We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your home away from home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Pavillon Oriental

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Le Pavillon Oriental to your Saves list
Le Pavillon Oriental
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   54, derb Jdid, Riad Zitoun Kadim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #163 of 1,128 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Your home away from home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

In this Riad, we (4 grown ups) stayed 6 nights during Easter '13 and we felt immediately "at home" away from our home, i.e. comfortable, safe, relaxed, cared for and most of all: Welcome. The atmosphere is quiet and unstressful with clean and comfortable rooms and baths. We had dinner one night at the Riad and this was our best night in Marrakech! The whole atmosphere, the food and the friendly welcome combined are rare to find anywhere. But we did in the company of Kawthar and her parents!

So we strongly recommend this beautiful riad, if you wish to stay in the exotic Medina close to the place Jemaa el Fna and the Souks. Apart from the motorbikes in the very narrow streets, we found Marrakech both exotic and authentic (not too touristic!) and best of all; a very friendly population where you feel safe and welcome.

The merchants in the Souks are, of course, very eager to sell you things, but if you treat them with respect and kindness, they accept your refusal on the spot.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
22
50
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Lots of good comments on Tripadvisor made us (me and 5 friends) go and we were not disappointed. You feel at home right away and they really care. Getting there is, like most Riads, a bit difficult (from your taxi dropoff its a 5-10 min walk) except late at night when cabs can use the Rue Riad Zitoun Lakdim (its closed for cars during the day). La place is a 15 min walk.
Inside the Riad a heaven of tranquillity, rooms beautiful, the rooftop terrace spectacular.
Anytime again!

Room Tip: 2nd floor rooms are more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

The location of the riad is in the back-streets: we were picked up at the airport by a taxi, which we had the riad arrange, this delivered us to the square at the end of Rue Riad Zitoun el Kdim; where upon one's suitcases were placed into a barrow and trundled off up Zitoun el Kdim. This is a narrow market street (too small for the taxi) full of bustle with scooters beeping their way along the cobbles, which when we arrived in the evening has not yet been swept by the cleaners (the next morning it was spotless). Our porter skampers off up the rue, then turned right down a short alley, finally right, back down the adjacent alley (don't worry about the cats - they are very placid and quiet). After a total journey of less than about 5 minutes we arrived at a large wooden door with impressive brass rivets, the bell ringing. One will become familiar with this: the front door is always locked and one has to ring the bell to gain access: great security, and their rapid response means we were never kept waiting.

Our other summarised thoughts about the riad are:

- The room was quiet, private and peaceful, with plenty of plugs, but note that the locations can be a little curious!
- The terrace was large, private and comfortable with plenty of large parasols, sun-loungers and sun-hats and a tented area that was a good sun or wind-break. A higher terrace has a fine view over the roof-tops of the city, with the snow-capped Atlas mountains in the distance.
- A pleasant, fresh, but plain breakfast.
- A family-run riad, who were very welcoming, friendly and helpful with lots of advice on where to go and what to see, and how to get back to the riad!
- Useful advice on the local costs such as taxis and some items from the souk, which helped assure one of one's haggling skills!
- A lovely calm retreat from the hustle and bustle of the vibrant souks and city.
- The wifi was very effective: we used it successfully on my Samsung Galaxy SII with Skype to call home from all around the riad (though we didn't try it on the terrace).
- Their advice that the pool would be chilly in early March was spot on: very bracing!
- Note that Google Maps is generally not good in Marrakech: perhaps due to the myriad of little alleyways, some of which have street names, but many are not marked on Google. Nor was the GPS on my Samsung Galaxy SII, but the location of the riad on Google Maps is accurate, as of writing this review.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are quiet, with some on the ground floor, others upstairs above (there is no lift).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Top Contributor
214 reviews 214 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
149 helpful votes 149 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I chose this Riyad based on the excellent reviews that I read on Trip Advisor! I experienced the same extraodinary charm, warm hospitality from Kawthar and her family. Nothing was ever too much for her, her parents from the moment I arrived to the moment I checked out five days later. When I commented about a couple of things missing from my room (a box of Kleenex and a shaving mirror), they appeared in my room that same afternoon. The breakfast with fresh home local bread accompanied by a jug of fresh orange juice and ofcourse all other breakfast items is a treat that one cannot find in luxury hotels.....I used the lounge for breakfast as well as watching the TV (which had a fire place with a fire) instead of the space on the open air terrace as both mornings and evenings especially were cool. The location in the middle of the Madina is a leisurely walk from the Place Jemaa El Fna and La Koutoubia; the building is a typical moroccan stone family home which is built around a courtyard with a pool in the middle ideal for the warm months of the summer and rooms beautifully decorated in the local style! Highly recommended if you wish to experience the local culture, experience an outstanding hospitality and be away from the big impersonal five star hotels

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed for 5 nights between Christmas and New Year. Kawthar, her family and staff couldn't have made it a more enjoyable experience. Particular highlights were -
Pleasing and peaceful ambiance, perfect location in the heart of the old town
Thoughtful and thorough briefing on the delights of Marrakech
Dinner on our arrival, and on our return from another long day in the Atlas Mountains
Home cooked breakfasts on the roof terrace
Help and advice in booking trips and visits
Hamman and treatment using the Riad's facilities

We have no reservations in recommending this family run Riad to other prospective travellers to Marrakech

Room Tip: Our room on the ground floor was very comfortable. Next time we'll aim for something overlooking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Amazing place, fantastic location. Hosts address your every need with outmost care. Couldn't expect more ;) Very quiet and intimate, yet a few minutes walk to Medina. Would highly recommend for a romantic stay.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The oriental team has redefined the meaning of hospitality. Would recommend anybody staying here. Rooms are very nice, roof terrace is great, pool is refreshing. The service is top. Road is 7 minutes away from main square in small alley. Feels cosy and save.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Le Pavillon Oriental? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Pavillon Oriental

Address: 54, derb Jdid, Riad Zitoun Kadim, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #163 of 1,128 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Pavillon Oriental 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Luxury Riad Le Pavillon Oriental is a great Riad with swimming pool. Le Pavillon Oriental of Marrakech is ideally located in the heart of the medina of Marrakech, in a real neighbourhood near Jamaa el Fna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Le Pavillon Oriental reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Pavillon Oriental, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.