We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My Favourite restaurant in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Le Zinc

Le Zinc
517 Avenue principale - Q.I Sidi Ghanem, Marrakech, Morocco
+212 (0)524335969
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #56 of 527 restaurants in Marrakech
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Outdoor seating
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Morocco
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“My Favourite restaurant in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

About a 1&1/2 years ago, a friend of mine said, "have you been to Zinc in Sidi Ghanem, you must go there the food is excellent and its really Packed". My first reaction was "what is a good restaurant doing in the industrial zone of Marrakech"? Curiosity killed the cat but the minute I walked into Zinc I totally got it what all the fuss was about.

Since then I go as much as I can get the time. I prefer lunch in general over dinner but even in the evening after all the factories and boutique shops, artists and retailers are closed Zinc is buzzing with the socialites and foodies of Marrakech to Dj beats or live entertainment.

Chef/patron extraordinaire Damien Durrand has opened up a great informal bistro serving delicious modern interpretations of French Cuisine with a twist "a la Damien".

What really sets Le Zinc apart from anything else in Marrakech is Damien's value based set menu lunch and dinners. They are the most adventurous and creative menus at this price point anywhere and out of the dozens of times me, my family or friends have eaten here we've never had a bad meal.

Most lunches are packed with "Frenchies" locals and ex-pats fiercely maintaining the reputation of the French long lunch break. Theres just one set menu for lunch and dinner (no a la carte) chalked up on a black board that changes every lunch and dinner daily to ensure freshness and to keep things interesting for the regulars.

Damien is always playing with textures and flavours in the food and all the dishes are appetising to the eye and on the palate.
I was there for another great lunch this week with "the missus".

Damien greeted us on arrival like he does with everyone. I had "Crustiant de Chevre" the missus had Salmon and Basil Spring Rolls. My goats cheese starter was served warm wrapped in a light thin crispy pastry dough together with a nice leaf salad and some aubergine caviar that had a slight curry taste and silky texture. The salad had a good balsamic vinaigrette which cut the rich and pungent Goats Cheese perfectly Yum, Yum. The Salmon Spring rolls were equally good and polished off in no time. Next up Veal Picatta and Pan-fried fillet of Sea Bass. The Veal was nicely breaded and pan-fried served on top of sauteed vegetable strips and pureed potatoes. A light Jus was drizzled on the plate and grated lemon zest lifted the whole dish to a different level. The fish was cooked perfectly and came with the same veg but with a basil sauce that not only looked great but tasted even better.

The "missus" was full but I wasn't done yet. It was a tight call between the Pain Perdu with Caramelised Apples or the Pear Tart Tatin with Ice-cream. It was the hardest decision of the day but in the end I was in the mood for a Tatin and Ice-cream. The pears were cooked perfectly and made a nice change to apples. Everything was washed down with some very quaffable local Rose and I had a Cognac to celebrate the end of the working week.

So as my friend once said, If you haven't been to Zinc you have to check it out, the food is delicious and its packed. Its a small journey to pay for excellent value and perfectly cooked creative food.

Bonn Appetit!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    34
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Verbier
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“French bistro”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Really is a bistro in the french tradition.Often there are pork based dishes which is a change in RAK,like paquet de pieds and cotelet de porc
Staff very friendly and prices reasonable often very full at lunchtime with french expats
Sidi Ghanem if you don't know it is a great wholesale district with some edgy decorating shops and art galleries which makes a shopping experience very different from the souks

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wonderful food, perfect lunch spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

This was my third visit. Each time I have arrived at 12 and been able to sit promptly outside as desired. If you arrive much later you will have a wait, it fills quickly. Menu changes daily and is written on board. You have the choice of 3-4 starters, main courses and desserts. Each time the food has been fresh and delicous. The service is fine, never a complaint, but never anything to brag about either. The standout is for sure the food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“really nice french restaurant with good food and wine, good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2011

Had a really nice lunch here, packed with locals..very welcoming and good food and wine. Will be back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The French Bistro in Sidi Ghanem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2011

Very good Bistro food. Daily specials or choice from a short menu. Keep to the wines on the current list : "fancy" ones are pricey. Located on the "Avenue principale" in Sidi Ghanem, where designer boutiques and major showrooms (linen, dresses, tableware, art,..) are concentrated. Obviously the place where the business owners of the avenue go for lunch.

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Zinc also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Zinc? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Zinc, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.