We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the best hostel ever” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Auberge Riad Douzi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Auberge Riad Douzi to your Saves list
Auberge Riad Douzi
5 Derb Boulmlouj | Quartier Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #689 of 1,070 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“the best hostel ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

This hostel is truly this best hostel i have ever been to. It was located in a renovated beautiful ancient mansion in downtown Marrakesh. The staff were the friendliest people I have ever met. The hostel was impeccably clean. It was simply perfect!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
1
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

I would love to recommend this property completely. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. The location is excellent and the free wifi is great to have. Unfortunately, out of our party of 4, one person experienced bed bugs. The rooms are also very cramped and poorly ventilated. If you are a good sleeper and want to take your chances with the bed bugs, this is a great place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacific Northwest
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

I was looking forward to my visit to Marrakech and my stay at Auberge Riad Douzi which I had read was a lovely place to stay. Once found, the hostel was nicely situated, being inside the Medina and close to Djemaa El-Fna, the center of entertainment and shopping. Marrakech is truly lovely and I enjoyed my stay. Unfortunately I awoke after my first night to find I had 4-5 red welts on my arm which I attributed to mosquitoes. The next morning a awoke with nearly 100 bites - on my arms, hands, legs, feet, neck and top of my head. Most of the welts were small but many of them were fairly large - and all itched like crazy. I found my bed was infested with bed bugs - a very unsettling discovery. I ended up going to a doctor who recommended I go to a pharmacy where I got pills for the allergic reaction and a tube of ointment for the intense itching, made worse by the heat and humidity. I regret the staff weren't more interested in my welfare but rather annoyed that I made mention of it.

While any hotel or hostel can get bed bugs they should be more interested in the welfare of their customers. Regrettably Auberge Riad Douzi wasn't so be warned and do check your bedding and - if you can - any within 20 feet of your bed - the distance they can and do travel for a meal. Bedbugs can be dangerous and can go as long as a year without eating/feeding.

Room Tip: Check your bedding and that of the beds around you since bedbugs can travel 20' to feed and anot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsingborg, Sweden
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011 via mobile

The best staff, specially Abdul who you can talk and ask about anything! The other ladies are also very nice. :)
It's very clean(hard to find in Morocco)and I love the roof-terrace! There you can sit and talk for hours or sleep under the stars.
Very good location (once you find it) in central medina, but still quiet at night.
I just loved staying there and hope I can come soon again!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2011

I'm surprised that there isn't any info of one of the most popular hostel in Marrakech, the Auberge Riad Douzi on the TripAdvisor.

It's a hostel with the aura of traditional riads and has dormitory rooms. As hostel, it's average. Do not expect room service :)) However the staff is so great around Julay 2011 that they make your staying remarkable. Especial Abdul in the night shift who do take extra miles to go out of his way to help the guests to have a great holiday.

You can ask Abdul about bus/train tickets, location, attractions, prices, practical info, excursions, etc..., he is really cool and helpful guy with a lot of information to make your holiday great.

Rooms are clean as well as the bathrooms. The roof is running as common area. You'll have your free mint tee and your free breakfast as well. They offer to the guests a tradionnal couscous for diner each Friday.

The hostel has a really great location, only 5 miutes walking from Jemaa El Fna main square. It's located in the souks, close to everything.

There are less lockers then beds, however there is a locked storage place run by the staff exclusively and it's safe. They have no air-condition, but this was an advantage for me who love the heat. There is a computer with Internet on the reception and they allowed to use it for guests too.

I've found 2 local shop within 50m to buy bread, water, toothpaste, soap, etc

I've spent 2+2 nights in the hostel and if I go to Marrakech again (I'm sure) I'll have my accommodation there again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Auberge Riad Douzi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Riad Douzi

Address: 5 Derb Boulmlouj | Quartier Ben Salah, Marrakech, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Hotel Style:
Ranked #689 of 1,070 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelBookers so you can book your Auberge Riad Douzi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Auberge Riad Douzi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.