We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!Friendly staff, awesome location.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Riad Douzi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge Riad Douzi to your Saves list
Auberge Riad Douzi
5 Derb Boulmlouj | Quartier Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #691 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great value for money!Friendly staff, awesome location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Had a great week in Marrakech back in June. Found this via tripadvisor and couldn't believe how cheap it was!
A littke difficult to.find from the airport but we luckily had a nice taxi driver and Salma organised one for us on the way back.
We had a whole dorm to ourselves, breakfast was filling and a nice way to start the day - roof terrace was a great bonus! Salma and Abdul were willing to give suggestions of what to do and where to go. We had a great no-frills camel riding/camping trip with a local company and a very relaxing hammam afternoon just down the road!
Would definitely recommend as amazing value for money for budget travellers.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Düsseldorf
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

This beautiful Riad is the nicest place I´ve seen in Marrakesh!
Our host Abdul was so nice, warm and welcoming and gave us helpful information for our stay.
The only people I wolud not recommend this place to are light sleepers

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

This riad upon arrival seems ideal warm and friendly. Abdul and the reception staff are lovely and accommodating. However during the night the cats on the roof fight all through the night and make theist unbearable noise ! So much that Abdul threw a tagine at one and I chased two more. All this at 2:45am ! When I was finally dropping off to sleep, the speaker from the nearby mosque started at 5 am so never slept at all !

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

This riad upon arrival seems ideal warm and friendly. Abdul and the reception staff are lovely and accommodating. However during the night the cats on the roof fight all through the night and make theist unbearable noise ! So much that Abdul threw a tagine at one and I chased two more. All this at 2:45am ! When I was finally dropping off to sleep, the speaker from the nearby mosque started at 5 am so never slept at all !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

My friend and I stayed here at the beginning of July. We stayed in the 4 bed female dorm and for the entire week bar one night we had it to ourselves!

The riad itself is really beautiful but it would probably be quite hard to find without the airport transfer, however once you know where it is you're set.

For the price you can't expect anything fancy (it's way cheaper per night than you'd pay on a campsite in Britain!) but what we did get was perfectly adequate for our weeks stay.

All the staff were really friendly. When we arrived the first thing Salma did was give us a map each and circle the best things to see in Marrakech. Abdul is a great guy! He will sit and talk to you for ages and is always ready to top up your mint tea, he even sorted out bus tickets to Essaouira for us which was really kind of him and very helpful.

The breakfast was great and its included, they serve it every morning between 8 and 10 on the roof and it consists of Moroccan pancakes which are like a flatbread with butter and syrup and mint tea. They also cooked cous-cous and a tagine on Friday night which was really nice and it's one meal in the week that you don't have to think about.

We went on one excursion organised by the riad which was reasonably priced. It was to the Cascades d'Ouzoude, I would definitely recommend this although it's quite a trek!

The only bad point was the airport pickup, we ended up waiting 2 hours for them to arrive! Which, after an extremely long night and the shock of the Moroccan heat we really could have done without so I would say definitely confirm your pick up the day before as this is something I didn't do!

Lastly, (this relates to places to visit in Marrakech) we were really impressed with the Jardin Majorelle it's one of the best places we visited in Marrakech, so if you can I would go there, its quite amazing!

So, back to the Riad! Overall, if you're looking for a cheap place to stay then I would definitely recommend Auberge Riad Douzi, we both agreed that we'd got more of a taste of the "real Morocco" by staying here, it's like staying with old friends in there home as opposed to a hotel where yes, you may get a better standard of room but you certainly wouldn't get the friendly atmosphere and the feeling that you're part of their family during your stay!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

The Riad is a little bit hard to find the first time...but once you arrive there, it's very easy to come back again. It is located in a very busy street, but with shops nearby. It's a very friendly place, were you can meet people from everywere...and the staff are amazing, especially Majid and Abdul. The free mint tea they offer us is wonderful. Not to mention the hot fresh bread in the morning, for breakfast. If you are looking something cheap (with only bread, butter,/jam and tea for breakfast), clean, with a very nice staff, I recomend this Riad. I would come back...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hostel is truly this best hostel i have ever been to. It was located in a renovated beautiful ancient mansion in downtown Marrakesh. The staff were the friendliest people I have ever met. The hostel was impeccably clean. It was simply perfect!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Riad Douzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Riad Douzi

Address: 5 Derb Boulmlouj | Quartier Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #691 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Auberge Riad Douzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Riad Douzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.