We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid this hotel at all costs!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hannah City Hotel

Save Saved
You added Riad Hannah City Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Hannah City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 derb Assabane | Riad Laarousse, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #720 of 1,054 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Salatiga
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Avoid this hotel at all costs!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is clean and the rooms suitable (aside from not having a door on the bathroom) however we left as fast as we could! After a confusion with booking.com, the manager/staff began yelling at us as if the problem was our fault. They refused to call booking.com or agoda.com to resolve the issue (as my email instructed to do) and instead literally spat in my face. I travel internationally at least once per month and have never encountered the lack of hospitality and downright hostility that we met with the staff of this hotel. If you would like to enjoy your time in Marrakech, I highly suggest that you stay somewhere where you will be treated with the local hospitality and not this mismanaged hole in the wall!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    54
    36
    25
    33
See reviews for
26
105
13
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at Riad Hannah in January 2013. Visitors should be aware it is a traditional guest house rather than a normal hotel. It is in the heart of the souks and medina so is surrounded by the madness and mayhem that is Marrakesh. Once you accept the difference you will love this. We were made so very welcome at the Riad. Ibissa was excellent at doing her best to help and please all visitors. And she loved practising her English.
The rooms are very spartan, it would be good to have a couple of seats to sit on and somewhere to hang clothes. No wardrobes or hanging rail. This would be useful for longer stays like ours. We did request some hangars and got after a few days. This would be a major help as a lot of our clothes had to remain in suitcases. A minor point.
The Riad was nice with a cool courtyard where breakfast was served. Breakfast was an interesting combination with eggs, cheese and excellent bread and marmalade. Good coffee and mint tea. Always a great way to start the day before the hustle and bustle that is Marrakesh.
Comments have been made about smells in rooms but I never experienced that. OK, decor could be freshened up but we must remember this is not a three star European hotel.
A Riad is a terraced town house usually with a central courtyard and balcony. Just like many of the family homes we visited whilst in Morocco.
An airport transfer can be arranged but if you're comfortable with how to find the riad then a Petit Taxi will take you from the airport to Ryad Larousse, from where you need to walk for five minutes through the souk, for less than 100 dirham (depends how good your bartering skills are).
The Riad is a 20 minute walk from the main square in Marrakesh, the Place Jemaa El Fna which is a wonderful hub of activity. Everything from wonderful stalls to eat at (all highly recommended), orange juice vendors, coffee shops and restaurants. Water Sellers, Snake charmers and vendors and stalls selling everything you could possibly imagine.
If this is your first trip to Morocco and Marrakech it may come as a culture shock but once you embrace the culture you will certainly want to visit again: very soon.
Ibissa was good to give tips on places to visit and when, she also can arrange tours to the coast, Atlas Mountains and the likes at excellent prices.

Room Tip: A number of rooms on the ground could be noisier as they open into the courtyard where breakfast is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had booked a mini getaway and while we didn't have many issues with the hotel, we did find that our room smelled really bad due to the damp that had developed in the bathroom.
They do seem to just paint over the the areas which the paint has not dried or peeled away.

We found that a problem when showering as the drainage system wasn't that great and had to wear flip-flops to stop our feet being washed with the pool of paint collecting at the bottom of the shower.

We was however given a much bigger room - which had the same paint problem - but at least didn't smell bad.

No doors on the bathroom made it difficult number twos.

Apart from that, they had arranged for us a trip to the Spa - which was half the price of anything around the local area and booked us our Taxi back to the airport.


Pros:
- Great location (10 minute walk from the main SQ)
- Free internet
- English speaking receptionist
- Clean towels and room cleaned nicely

Cons:
- No bathroom door (seriously why no bathroom door?)
- You can hear all the talk from the court yard
- Didn't stop a freeloader from conning us out of more money from taxi to hotel

If they fixed the bathroom issues I could give this a higher rating - hygiene is the number 1 thing when travelling.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

The staff is great, breakfast was tasty unfortunately the riad needs alot of work done. I had 3 different rooms: first one was terrible due to mold growing all over the shower. I had to be moved because I couldn't breathe and got a bad headache. The second room was only slightly better with no smell but still a bad mold problem :( third room was the night I returned from my desert excursion, which they did a great job arranging, room was okay but smelled like cat spray. I wish I could rate it higher but it needs alot of work done!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Good location,very close to the medina, Staff was very helpful and they share information about Marrakech, rooms were good. Was able to eat breakfast in the terrace. All was super! Definitely I will go again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort William, Scotland, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Strengths :
Reception staff very helpful and spoke good number of languages to a high standard (Ibissa) making an effort to accommodate all requests and needs of each group within the hotel without bias. Some of the staff do not have lots of languages so there is a lot of smiling and guessing what you want (nice fresh mint tea usually) unless you speak the local french or arabic (who are we to judge if we don't learn their language). Questions were welcomed and answered about the local area and lots of advice was provided about the specialities of the culture locally to be more streetwise when out and about. The hotel has security staff for guests in the evening which was comforting given the environmental layout of the 'old city centre'. Breakfast was served on demand which was lovely if your on holiday especially if you don't want to wear a watch. The room had additional heating put in for us because of the time of year for our comfort. The building style was lovely even if it is not all new and shiny - it's an old style building with the pro's (fab architecture and design details) and con's (some damp) that come with that you either embrace this or you pay significantly more money to stay in a new shiny place - that one is up to you.
If nothing else the staff allowed us to meet some locals that didn't have dollar signs popping up instead of irises (like we experienced in the community for the most part). If it wasn't for the people in the hotel and the mutual relationships formed our holiday would not have been as good as it was!

Room Tip: Room number 5
See more room tips
Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

It was great expirience! Really nice ppl and location! With pleasure will come again! Easy to take a taxi and in general all what u need near! Thanks for really good service and welcoming. Keep it up!

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hannah City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hannah City Hotel

Address: 28 derb Assabane | Riad Laarousse, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #720 of 1,054 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Hannah City Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Hannah offers 11 rooms. Rooms that are almost identical. They all offer a blend of Morrocan ambiance and European comfort.All rooms have a modern bathing room. Some rooms even have their own bathtub. All rooms have European-style sanitary. All mattresses have the same European quality, which we consider an extra reason to stay at Riad Hannah. A good night’s rest in a strange town is necessary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Riad Hannah City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hannah City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.