We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Riad in the medina” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Capaldi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Capaldi to your Saves list
Riad Capaldi
1 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #317 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Traditional Riad in the medina”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

We stayed in March for a birthday treat for 4 nights. After arriving late into the medina we were greeted and escorted to the Riad. Walking through the busy and narrow streets was initially somewhat daunting because it was so different to the UK despite being only 3 or so hours away. But once we walked throught the hugh wooden front door into the Riad , with its ambiotic candles and fires we relaxed and had dinner. Next day Aiden had arranged a guide to take us around the medina as its very busy and easy to get lost on the first day.By day two we were able to get out and back by ourselves which we found less pressured.At night we were escorted to our restaurant and picked up when finished. We had excellent food at Le Jardin set in a beautiful garden ,which Aiden had recommended.We enjoyed a caleche tour and great cocktails at trendy Cosybar.The breakfasts at the Riad were absolutely excellent,yogurt,fruit,pancakes,omelette and we ate by the fire always.Our room was Jasmine which had its own fire which was lovely on the cooler mornings and evenings.Aiden,Mohammed and Badha could not have done more for us.We were glad we stayed 4 nights as it takes a couple of days to get used to the poverty and hussle and bustle But if you are looking for something different ,its that all right and the Riad was very romantic.

Room Tip: The shower in jasmine does suffer a slight damp smell but its a lovely room.You will be woken at 5pm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

Stayed here for two nights in March. Located at the edge of the souks, the riad is right in the medina and an easy walk to the major sites. Although as with most riads you can't get a taxi to the door, the riad will arrange to meet you and transport your luggage.

We stayed in the Rose room – due to the traditional design rooms are narrow but well designed and decorated. Bottles of water are supplied along with fresh flowers, robes and slippers. Had a couple of small issues – the lights in the bathroom are very dim, the shower head was a bit blocked up so the water doesn't flow too well, and the hairdryer was rubbish so bring your own if you have long hair!

There is lots of space around the riad, with a lounge, library and big roof terrace. The terrace was the best part of the road – with lots of seating space, a log fire for the evenings and a few sun loungers. Great place to watch the sunset over the medina and on a clear day you could see the snow on the tops of the Atlas Mountains. Perfect place for a glass of wine in the evenings.

Breakfast is included with the room and served on the roof terrace – fruit and yogurt, bread and pastries, pancakes, orange juice and tea/coffee. Watch out for the wasps though, we ended up moving tables three times to avoid them. We also had dinner one night in the dining room, the beef and prune tagine, which was very tasty though a bit heavy.

Overall a good place to stay, though could be excellent if a few little issues were sorted out.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casares
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

We have visited Capaldi hotel in March 2014 for 2 nights. Unfortunately, Riad did not leave up to our expectations - we have visted Morocco many times and have stayed at different riads over 15 times. Upon arrival we were very surprised to see in the interior garden - plastic lawn which was probably supposed to be natural grass or carpet...We have never seen this before in Marrakesh...Right by it there were a few large Moroccan lamps for candles which have obviously been cleaned ages ago ( judged by dirty glass) and they have been lit during our stay. The bedroom and bathroom were quite basic. The ceiling shower worked in a strange way - the water didn't come out from the wholes which were probably blocked but from the side of it. Very large terrace on the roof but without views over town. Outdoor terrace furniture was so dirty that we didn't want to sit on it. Table covers during breakfast have not been ironed. Location of Riad is a bit complex - for the first time we couldn't find our way back and had to get someone to escort us ( paid money for it) every time we went back. On the positive note - lovely staff including manager always eager to help. Always offered to light fire-place, serve drinks, show our way around etc. We believe that the mentioned negative points relate to the owners not paying enough attention to the standard of their hotel, it's quality, attention to detail... Next time we will choose a different Riad for our stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in late March.Hidden in the middle of the Medina if you are looking for the traditional Riad experience you won't be disappointed. The decor is stylish and reflects the traditions of Marrakech without straying too far into the cliche. We stayed in the Dome Suite complete with private sitting room and roaring fire lit by the staff each evening. All the staff are extremely attentive especailly Aiden, the Riad manager who took the time to guide us through the Souk. If you are worried about staying in a Riad in case you get lost in the Medina don't be, it really isn't that confusing and its really the only way to truly experience this fascinating city Would certainly return

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dome suite, up its own spiral staircase to a top lit private sitting room with log...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and were very pleased. The riad is located in a perfect area that allows for an easy walk to all major sights while still being a step away allowing a little quiet. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is nice. We had lunch there on the first day and it was very tasty; would recommend a quiet lunch or dinner there. The rooms are also beautifully decorated, though could perhaps use a little extra light. The roof terrace is fantastic - definitely make sure you have time to enjoy some lazy afternoons on the terrace reading a good book or playing backgammon!

We would definitely recommend this riad. Value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and i stayed here from New years day for four nights, from the moment we arrived we were treated like a king and queen, Marc the owner gave us a very warm welcome and made sure all our needs were met. They sure were The Capaldi certainly is the place to chill and relax, the staff (especially Mohammed) was excellent anything we wanted nothing was to much trouble. We were taken through the labyrinth of mazes by Mohammed and onto the main square he made sure we were happy with directions to get back. We were also given a phone by Marc incase we got lost or needed any help whilst out and about. We made a lot of use of the Riad from relaxing in the sun on the roof top terrace to having an evening meal (which was also excellent) then spent the evening in the TV room watching a film, roaring fire and fine wine. A huge thank you to all at the Capaldi we will certainly be returning.
In a nutshell if you are going to Marrakesh stay here..

Room Tip: Speak to or email Marc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Marrakesh medina is an intense experience and you should stay within the medina if you want to have a full experience - during the day and at night.

The Riad Capaldi is an oasis of peace and comfort in the heart of the medina, within an easy walk to the central square. Being able to go out for a few hours walking exploration and return to the Riad for a hour, whether it be to drop off the shopping or for a snooze, allowed us to have the time and energy to continue exploring different parts of the medina.

The Riad Capaldi was very comfortable, very clean with a plenty of space to sit, read or chat inside or on the roof terrace. I am sure other Riads have similar qualities.
What make this Riad special is Mark and Mohammed. On arrival from the sister hotel The Capaldi, Mark sat down with us and gave us very useful guidance and recommendations on where to start exploring, where to eat and what to be aware of. All Mark's choices of places to eat or have tea were accurate.

Unless you are not adventurous, you are going to get lost at some point in the labyrinth of narrow lanes of the medina, however the initial very informative guided walk from the Riad to the central square by Mohammed gives the crucial navigation point to get back to the Riad. The odds are that when you explore the medina, getting lost as you will, you should be able get yourself to the central square, hence then you can get back to the Riad Capaldi.

Mohammed's helpful and happy attention as he serves a leisurely breakfast to you on the roof terrace makes for a great start to the day.

Congratulations Mohammed and Mark - you make the a good Riad Capaldi to be Very Good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Capaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Capaldi

Address: 1 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the ancient city of Marrakesh, Riad Capaldi has been painstakingly renovated. With its contemporary styling and the emphasis on comfort and privacy, stepping into the Riad from the souks, the contrast is startling, a peaceful and a tranquil haven away from the hustle and bustle of the medina The 2 deluxe suites and 5 well-appointed bedrooms are located on the first floor, looking down onto the courtyard which has its own private pool, salon, library and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Capaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Capaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.