We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Dar Tiflet, Marrakech, Morocco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Tiflet

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Marrakech
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Riad Dar Tiflet
Save
You added Riad Dar Tiflet to your Saves list
14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #67 of 1,104 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Riad Dar Tiflet, Marrakech, Morocco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Riad Dar Tiflet is a charming and welcoming Moroccan B&B, and as everyone else says in their reviews, you could not find a better place to stay if you want great value, warm and helpful hosts, and an introduction to the real Moroccan way of life. The accommodations are very clean and comfortable - good beds, heat (in the winter riads can be chilly, but during the warmer seasons it is no doubt a true oasis for travelers), linens, and hot water showers, as well as a wonderful breakfast (French Moroccan cuisine? truly delicious). The terrace is lovely, with places of shade and sun where you can relax and mix with other guests or be on your own. Reservations, taxi service, and orientation are all quickly and expertly handled (and it is good to take a taxi for the comparatively small fare of $16 + tip - because the medina is not easy to navigate until you have been there a day or so. After that, you can take petit taxis to your heart's delight for very small fees (be sure they have meters!). Patrice and Marc generously orient you to the medina when you arrive showing you the highlights, good places to visit and eat, and how to find your way. They are very solicitious and considerate of their guests and you feel as if you are among friends you can trust. A truly delightful visit !

Room Tip: We had the blue room on the bottom floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    222
    18
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
41
95
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heathfield,sussex
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2011

We've just got back from a great Christmas break in Marrakesh and I endorse all other reviews of this Riad. Marc was the perfect host he showed us around the Medina and recommended some excellent places to eat. Substantial and delicious breakfast on the roof terrace was a great start to the day. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2011

We stayed at the Riad last week and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The Riad is clean and friendly with plenty of room to hang out with other guests, including its own terrace. There's a fridge and kitchen you can use, a lounge/living room and free wifi (they have a laptop you can use too). Patrice and Marc couldn't be more helpful. On our first day there, Patrice guided us through the old town - the Souk, main square, etc. - and gave us recommendations for restaurants, things to do - and what not to do. For people who haven't been to Marrakesh before, this advice is invaluable, as the city can be chaotic. Everyday at breakfast, they helped us plan our day and organise taxis for day trips or to the airport if we needed them. They did all this without expecting anything in return. Plus, the location is perfect - 5min walk to the Souk, which is great for going out to dinner, etc at night.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2011

We really enjoyed our time at Dar Tiflet. The reservation process was easy and straightforward. Patrice was helpful and very responsive in response to our emails. They sent a taxi to the airport, definitely recommended as it would be difficult to find the location by yourself the first time.

Patrice took the time to show us (along with two other guests who arrived the same day) around Marrakesh. I came to really love this city, but it can be overwhelming at first and so having an orientation tour was incredibly helpful. It is clear that Patrice loves the city and he was able to explain so many things to us.

The inn itself is restored nicely. We were very comfortable. We stayed in a ground floor room which had a double bed for us and a small bed for our 6 year old son. They even had a selection of games for children, including a board game called Marrakech! I would say that it is suitable for families with children. The stairs to the rooftop are quite steep, but I think that is just the way stairs are here - we just took care to hold our son's hand when going up and down.

I'm working on figuring out how I can make the delicious Moroccan yogurt that they served with breakfast! It was so delicious. Mark was very kind and gracious in helping us with the breakfasts and arranging a taxi when it came time to return to the airport.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Hello Dear Oregon Family! Thanks a lot for your review, very practical and helpful for families with children... and thanks to your reviews in general, we just discovered a new place where to stay in Ouarzazate - and another one to avoid! Have a nice time back home and travel far again in 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

I have just came back from Marrakesh where I stayed at Dar Tiflet, a charming and traditional moroccan house just minutes away from the main square. The hosts, Mark and Patrice are very helpul and welcoming and advised me on how to make the most of this beautiful city and its surrounding areas. The room I stayed on the ground floor was spacious, very nicely decorated, clean and very quite. There is a beautiful terrace divided in different areas on different levels that make it really private. It is the best best place to unwind and take in the stunning views. I really enjoyed my stay there and I am definetely going back soon.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Claudiadaniela, Thank you so much for this friendly and personalized review! This is your Home whenever you want, we know you love Morocco and you need to feel it regurlaly, since you worked here before coming back in England. Morocco can't be forgotten easily! A bientôt, inch'allah
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Riad Dar Tiflet -- the place to stay in Marrakesh!

