review ! We were much impressed to receive guests from 16000km away, and impressed to see such open-minded travelers like you. That helped much to give you some advice for the rest of your moroccan trip, and we travelled a lot through your experience. We are happy to see that you survived properly now in Sicilia, please write us about your European tour, I'm sure that will be an awesome trip. Take car, dear "downunder" guests, and stay exactly as you are ! All the best from darTiflet team !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northcliff, Gauteng, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012

Riad dar tiflet was a beautiful and lovely place to stay at while we were in Marrakech. Arriving as backpackers with no idea where to stay, Patrice gave us directions, met us at the yellow postboxes and took us to his beautiful and peacefull riad. Djemma el fna square and the medina can be quite intimidating at first and Patrice not only gave us a room at short notice, he showed us around the souqs and the medina, recommended places to eat and even introduced us to stall owners in the souq where we got amazing prices. With Patrice's help, guidance and tips about the big tin roof, we enjoyed the Marrakech experience fully. With regards to personal service, Patrice really went all the way. He surprised us with a visit to a weaving and sewing corporation that is not open to tourists and visitors, as we are Students of Textiles. He gave a very personalized touch to our trip and even dined with us at Bachich. This riad has a beautifull terrace with free wifi and is an ideal spot to skype with everyone back home. The riad also has 2laptops available for use by everyone. Riad dar tiflet is a must to stay at, with a delicious breakfast on the terrace every morning, beautifull Moroccan decorations, its great location to drop off and shop more, as well as with its close proximity to the Ben Youssef school, the souqs, the square and other sights. Theres no where else we would have wanted to stay. Thanks Patrice!!! Chanel and Letitia from South Africa

Room Tip: The room we stayed in had its own bathroom across the hall, but there are rooms with a bathroom insi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Dear first Southafricans guests, we were very proud and honored to receive you from down under our continent ! Your review is as nice and kind as you are, so enthusiastic to discover this new world, the way you were easily in contact with people in the souks was lovely, and it was not a work but only pleasure to follow you in the labyrinthic medina. That was great to meet each other by chance in Essaouira as well, you felt totally relax and adapted to this country in its best. Hope to see you once again, inch'allah, or i'll go down under (and will take warm clothes for your freezing Johannesburg or Pretoria). Kind regards - Patrice - and Dartifletteam, Rachid and Marc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012

Riad Dar Tiflet completely lived up to these reviews!
Marrakech is a whirlwind and a labyrinth, and on first arrival it’s incredibly overwhelming for even the most experienced explorer. However, Patrice met us at the post office in order to take us to the riad, which is hidden in the souks. Twice he walked around the souk maze with us, he explained many tips to survive negotiations, rip off merchants, dangerous areas, and questionable food. As a result we felt comfortable enough to explore the city and bargain with the locals ourselves, and this is priceless. It also meant we avoided tourist traps like hotels and ‘local guides’ taking commission. Infact, thanks to Patrice we spent significantly less for our trip to Zagora than our others on our coach. Patrice was always on hand to offer advice and only a quick walk or phonecall away if we needed help, had a problem or ran out of hot water. Patrice offered us the room for an extra day, without a cost, because we had a late flight and it wasn’t rented. We can't thank Patrice enough and wouldn't hesitate to visit again!
The riad is incredibly cheap for the quality of service. Our room was basic but had all the required amenities: shared kitchen, private bathroom and a gorgeous terrace where we ate breakfast and sunbathed in peace with the cats.
If you’re after a budget hotel in the center of the action in Marrakech with the sort of consideration to help you survive and enjoy the colourful city this place is for you. It is not a luxury hotel, but who wants to spend a holiday in a hotel when you have the Jemaa el Fna to explore on your doorstep?

Room Tip: There wasn't a swimming pool or room service but i didn't want to mark the riad down and aff...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Tiflet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tiflet

Address: 14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Tiflet is a smart authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina. We chose to let the house as it was decorated by the former berberian families, with a lot of old ceramics on the walls (zelliges) and furniture hand-made in medina. All commodities are at international standards, 5 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms, with WIFI connection... Our terrace is much appreciated by his panoramic view and his 3 independant parts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tiflet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.