We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful, welcoming, spacious Riad in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Rafaele

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Rafaele to your Saves list
Riad Rafaele
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   derb el Ghanjaoui, 2 | Assouel, Marrakech 40008, Morocco   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Ranked #57 of 1,080 Marrakech B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A wonderful, welcoming, spacious Riad in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

This Riad, with French owners (though they also speak English) is so welcoming that every evening was like a home-coming. It is in the Medina a short walking distance from everything you are likely to want to see, but very quiet indeed. And the food is superb; you have to book a dinner the morning before because it is prepared specially for you, after discussion of its content! Riad Rafaele is different from several other Riads that we saw in Marrakech and Essaouira because the internal courtyard is very large, and filled with orange trees. So rooms that open onto the gallery are truly quiet and independent....in some small Riads you can almost reach across to the rooms opposite and the effect is claustrophobic. The owners also spend a lot of time advising and making guests feel at home, and they will organise transport and taxis and advise reliably on eating places and shopping. The whole place is decorated with cleverly chosen Moroccan goods. We will return!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    22
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
94
8
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

Riad Rafaele was the oasis we were looking for after a long drive to Marrakech. Didier gave us a phenomenal welcome and an excellent recommendation for dinner. Our room was Suite Rafele which was very roomy and comfortable. The shower and bathroom were great too, and one of those things that varies a lot across riads.

The hotel has a beautiful rooftop terrace and orange trees growing in the courtyard. We were also able to get some alcohol at this riad. Many of the riads we had stayed at were run by Moroccans so they didn't offer any alcohol. After a long drive on crazy Moroccan roads a glass of wine was most welcome.

Room Tip: Suite Rafaele is very roomy for 3 people. It has a double and single bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

Beautiful Riad in a great location within the Medina only a minute from the busy Souks and a 10 minute walk to Jamal F'na square.
I have visited twice this year I love it that much!
The hosts and all their staff are incredibly hospitable - always there if/when you need them or not if/when you prefer to be left alone.
All rooms are beautifully decked out in traditional style - as their website shows - a truly amazing palace within the busy Medina.
There is a hammam within the Riad should you choose to have a (highly recommended) treatment massage or traditional hammam.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We stayed in 5 riads all over Morocco, and this was certainly the most beautiful! Spacious, lovely rooms around an exceptional patio. Once you know the way to the location of the Riad in the medina you will find it very easily, thanks to the help of the two hosts. Furthermore, their Moroccan personnel is VERY good and the breakfast is nice. We also tried the hammam and massage, and would certainly recommend you try out the little hammam where they scrub you after applying black olive soap! For us catlovers, an extra plus was the queen of the Riad, the cutest and most beautiful cat ever! Ps. Wakey wakey at 5h30 you will hear the mosque calling! Greetings from Belgium

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

A beautiful Riad, which, as other reviews suggests is an oasis hidden in the hectic medina. The staff were all very friendly and helpful and we couldn't ask for anything more from our stay. We opted to have our last evening meal in the Riad and I must say the food was excellent, and I would highly recommend that you try it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, Toscana, Italy
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Riad Rafaele is an exquisite place, restored and furnished with fine taste by its owners. Our room was light, spacious and comfortable, with ample room for the 3 of us. The staff were all charming and most helpful without being too intrusive. We also had a fabulous meal in the courtyard one evening. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this place and am looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Suite Rafaele is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliema, Malta
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The riad common areas and rooms are beautiful and comfortable. I would definitely stay here again. They helped us with all sorts of trip planning, and Hakim was so pleasant and helpful. They helped us out with souk purchases and finding restaurants late at night during Eid. The lunch on arrival (moroccan salads) was perfect. They also have some good wines!

We only speak English, so communication with the owners was a bit challenging for arranging airport transfers and meals. The riad, like most things in the Medina, can be difficult to find, especially if you wait until dark to find it. The directions they give you are very good though. It is very close to the sites, but the Ben Youssef mosque is across the street, which has a fairly long and loud call to prayer early in the morning (5am while we were there).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Rafaele? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Rafaele

Address: derb el Ghanjaoui, 2 | Assouel, Marrakech 40008, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 1,080 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Rafaele 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The riad is located in the medina of marrakech at the northern edge of the souks, 10 minutes walk from the jema el fna square.We have 4 rooms from 20 to 25 sqm²(one at the ground floor is specialy dedicated to persons with mobility reduced) and two great following at the first floor. The terrace covers 250 sqm². ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Rafaele reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Rafaele, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.