My husband arranged the trip to Marrakesh and when he said we will be staying in Riad, I didn't know what to expect.

Riad Dar Tiflet, is on a great location, its 5 minutes walk to the main square, Jemaa el Fna, 5 minutes, if you can manage the traffic of Marrakesh, pedestrian, bicycle, scooters and the occasional horse carriage :) and still very quite and secure. The rooms are clean and comfortable, some bigger than others but all very liveable. There is a great balcony where breakfast is served every morning. There are two residence cats that are there to amuse you while you admire the view over the city, we were lucky as the female just had kittens.


Mark and Patrice are top guys! They are very customer focus, we had a smooth booking over email and they offered to book a cab to collect us from the airport, at arrival at the riad we were welcome with a soft drink and snacks, before being shown to our room. After a bit of time to relax Mark took us around and showed us Marrakesh and the souk, he spent a good part of the afternoon acting as our personal guide explaining what we were seeing and also gave us a background on the country and believes.

They told about what was worth to see and what not, give us recommendation on where to eat and shopping. We stayed at the riad for 5 days before going to the sea town of Essaouira, (lovely place) Patrice and mark, bought the ticket for us and took us to the bus station, what can i say they went the extra mile constantly and on every occasion.

More than just hosts we felt we made friends and we are looking to go back to Dar Tiflet and see them both, we strongly recommended riad Dar Tiflet to everyone, great HOSTs, great accommodation, good rates.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DarTiflet, Gérant at Riad Dar Tiflet, responded to this review, November 23, 2011
Hello Supernelli's, and thank you very much for this precise description, we were very happy to discover you both and having guests becoming friends in the end. Before your arrival I had not realized how many different nationalities work and live now in London, you make us travel through your experience, which is wonderful for us! Thanks again and have a nice winter, London is beautiful at Xmas time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rye
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2011

Had a wonderful stay at Dar Tiflet Riad. Patrice was very helpful on arrival when we realised we had taken the wrong case from the airport and drove us straight back and helped smooth any probs! He was there if needed for advice on our first day and took us around the souks.

The riad is perfect if you want a more traveller experience, you can opt for breakfast or buy your own and use the kitchen and the roof terrace, which suited us fine as our getting up hrs varied and I enjoyed popping to the local doughnut man for fresh fried doughnuts tied with a piece of straw to walk back to my room with, there are also lots of little food shops on the road to pick up bread milk and sweets!

The riad is very clean, nicely decorated, laid back, quite and perfectly located. On the main road, 1 min from the raid, there is an evening street market for the locals selling what you would expect from an English market, but with pushbikes, motor bikes, lads, mums, kids and baby’s all hustling and bustling along its narrow space, it keep it real for me and felt a little less touristy than other roads we noticed raids on.

Patrice recommended Hammam Cleopatra, which comes with a discount and it was great, recommended it to my mum and sister who came a week later and they loved it too.

All in all a great stay for my tastes, would be very easy to stay here solo and meet other guests when fully booked, good if you like cats too :-)

Room Tip: We looked in all the rooms, as they were empty one day and i'm nosy...and they are all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Tiflet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Tiflet

Address: 14 derb Gnaoua | quartier Ben salah, medina, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 1,104 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar Tiflet is a smart authentic Riad in the heart of the old medina. We chose to let the house as it was decorated by the former berberian families, with a lot of old ceramics on the walls (zelliges) and furniture hand-made in medina. All commodities are at international standards, 5 bathrooms for 4 bedrooms, with WIFI connection... Our terrace is much appreciated by his panoramic view and his 3 independant parts. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Tiflet, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.