We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Service and great Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Shaloma

Save Saved
You added Riad Shaloma to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Shaloma
120 bis derb Ahel Souss | Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #294 of 1,046 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best Service and great Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Riad Shaloma 5 nights in Apr and found that the staff (Abdul, Chafik and Najib, Nadia and Fatiha) were very accommodating. It was very clean, rooms are spacious and light, food was good, breakfast was served on terrace.
They transformed the dining area for a Bday party into a magical palace.
The location was great! Would definitely reccomend it and would not look anywhere else to stay when I go back to Marrakech!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    84
    34
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
21
49
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

At first you wonder where you got end up when you are standing in front of the alleyway that leads to the riad.
But when you open the door, you'll find ourself in a small palace.
You will feel welcomed by the staff and they are very helpful. Nothing is too much for Abdul and Shafik.
The room we had was spacious and clean.
There is a terrace on the roof and the possibility to have dinner.
The Moroccan breakfast was very nice and fresh.
The walk to the squares is 15-25 minutes, but there is much to see on the way. There is no need to be scared to walk back at night. I would definitely recommend Riad Shaloma to others!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed staying at this beautiful riad where our welcome was warm and the service great. Thank you Abdul for your attention and help. We were however disappointed that our 3 day Sahara trip did not include a guide as promised which caused confusion and spoilt an otherwise interesting trip. We also were lead to believe our trip to Essouaria would have a guide which was not the case and we would have been better off taking the cheap and comfortable Supratour bus instead. We feel this is a shame as it reflects badly on a riad which clearly offers a great standard of accommodation in a central location with otherwise great attention to detail.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

The riad shaloma is a lovely place where the staff are nice and rooms are very clean. I Will definately be going back there in the near future. I cannot praise the place enough. Thanks to Shafek and Abdul and the girls in the kitchen who showed us how to prepare the tangine dishes.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Spent 3 nights here in the superior suite on a romantic trip mid March. The riad service was unparalleled - unbelievably friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much to ask which made the trip so delightfully stress free. Room service was fabulous and the staff made you feel like you were the only residents at the riad. We had breakfast on the terrace every morning and Abdul made nothing of running up three flights of stairs with crockery and hot coffee. The room was spotless, very spacious and had AC. Everything was perfect for our trip. The riad is a 15 minute walk from the main square and once all the work is done to make the side roads to the riad smoother (should be finished beginning of April) this riad will be perfect! Thank you so much.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavira, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

We have just returned from 5 nights - 6 days stay in Riad Shaloma and if we could give it 10 stars we would. The guys that own and run the riad are fantastic, nothing was to much trouble from arranging excursions to taxi's to take us different places we wanted to go- They even got up at 6am to cook us breakfast before one excursion to the Sahara desert and walked us out to the taxi. The food was fantastic we tried different places to eat but nothing beat the food at the riad. Also a big thankyou to Abdul for also being to polite and helpful when serving us meals to making us coffee, you are a star. I would highly recommend this Riad to anyone. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: only 8 rooms in Riad and all wer fab.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camberley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We had previously stayed at another riad in Marrakech. However it was full for our last night so we were escorted down a narrow dar that was having major repairs to the drains being carried out. It was quite a hazardous course but our guides managed our bags very easily. Our surprise when presented with the spacious interior of the riad could not have been greater. We had our excellent evening meal in this covered courtyard - we were well wrapped up as the temperature had fallen from the mid 20's of the day. It was however very warm in our bedroom where the four of us played cards. We found Charik very helpful, he spoke English well. The only problem we will have when we return to explore the Sahara is which of the two riads to choose!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Shaloma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shaloma

Address: 120 bis derb Ahel Souss | Quartier Berrima, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #294 of 1,046 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad Shaloma is situated in the Medina of Marrakesh, near the Palais Royal and a few minutes away from the famous historic monuments such the Palace El Badi , the Palace of Bahia, the graves Saadiens and the place Djeema El Fna. It consists of eight rooms with privative toilets, air conditioning, casket-fort, hairdryers, bathrobes. Terrace with pergola and view on the Medina and the Atlas Mountains. Parking lot kept for 150 m ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Riad Shaloma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Shaloma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.