We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An authentic riad with great hospitality from the owners” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tiflet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Tiflet
14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 1,041 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
“An authentic riad with great hospitality from the owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

This was our first time in Marakesh and was made a very smooth running experience by Patrice. He arranged for a taxi to pick us up from the airport and Marc welcomed us the next morning with breakfast followed by a tour of Marakesh by Patrice. This was invaluable in helping us to adjust to a new area with a very different way of communicating, etc. This made us feel very safe and pre warned about pitfalls as well as some knowledge of some lovely restaurants. We stayed 8 nights.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    211
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
95
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2012

I've stayed in numerous budget / mid-range Riads in Marrakech, and Dar Tiflet is without doubt the best. The location is perfect: quiet, safe and with great views across the city, yet only a short minute walk from the Djemma el Fna. The rooms are also generously proportioned, and the lovely roof terrace and kitchen make Dar Tiflet feel like a real home from home.

However, the riad's greatest asset is undoubtedly its owners, Patrice and Marc, who go the extra mile to ensure your stay in Morocco is a memorable one. They are incredibly helpful and friendly, and always on hand should you need them. Patrice, who is French, speaks excellent English, and recommended some great places to eat; as others have noted, he and Marc are even happy to show you around the Medina on their own time. Both of them clearly love Marrakech and their knowledge of the city will enhance your trip no end.

My mother, who was visiting Morocco for the first time, was also hugely impressed by the Riad and the Red Room, which was spacious and beautifully decorated in traditional Moroccan style. In summary, Riad Dar Tiflet offers outstanding value for money and Patrice and Marc are two of the nicest guys you could hope to meet. I can't recommend this riad highly enough.

Duncan

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

To go to the Dar Tiflet was absolutely the best our choice in Marrakesh. Extremely cozy almosfere, good location and the kindest owners I've ever met, who makes you feel as a good old friend coming to visit them nether than a costumer. Big and beautful terrase on the roof lets you to run away from the Marakesh crowds and enjoy your time while looking to the magical views. It's more than highly recommended place.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2012

Stayed in the riad for 2 nights, totally love it. Owners are friendly & really nice. Upon arrival, Mark pick us up from the square, showed us the way into the riad so that we won't get lost. After settling down, Patrice showed us around the medina, what to look out for, where to go to for good food etc. He even brought us to buy the ceramic dishes when we said we love it. The stay is almost perfect except that the water for shower is too cold for us. Other than that, everything is perfect.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, February 4, 2012
Dear Happyfat, thank you for your warmly review about us and the Riad...and sorry if you felt cold in your shower! We had some trouble with one shower during some days during your stay, the pressure was not big enough and that shower (from the Blue room) was the last to get hot water : it was quite long, and the ecofriendly guests didn't wait enough for having hot water, to save african water... So we quickly changed the "water booster" and we control every day that each shower has got hot water in the best conditions. Thank you for this observation, so I can explain how we solved it. Happy hot 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2012

As many previous visitors have noted, Patrice and Marc are superb hosts who took us around the streets and souks every day, who recommended restaurants and escorted us to a hammam. As we were newcomers to Marrakesh and two women, their exceptional hospitality allowed us to feel safe, relax and enjoy the city. The riad is well situated for the medina but very quiet at night and great value for money. It's a beautiful small riad with antique tiles in every room.There's a sitting room on each floor for reading or socialising. Breakfasts were also very good and having the use of the kitchen throughout the day was an unexpected bonus. There are several small roof terraces with covered rooms and areas to sunbathe privately with the Atlas mountains seemingly close. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Some rooms have ensuite facilities
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Dear Rhoma, thank you to have written so quickly and warmly back to your charming Cornwall! We expect to see you and Victoria soon again, you have to explore now South of Morocco, sanddunes and Kasbahs .. and we will protect you from being sold as slaves, we promise it! Kind regards, Patrice
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Dar Tiflet for 8 days and we couldn't have picked a better place to stay in Marrakesh! The Riad is just a few minutes walk from the main square, but just far enough to block the hustle and bustle of the busy medina streets. Patrice and Mark were just amazing hosts from the day we arrived to the day we left! They went above and beyond to help us! A driver was arranged to pick us up from the train station, and upon our arrival in the Medina where cars aren't allowed, Patrice met with us and lead us to the Riad. Upon our arrival at the Riad, he welcomed us with Moroccan music, mint tea and snacks and that put us right in the Marrakesh mood! The Riad is just beautiful! We stayed in a beautifully decorated room on the main floor with private bathroom and heater. The bed was very comfortable and the quality of sleep was excellent. We've looked into many other Riads around the area before booking with them, but Dar Tiflet had hands down an amazing value compared to others in the area. A delicious breakfast was served every morning on the peaceful roof top that had fantastic views of the medina! There are also two kitchens in the Riad where we cooked dinner one night, a really nice option to have available! If you are looking for a clean, comfortable Riad in Marrakesh, that stands out in value compared to other Riads in the area, Dar Tiflet is the place to stay! Merci beaucoup Patrice and Mark for making our stay in Marrakesh a really good one!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Hello dear Travelerviajante! Merci beaucoup for all the precise descriptions you wrote, I hope we'll keep on satisfy all our guests the way you describe, the goal is ambitious now (do you actually say that in english? never mind! you understood!) Have a wonderful and colourful 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2012

Just came back from a long stay with my wife and we had a great time. It is a fantastic Riad, in a great location, and the owners, Patrice and Mark, are unbelievable hosts. They really went above and beyond in their hospitality, and do everything they can to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. Hospitality / service is probably the most important thing when staying in a place like the Medina of Marrekech. Their prices also give an AMAZING VALUE when compared to other similar Riads. The rooms were great and they had a fantastic terrace. If you are looking for an affordable Riad in Marrakech, you really cannot do any better. My wife and I travel a lot, and spent a lot of time searching for a Riad, so we know a thing or two - stop looking and book it !

Also - if you can, book the day trip to the Atlas mountains with them. A beautiful trip at a great price.

Patrice and Mark - Thanks for a great time !

Amir

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, January 26, 2012
Hello Amir, thank you for your enthusiastic review, we spent a very friendly time with you both, I hope the best for 2012, and wish to live a year as cordial and cheerful than our Guests from January!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Tiflet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tiflet

Address: 14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 1,041 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Tiflet is a smart authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina. We chose to let the house as it was decorated by the former berberian families, with a lot of old ceramics on the walls (zelliges) and furniture hand-made in medina. All commodities are at international standards, 5 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms, with WIFI connection... Our terrace is much appreciated by his panoramic view and his 3 independant parts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tiflet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Tiflet to your Saves list
;