We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Traditional Riad” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Capaldi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Riad Capaldi to your Saves list
Riad Capaldi
1 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Romantic Getaway
Ranked #331 of 1,071 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Traditional Riad”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

We spent 2 nights here in late March.Hidden in the middle of the Medina if you are looking for the traditional Riad experience you won't be disappointed. The decor is stylish and reflects the traditions of Marrakech without straying too far into the cliche. We stayed in the Dome Suite complete with private sitting room and roaring fire lit by the staff each evening. All the staff are extremely attentive especailly Aiden, the Riad manager who took the time to guide us through the Souk. If you are worried about staying in a Riad in case you get lost in the Medina don't be, it really isn't that confusing and its really the only way to truly experience this fascinating city Would certainly return

Room Tip: We stayed in the Dome suite, up its own spiral staircase to a top lit private sitting room with log...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights and were very pleased. The riad is located in a perfect area that allows for an easy walk to all major sights while still being a step away allowing a little quiet. The staff are very helpful and the breakfast is nice. We had lunch there on the first day and it was very tasty; would recommend a quiet lunch or dinner there. The rooms are also beautifully decorated, though could perhaps use a little extra light. The roof terrace is fantastic - definitely make sure you have time to enjoy some lazy afternoons on the terrace reading a good book or playing backgammon!

We would definitely recommend this riad. Value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

My wife and i stayed here from New years day for four nights, from the moment we arrived we were treated like a king and queen, Marc the owner gave us a very warm welcome and made sure all our needs were met. They sure were The Capaldi certainly is the place to chill and relax, the staff (especially Mohammed) was excellent anything we wanted nothing was to much trouble. We were taken through the labyrinth of mazes by Mohammed and onto the main square he made sure we were happy with directions to get back. We were also given a phone by Marc incase we got lost or needed any help whilst out and about. We made a lot of use of the Riad from relaxing in the sun on the roof top terrace to having an evening meal (which was also excellent) then spent the evening in the TV room watching a film, roaring fire and fine wine. A huge thank you to all at the Capaldi we will certainly be returning.
In a nutshell if you are going to Marrakesh stay here..

Room Tip: Speak to or email Marc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

The Marrakesh medina is an intense experience and you should stay within the medina if you want to have a full experience - during the day and at night.

The Riad Capaldi is an oasis of peace and comfort in the heart of the medina, within an easy walk to the central square. Being able to go out for a few hours walking exploration and return to the Riad for a hour, whether it be to drop off the shopping or for a snooze, allowed us to have the time and energy to continue exploring different parts of the medina.

The Riad Capaldi was very comfortable, very clean with a plenty of space to sit, read or chat inside or on the roof terrace. I am sure other Riads have similar qualities.
What make this Riad special is Mark and Mohammed. On arrival from the sister hotel The Capaldi, Mark sat down with us and gave us very useful guidance and recommendations on where to start exploring, where to eat and what to be aware of. All Mark's choices of places to eat or have tea were accurate.

Unless you are not adventurous, you are going to get lost at some point in the labyrinth of narrow lanes of the medina, however the initial very informative guided walk from the Riad to the central square by Mohammed gives the crucial navigation point to get back to the Riad. The odds are that when you explore the medina, getting lost as you will, you should be able get yourself to the central square, hence then you can get back to the Riad Capaldi.

Mohammed's helpful and happy attention as he serves a leisurely breakfast to you on the roof terrace makes for a great start to the day.

Congratulations Mohammed and Mark - you make the a good Riad Capaldi to be Very Good.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

We had a great stay at Riad Capaldi. Even before we arrived, Mark (the manager) was very helpful in arranging a car service to pick us up from the airport. As this was our first time visiting Marrakech, having this pre-arranged was very useful, as the medina is quite overwhelming.
The dichotomy between the frenzied pace of the medina just outside the Riad's walls and the calmness within the Riad is quite astounding. It's a bubble of serenity within the hustle and bustle outside.
We chose the "Domed Suite," which was a bit special as it has a separate sitting room with a fireplace. It's a fantastic room, and quite special, though you do feel a little detached from the rest of the Riad.
Breakfast is served on the rooftop terrace, and is a lovely way to start the day. Don't over-plan your morning, as breakfast happens at a leisurely pace, which is perfectly fine as it allows you to soak up the sun, smells, and sounds of the medina.
We also chose to eat dinner in the Riad one night, and they prepared a traditional, homemade meal for us. We had a very lovely candlelit dinner in front of a roaring fire, and the meal was probably our favorite of the entire trip (something about the setting probably contributed to this).
Mark and Mohamed (his #2) were very hospitable, showing us how to get to the medina for the first time, personally taking us to specific stalls in the souks, and helping us to/from the taxi pick up location.
A few things that would be great to see improved, though not any reasons for getting skittish staying here: (1) the amenities in the bathroom could do with an upgrade (2) the lighting in the bathroom could have been a bit brighter and (3) wifi signal could be stronger/more consistent throughout the property (4) the beds are a bit on the hard side
All in all, we highly recommend this as a great place for a couple nights. In fact, it's a fantastic place to visit prior to heading out to their sister property - The Capaldi Resort - at the base of the Atlas mountains. Doing both together makes a lot of sense, as the two properties can work together to customize a Marrakech experience that lets you do and see it all.

Room Tip: choose the "Domed Suite" for something special and unique
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We had a wonderful 2 days and could not fault the service or accommodation. Beautifully decorated and fabulous facilities. Peace and quiet offered by the delightful central courtyard and rooftop terrace were a welcome break from the hub-ub of the Medina. Mark the manager was knowledgeable and attentive assisted ably by the friendly and polite Mohamed. Would definitely recommend and return to this fabulous riad.

Room Tip: All rooms were good and beautifully decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I stayed there in June 2013 with my Fiance. The Riad was a sea of tranquility, beautifully decorated, amazingly attentive service. The hotel Manager Mark was great at oranizing guides and recomending resturants, even walking us to some spots himself.

We where also given mobile phones so we could call when we got lost (which will happen in the Medina).

The breakfast was fantastic on the roof terace and they did a great job of laying on snacks when we where peckish.

We also stayed in the country hotel which was very different but equally as high quality in terms of the service, decor and privacy.

Would go back there in a heart beat!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Capaldi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Capaldi

Address: 1 Derb Sidi Ahmed Ben Nacer | Kaat Bennahid, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #331 of 1,071 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of the ancient city of Marrakesh, Riad Capaldi has been painstakingly renovated. With its contemporary styling and the emphasis on comfort and privacy, stepping into the Riad from the souks, the contrast is startling, a peaceful and a tranquil haven away from the hustle and bustle of the medina The 2 deluxe suites and 5 well-appointed bedrooms are located on the first floor, looking down onto the courtyard which has its own private pool, salon, library and dining room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Capaldi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Capaldi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.