We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adorable!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Hannah City Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Hannah City Hotel to your Saves list
Riad Hannah City Hotel
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   28 derb Assabane | Riad Laarousse, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #792 of 1,092 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Milan, Italy
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Adorable!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I've been there with my boyfriend for a short trip (a couple of weeks) and this riad was the perfect solution. Located in a safe area, in the heart of the Medina (where all the souq are) and very cozy. The owner is available for every need or doubt (you can ask him for a good restaurant or for the best place to buy gifts), the staff makes sure all the time that everything is clean and fresh. Plus, here they can also provide you with short trips near Marrakesh.

Room Tip: If u booked a suite, tell them when you arrive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    59
    40
    27
    41
See reviews for
27
113
14
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Carnforth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

I have just returned from 5 nights at Riad Hannah from a break with my mum. We booked a 'deluxe twin' and when we arrived by transfer that they organised we were helped with our bags down the alleys that surround the riad. We arrived and first impression was good, the hotel is very lovely and traditional. Khalid, the manager, greeted us and advised that there was no twin rooms available and would we mind sharing - we said no for one night that would be fine. We then paid (he looked a little shocked when he realized how little we had paid through hostelworld.com only 29euro per night for the room) and he advised that we could eat in the hotel. The food was good. The room was fine, it was though small with no door to the bathroom and the shower had quite a lot of mould surrounding it. However for what we had paid we felt it was acceptable, the bed was very comfy!!
The next morning we got up for breakfast.....now if you are in a rush dont eat in the hotel. The girls who serve and make the breakfast are not speedy!! Breakfast consists of a egg, bread, dairylea cheese and jam with butter, Tea, coffee and orange juice. Again we thought this was fine as we were never rushing to get anywhere and were happy to wait.
The hotel is located perfectly for the souqs and the square. If you get lost plenty of people will help and normally we gave 10dirhams for leading us the right way. We had a great time,and even booked at day trip to the beach for only 200dirhams each with a guy who had a shop in the square. I believe that the day trips booked through the hotel are much more expensive.
We ended up not being moved rooms all holiday and I mentioned this at check-out as we also were not in a deluxe room and was offered a discount.
At check out we were also advised that we needed to pay 3euro each per night per person for city tax. It would have been good to have been advised at check in that this was to be paid.
Overall a nice hotel, a little noisy, and could do with a little renovation.But to stay right in the heart of the action for very little money it is perfect.

Room Tip: Make sure you get what you have paid for, and if not ask to be moved or for a discount. Rooms on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here September 2012, for 4 nights all together, (we travelled to agadir for 10 nights in between)
Both rooms we stayed it at the start and end of the holiday we're lovely and spacious, one had a bath one had a shower and both kept very clean!
Does get pretty noisy at night especially when the front door is locked and people with night flights are wanting to check in!
roof terrace was lovely but very hot (not that im complaining)
It was a bit hard to find and when we first got there we made the mistake of having a young boy help us for a tip he did not deserve as a police officer further up then took over for no fee.
Not to far from the main square and there are some lovely cheap restaraunts on the way to the square.
The second time we new where it was and we ignored every person who tried to take our cases for us as we didnt want to be ripped of again! so be aware
Breakfast was lovely, especially the mint tea
The price for the room was unbelievably cheap.
Have already recommended to friends & would stay again!
thank you to all the lovely staff

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

We were promised two twin beds, which we did not get. The room smelt of damp and did not even have a door to the bathroom. When we came back to the hotel after spending the day exploring the city, we open the door to our room and to my horror to see that all our belongings had been removed and the room was occupied by other guests. We then found out that they transferred all our things to another room, I was not impressed as we were not told.

Our booking said that the breakfast was a buffet, no it wasn't. Our breakfast was a hard boiled egg and french bread, when we asked for more we were told no.

When it came to checking out, none of the English speaking staff were there. We had to wait 20 minutes, I then explained that we had a flight to catch and had no time to wait around.

The hotel is in a good location, you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

Generally an Ok place to stay - good location, room was fine, reasonable price. The let-down was the attitude of the staff. They advertised food but it was only sometimes available, and they demanded payment the night before I left without warning, in the end demanding that I go to a bank to get cash as I didn't have enough on me. Disappointing, as otherwise this isnt bad.

Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We spent our first night in Marrakesh in this riad. It was conveniently located for suks and sightseeing, not extremally difficult to find. Common areas and roof terrace were quite nice, but our room was bit spooky. There was huge, old, squeaky bed and other furniture was bit worn out as well. Toilet bowl was not fixed properly and very wobbly. Taps were loose and I was scarred all the time that we will break something.

It was ok for one night, but I would not go back to this place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Riad Hannah is great; good location, cosy Riad, kind people. Shower is warm, food and breakfast is good, and service from and to the airport is being arranged. Khalid, the supervisor of Riad Hannah, told us a lot about Marrakech, the people and what to do when we were there. The Riad has also a library with many books in different languages, which is nice if you want to chill on the rooftopterrace.

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the bathtub, very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Hannah City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Hannah City Hotel

Address: 28 derb Assabane | Riad Laarousse, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #792 of 1,092 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Riad Hannah City Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Hannah offers 11 rooms. Rooms that are almost identical. They all offer a blend of Morrocan ambiance and European comfort.All rooms have a modern bathing room. Some rooms even have their own bathtub. All rooms have European-style sanitary. All mattresses have the same European quality, which we consider an extra reason to stay at Riad Hannah. A good night’s rest in a strange town is necessary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Riad Hannah City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Hannah City Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.