We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superbe!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Zinc

Le Zinc
517 Avenue principale - Q.I Sidi Ghanem, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0)524335969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 567 Restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Amsterdam, Nederland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Superbe!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

After a 20 min drive to the industrial area of the city we found this hidden treasure. We were greated bij the owner and although we were the only non-french speakers we never felt out of place. I was completly blown away bij my oeuf a la cocotte, and the fig tarte tatin was perfect! Although we came in at 9, people kept on walking in and while it filled up, a dj started playing and people started dancing. Really loved everything about this restaurant!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    17
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marrakech
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Le Bistro des Copains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Le Zinc, also known locally as "Le Bistro des Copains" was a brave bet by Damien Durand, its owner. A French chef trained by the best, he decided to set up in the middle of the MARRAKECH Industrial Zone known as Sidi Ghanem. Not an obvious choice! Well, he's won his bet. The French food is always delicious and impeccable. We have never added salt or pepper to anything served, and we go there a lot! It is always "just right". Excellent pricing, especially at lunch time. The service is fast and courteous, and you will often see the owner wandering with his watchful eye between the kitchen and the restaurant. The other reviewers who have said this is the best are not kidding. Go there, enjoy it and come out with a fuller wallet than you would anywhere else in Marrakech for the same quality. Beware all credit card holders....it is cash only.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
berlin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“HEAVENLY FOOD, Can't say the same about the service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

If you want to eat really really well in Marrakech then you have to go to Le Zinc. Situated a little way out of the centre of town in the industrial zone of Sidi Ghanem, it is well worth the trip and there are some great shops in the neighbourhood.

The menu is small with daily changes but the food is excellent, simply heavenly, well executed and fantastic value for money.

I had a salad of cooked ham with béchamel and sweet leeks with a lovely dressing. It was served warm and outstanding. My husband had the chèvre en croute in the lightest of film pastry with a guacamole of aubergine which complemented it perfectly.
We then had porc with farcie of vegetables and I had the most delicate fish with the lightest and most heavenly of curry sauces.
We finished with a apple crumble between us which was not the classical crumble you get in the UK but a light take on this and the perfect complement to finish up the meal.

The only thing to let everything down was the service! The boss/management was not there - and the moroccan waiting staff slow and rather inept. We were waiting long after other people had ordered, eaten and left and when we politely mentioned to the male waiter that we were still waiting for our main course and that others had left and paid who came after us he argued with us - of course he did - this is sadly what we have learned to expect in Marrakech - not an apology but disagreement! We have eaten here before and never experienced this but then of course management was always present.

I ordered a glass of rose as there was no wine menu offered. However on receiving it I asked for some ice as it was not really cold. We repeated this request 2 times and then having nearly drunk half the glass my husband left his main course to go and get ice himself. He came back a moment later mentioning that the restaurant was full, no sign of management and the waiting staff could not cope.

So as long as you go and there is management you are fine. We asked for the bill around 3 times and had long finished our coffee when the only option was to go and get the bill ourselves!! It then took a while before anyone came to take payment. We were sitting outside as the interior was full but this is really no excuse to forget your clients.

The food really is excellent and they should open up in modern town or medina so there is a good french restaurant at a fair price with no pretention, just fabulous food. But make sure always that there is management present and then the whole experience is indeed heavenly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best lunch in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

If you like Oualidia oysters, succulent pork chops (a rare find in Morocco) and traditional French fare with a Moroccon twist, then head for lunch in Le Zinc. It's situated a bit outside town in an industrial area, but certainly worth the drive there.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“The best of Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

by far the best place to eat in Marrakech is Le Zinc. I would say that it runs a very close first with Al Fassia although dont expect any Moroccan fare here. its french through and through. i would go as far as to say that its the best French food i have had in about 10 years. so many french restaurants are over complicated and try to hard where as this food just feels right.
good food, good wine and perfect if you are hitting Sidi Ghalem the industrial quarter.
oh and yes i almost forgot the Price is unbelievable for marrakech. a comparable resto in town would be charging you double for some pretty ordinary food.
GO HERE ITS GREAT!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Zinc also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Zinc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Zinc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.